Will they strip my license because of reckless driving, passing a school and careless driving? 39 Answers as of May 28, 2013

I'm 17 and got reckless driving, passing a school bus, and also received careless driving. These are my first tickets, but third warning. I have a court date.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
Reckless Driving is usually a 12 point offense which means suspension, if convicted.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 8/27/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
Probably not this time, but more of these could end up causing a suspension.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 8/27/2012
Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC | Christopher G Humphrey
Wyoming doesn't work on a point system, but they may revoke if they feel you are getting too many tickets. Pay attention, slow down, and turn down the radio.
Answer Applies to: Wyoming
Replied: 8/27/2012
Law Office of Richard Williams
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
You are probably right at the border if not over the border.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 8/27/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
Yes, based upon those facts, and having had three prior warnings, yes, it is a good bet that you will have your license suspended.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 8/27/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    There is a strong likelihood that three moving violations within a relatively short time period will cause a brief loss of license. If you are appearing in juvenile court relative to your most recent offense, it is likely the court itself will take your license. If you are appearing in adult court, you will receive a notice from the state licensing authority.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/27/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    Yes. If you are convicted of any 4 point offense and you are under 21 you lose your Georgia license. Since you are under 18, you will lose your license if you are convicted of any combination of offenses that cause you to accumulate 4 points or more.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/27/2012
    Dennis P. Mikko Attorney at Law | Dennis P. Mikko
    It would depend on how many points you have on your license. It is possible that if you are found responsible for all offenses that it could result in a revocation of your driving privilege.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/27/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    In NH, the mandatory loss of license for reckless operation is 60 days plus a $500 fine + $120 penalty assessment. Passing a school bus does not have a mandatory loss of license but has a mandatory fine. Both are considered major motor vehicle offenses in NH. Careless driving is not an offense in NH - however, negligent driving is. You should retain an experienced NH criminal defense attorney to represent you in this case.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 8/27/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    Warnings don't mean anything. Hire an attorney for the tickets so as not to lose your license. You want at least deferred adjudication probation.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/27/2012
    Law Office of William L Spern | William Spern
    In MI, you can expect that your license will be restricted if not revoke until you reach the age of 21.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/27/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    Juvenile court could impose restrictions on your driver's license.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/26/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    In Illinois, if convicted of these offenses, you will probably be suspended for a lengthy period of time, and your insurance rates will sky-rocket. Hire an attorney to go into court with you, and have him get the charges either reduced, or if in Illinois, shoot for court supervision, even if it means an extended Driver Improvement School.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/26/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    Yes.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 5/22/2013
    Jay Tanenbaum | Jay Tanenbaum
    It is probable that you may be given a probationary license, although suspension Is possible. Your need to retain your driving privilege will be considered by the Judge.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/25/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You need a local attorney ASAP. You are facing two 93 day in jail misdemeanor crimes and need the professional help.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    VALENTE SCHARG & ASSOCIATES | DEAN VALENTE
    How can you get reckless and careless in the same stop? Likewise passing the bus should be part of either the reckless or careless charge...mandatory 90 day suspension with reckless conviction since you are on probationary license you can expect action from SOS. Could be extension of probationary license to additional suspension beyond 90 days. Get an attorney something isn't right with those charges unless you're not tell the entire story.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    That is entirely up to the judge for sentencing, unless you can get a plea bargain deal from the DA. Every crime carries potential jail time as the penalty. While this isn't a 'capital case', you certainly face fines and potential jail, so handle it right. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney who does, who will try to get a dismissal, charge reduction, diversion, program, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    Yes that and more could happen including jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You will get suspended for the reckless driving if convicted. You need to get a good attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Barbara Fontaine, Esquire | Barbara Fontaine
    I hope they DO take your license. You are too immature to drive.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Natty Shafer Law
    Natty Shafer Law | Nathaniel Shafer
    Reckless driving by itself will give you enough points on your driving record that your license might be suspended. Driver's under the age of 21 have a more stringent points system. If you are convicted/plea to all 3 charges, you will likely have you license suspended for at least a month and possibly longer. Depending on the circumstances of your case, it may be worthwhile to hire a lawyer and avoid the license suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    What they will do is unknown. With any problem you must seek solutions You need to hire good trial lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Get a lawyer so you have a chance of getting it infracted or dismissed.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    IF you plead to all of those charges, your license will be suspended. I recommend that you retain an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    Passing a school bus and parking in "Handicapped" Spaces are the most egregious offenses possible. If you get points for all three infractions, you could have enough points to need to take a departmental test to remove some points to get your license restored.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    A juvenile court can suspend your license, normally you would be put on probation and fined but they can suspend your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Law Office of Stuart M. Nachbar, P.C.
    Law Office of Stuart M. Nachbar, P.C. | Stuart M. Nachbar
    You very easily could lose your license for all those together. Get representation.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    Someone responding to your question may not know what you mean by "third warning". Is it that you received warnings from officers for two incidents? Retain an attorney in your local area who has previously handled serious traffic offenses. Contact the bar association for your county or city, and obtain a referral (unless one of your friends or family know a good attorney). Having a valid drivers license is an underappreciated thing. Wouldn't it be terrible to rely on buses again.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    The Chastaine Law Office
    The Chastaine Law Office | Michael Chastaine
    Highly likely that you will suffer a license suspension. Slow down and be careful.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Law Office of James J. Rosenberger | James Joseph Rosenberger
    You face a mandatory license suspension for a reckless driving conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
    At 6 points MVA will require the driver improvement program. At 8 points MVA moves for suspension, and at 12 revocation. For a provisional license there might be additional consequences.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Reckless Driving is a misdemeanor. Passing a school bus is a very serious 8m point traffic violation. You could lose your license or get a large fine but they will not give you a jail sentence unless someone was hurt. You are under 19 and therefore eligible for Youthful Offender Treatment if the prosecutor does not want to offer a plea deal to a traffic ticket with no license revocation so that you can avoid a criminal conviction, but it is best to save your YO id possible and get a traffic ticket. You risked the lives of children and you must realize that what you did was very dangerous and foolish. You are very lucky that you did not kill or injure a child or you would be facing 10 tears in jail. Even going through a red light or stop sign can kill someone or put them in a wheel chair and young people do not always see it that way because they are not careful and they are not always good decision makers. You should retain a good criminal lawyer and have him get the best possible disposition in the matter. If he cannot avoid a criminal conviction, hire another lawyer to avoid the conviction or you will have problems with jobs and schools forever and it will never be removed from your record. That is why you should not use public defenders. You will ave $1,000 and lose a million or more over time if you cannot get the career you want because of a criminal record.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/24/2012
    Michael E. Jones, P.S. | Michael E. Jones
    YES.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 5/22/2013
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    Almost certainly you will be suspended for a substantial period of time. What are you thinking? Driving to endanger and reckless driving are the same thing. You should immediately contact and hire a qualified attorney as you may also be looking at a jail sentence for these charges.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 8/24/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney