Will I lose my license if I get convicted with DUI? 75 Answers as of June 19, 2013

Will I lose my driver's license if I get convicted with DUI? This is my 2nd time to be caught. What should I do to avoid losing my license?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
Absolutely you will loose your driver's license. If your prior was within the past 7 years, you are looking at a 2 year license revocation.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 3/5/2012
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
Hire a lawyer. If you are convicted, you lose your license. You might be able to avoid it though. Consult with a lawyer.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 3/5/2012
Law Office of Michael R. Garber
Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
If you're convicted your license will be suspended. If it already has been suspended as the result of your failure of the breath test or your refusal to take the test it will not be suspended again.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 3/2/2012
Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
If you are 21 years of age or older, took a blood or breath test, or (if applicable) a urine test, and the results showed 0.08% BAC or more. A first offense will result in a 4-month suspension. A second or subsequent offense within 10 years will result in a 1-year suspension. Second offense DUI (1 prior within 10 years) Probation: 3-to-5 years Informal Probation Jail which can be 96 -hours minimum mandatory jail and up to one year jail maximum may be imposed. In Orange County , the jail sentence typically averages between 30 and 90 days. Court fines would be minimum $390.00 fine to maximum of $1000.00. Note, however that the $390.00 minimum fine, after adding penalty assessments and miscellaneous court fees results in a total amount due of approximately $1400.00-to-$1800.00. DUI SCHOOL: Attendance at 18-month Multiple Offender Program (MOP) required COURT MAY ALSO ORDER: Impound Vehicle up to 30-days if owned by defendant Ignition Interlock Device for up to 3-years INCREASED PENALTIES FOR DUI ENHANCEMENTS: Refusal/Forced Blood?Mandatory additional 96 hours Jail Passenger in Vehicle Under Age 14 Mandatory additional 10 days Jail Speeding = 30 mph on Freeway or = 20 mph on Street or Highway Mandatory additional 60 days Jail.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/1/2012
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
There is a strong possibility your driver's licensed could be revoked. I would urge you to consult an attorney who is skilled in representing people charged with DUI.
Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
Replied: 2/29/2012
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
    If convicted, yes, your license may be suspended. I'd strongly advise you to retain a lawyer to help you with this matter. The stakes are potentially significant here and effective counsel will be very important. Ultimately license sanctions are administered by the Secretary of State. Generally speaking, most people lose their license for one year if they are convicted of a second OUI offense and then need to apply to have their privileges re-instated. That can be a long and challenging process. Further, a person's license could be revoked as well if they had other convictions. I'd recommend you retain a lawyer to assist you with this matter.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    This is your second OUIL, they will at least suspend and may revoke your license. The best thing you can do to try to be able to drive ever again is to STOP DRINKING. If you are on your second OUIL then you did not learn from the first one and you have decided that booze is worth going to jail for. You are an alcoholic. You need to get into treatment right away even before any court date.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Offices of Eric J. Bell | Eric J. Bell
    If you are convicted of DUI you will lose your Driver's License. To avoid losing your license you either have to win your case at trial or have your DUI charges amended to Reckless Driving.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C.
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C. | Wayne Brucar
    A conviction for a DUI will revoke your license. Your alternatives are to beat the DUI at trial or to negotiate the charge down from a DUI to a lesser offense.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    Yes, you will likely suffer a 1 year suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Office of Ronald Aronds, LLC
    Law Office of Ronald Aronds, LLC | Ronald Aronds
    The only way to avoid losing your license for a second offense DWI is to fight and win the case. If you lose at trial or plead guilty there is a mandatory loss of your driver's license.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Offices of Scott G. Hilderman
    Law Offices of Scott G. Hilderman | Scott G. Hilderman
    Yes, your license will be suspended. You need to get a lawyer to review your case and see what options you have.
    Answer Applies to: Montana
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    Conviction for a Second DUI can lead to a 3 year suspension of your Oregon Driver's License. With the help of an experienced DUI Lawyer you may be able to mitigate this punishment or fight the case at trial. The only way to not lose your license for 3 years would be to beat the case and not be convicted with the help of a DUI Lawyer you will stand the best chance.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Ellman and Ellman PC
    Ellman and Ellman PC | Kevin Ellmann
    You are certainly at great risk of losing your license if this is a second offense for you. You must beat the criminal charges as well as the DMV action in order to avoid losing your license. I STRONGLY encourage you to seek the assistance of a qualified DUI defense attorney to assist and advise you through this process as you also face a likely jail sentence!
