Will a statute of limitations on DUIs result in a lesser sentence? 7 Answers as of July 15, 2015

I had 2 DUIs. One was in 2009 and one in 2010. I got a 3rd DUI last November. Could I get the 3rd DUI reduced to a lessor offense?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
You don't have a clue what you are talking about. The statute of limitations on a DUI is two years, which means the prosecutor has two years to try your case, or it gets dismissed. It has got nothing to do with reducing charges. Third DUI. Here is a suggestion, get counseling.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 7/15/2015
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
You better hire a DUI specialist, otherwise the mandatory jail term is 120 days in county.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/14/2015
Chambers Law Firm
Chambers Law Firm | Dan E. Chambers
If by statute of limitations you mean how far back can they allege priors, in California it's 10 years. As to whether you can get the third DUI reduced, that depends on a lot of factors. Consult an attorney for specific guidance many of us on LawQA provide a free consultation.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/14/2015
Richard B. Jacobson & Associates, LLC | Richard B. Jacobson
I don't understand your question about statutes of limitation. In any case, in most counties in Wisconsin the prosecutors are extremely reluctant to reduce any alcohol-related offense. You'd have to show them that they cannot possibly prevail if there were a trial. Consult a good criminal lawyer, but I think you'll hear the same thing.
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Replied: 7/14/2015
Best DUI Lawyer
Best DUI Lawyer | Aniko Hoover
DUI's fall off after 10 years. It goes by your arrest date. If you have never appeared on any of your DUIs - well- you would not really have a first or second DUI unless you've been convicted of it. Now that some much time has gone by you could probably get a really good deal on the 2009 & 2010 DUI if you never appeared on them before. However, if you have already been convicted of the 2009 & 2010 DUI - well then, the new one is a Third DUI and will only be reduced to a lesser offense based on the merits of that particular case.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/14/2015
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    A third DUI in Illinois can be charged as a felony (aggravated DUI) which is punishable by either probation or prison from three to seven years. Sometimes, the prosecutor will leave it as a misdemeanor, which is punishable either by conditional discharge, probation or 364 days in jail. It is possible that the charge can be reduced. Your attorney would have to make a very strong argument to get that, given your arrest history.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/14/2015
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    You can move to have all of them dismissed if you have not been convicted.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/14/2015
Click to View More Answers:

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!