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    It depends on when you prior is, but most likely YES on a conviction for DWI 2nd. You may qualify for a restricted or occupational drivers license.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    Unless you are found not guilty you will lose your license for a 2nd offense OUI/DUI.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Patrick Lewis, LLC | Patrick M. Lewis
    If a person is convicted of DUI in Kansas their license will be suspended. The length of suspension and associated effects will depend on the number of "occurrence", not the number of conviction. The Driver Control Bureau counts things differently. You must immediately contact an attorney to do everything possible to safeguard your license. After a DC-27 form is given to a driver he has only 14 days to request a hearing to fight the license suspension. If this hearing is not requested in a timely fashion the license suspension will occur even if the driver is not convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Hammerschmidt Broughton Law
    Hammerschmidt Broughton Law | Mark A. Broughton
    Well, the most obvious answer is not to drink and drive. Secondly, you are going to have to get a good criminal defense attorney to help you. Now you are looking at a license suspension for 2 years and at least 90 days if you enter the second time DUI program, after which you may be entitled to get a restricted license so long as you are participating in the program. You cannot get your license back until after you have successfully completed the second time DUI program and have obtained insurance. Hopefully, your arrest is recent and you have, or are in the process of getting an attorney very quickly. The DMV is on a separate track and have what is called Administrative Per-Se hearings very quickly and you will lose your right to have one unless you request one within 10 days of your arrest. So you can see, this has become very complicated and you best hire a lawyer to help you out.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Dungan, Lady, Kirkpatrick & Dungan PLLC | Michael Dungan
    If you your receive two drunk driving convictions within seven years, your driving privileges are revoked for one year. At the end of that year, you are eligible to ask for your license back at a hearing scheduled with the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division of the Secretary of State. These are difficult, technical hearings, and you should work with an experiences driver's license restoration attorney. If your second conviction is more than seven years after your first conviction, you will be treated as a first offender for driving privilege purposes. The best way to avoid losing your license is to work with an experienced drunk driving attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Joseph T. Barberi, P.C.
    Joseph T. Barberi, P.C. | Geoffrey K. Rettig
    In Michigan, an Operating While Intoxicated conviction will result in 180 suspension of your driving privileges, with no restricted license available for the first thirty days. If your prior conviction is within 7 years of your most recent conviction, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 1-5 years depending upon your master driving history.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    You will loose your license. You only option is to file for an occupational license in the interim.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Jason D. Baltz | Jason Daniel Baltz
    Yes, your license will be suspended upon conviction of a 2nd Offense OWI. Depending on when your first OWI was, you will not be able to get an occupational license for 45 days. You should aggressively fight the OWI. Though rare, police do make mistakes. A trained and talented lawyer should be able to spot those errors. In Wisconsin, the DMV will automatically suspend your license 30 days from the stop. You should have received notice of intent to suspend your license at the stop. Within 10 days of the stop (13 days if the notice was mailed to you), you must request an administrative hearing. If you fail to request a hearing, your license will be suspended.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    Your license will be revoked for a second offense. Hire a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    You will lose your license if you are convicted. You need to talk to a lawyer to see if there are potential defenses.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    Conviction of DUI does result in loss of drivers license. In Minnesota, there is also a license revocation for test failure and test refusal. Even without a conviction on the DUI charge, it is possible to suffer a license revocation. There are statutory requirements for reinstatement of license after the revocation period has run. You may also be able to drive during the revocation period if you agree to have your vehicle equipped with an "Ignition Interlock".
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    There is a mandatory license revocation for a DWI.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    Yes you will lose your license - call us we can represent you in defeating the charges to possibly avoid losing your license and a criminal conviction.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    A conviction will subject you to a license revocation and you must get a good lawyer to be able to drive as quickly as possible. Generally on a second offense you have to sit out for 45 days under the law.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    Upon a second conviction for OWI, the secretary of state will suspend your driver's license. You should consult with an attorney and defend against the charge.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Patrick E. Donovan, PLLC
    Law Office of Patrick E. Donovan, PLLC | Patrick E. Donovan
    Call competent counsel and defend the case. In NH, a DUI 2nd offense carries mandatory minimum sentence that includes a 3 year loss of license, as well as jail time depending on when your first conviction occurred. If the first conviction occurred more than 10 years ago, then this offense will be treated as a first. If it occurred less than 10 years ago, then it is a second. Call an attorney and get a clear idea what you are facing. I offer free consultations by phone.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    If you have a prior DUI conviction within the past two years, you are facing the following penalties if you plead guilty or plead guilty: $750 + 24% penalty assessment, 30 consecutive days in jail followed by 7 days at a multiple offender treatment program and a 3 year loss of license. If you have a prior DUI conviction more than 2 years ago but less than 10 years ago, you face the same penalties but only 3 days in jail. In both cases you are also required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for at least 12 months upon reinstatement of your driver's license. These are the minimum penalties in NH. DWI, 2nd offense is a Class A Misdemeanor with a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail and a $2,000 fine + 24% penalty assessment. These penalties do not include any administrative action by the NH Department of Safety for a refusing a chemical test pursuant to the implied consent law. You should retain an experienced DUI attorney in your area to represent you in this case.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Khayoumi Law Firm
    Khayoumi Law Firm | Salim A. Khayoumi
    To potentially avoid losing your driver's license, you or your attorney must submit a timely "Implied Consent Hearing Request" with the State of New Mexico Taxation & Revenue Dept. (MVD) within "10 days" from the date you received a "Notice of Revocation" for allegedly driving under the influence of alcohol/ drugs. This start date is typically the date of the arrest. Along with the hearing request you must enclose a personal or certified check for $25.00. After making this timely request the State of NM MVD will schedule a hearing within 90 days where you [or your attorney] will have the opportunity to be heard at the administrative implied consent hearing. If your driver's license revocation is upheld then you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles used by the defendant. Under New Mexico law, the typical required interlock device will have to be installed for a period of 6 months - 1 year. Penalties: . 6 month revocation = for 1st revocation under I.C.A. if .08 or higher, 21 years or older, . 1 year revocation = if 2nd revocation under I.C.A. . 1 year revocation = if under 21 years old with .02 or higher . 1 year revocation = for anyone who refuses a chemical test.
    Answer Applies to: New Mexico
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady | Kevin O'Grady
    FIGHT your case. Hire an attorney to fight for you. If you are convicted there is a mandatory license revocation which is longer than a first time DUI. There is also the chance you will lose your license at ADLRO. An aggressive attorney will fight your criminal charge for you.
    Answer Applies to: Hawaii
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP | Richard L. McBreen III
    Yes. There is nothing you can do about the suspension if convicted. The only way to avoid the conviction is to have the charged dismissed or be acquitted after a trial. If you failed or refused a breath test, there may also be a suspension pending or already imposed, and you only have 10 days to request a hearing on the validity of this suspension. It is important that you speak to a lawyer as soon as possible so that you can put together the best possible defense for your case.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Arnold & Wadsworth
    Arnold & Wadsworth | Brian Arnold
    That is possible. You need to get it reduced and have them dismiss the DUI and recharge it ad a reduced crime. This will help you keep your license.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    The Smalley Law Firm, LLC | Cary Smalley
    When was your DUI? Have you appealed your administrative suspension?
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 6/19/2013
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Yes. You face a 2-year suspension. What you should do is hire a DUI specialist, who may be able to get you a reduction, in which case the suspension can be avoided.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    The Gorman Law Firm | Scott Gorman
    If convicted, you will likely have your license suspended for a period of two years. However, if your first conviction was ten or more years before the date of this most recent offense, a conviction will likely result in a license suspension of seven to twelve months.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    You should schedule an APS hearing with the Driver Safety office within ten days of being arrested. This will prevent your driver's license from entering automatic suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    There is a Mandatory Suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Nichols Law Firm
    Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
    It depends on what state you are in, the facts of your case and your record.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Aaron Black Law
    Aaron Black Law | Aaron Black
    In Arizona this will result in a loss of our license. Contact an experienced DUI lawyer to assist you in possibly getting the charges reduced.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    You will lose your license, and you will NOT be able to get a permit to drive to and from work/school if you are convicted of a 2nd DUI. Therefore, you need to get with an attorney and construct a defense.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You will lose your license, your money, and eventually your freedom if you keep driving drunk. You are now facing a possible jail term and $10,000 a year in car insurance. you will have to spend $750 to get an interlocutory device in your car for when you eventually get your license back. Your fines will be $1,500 and you may have a DWI criminal conviction that will make it very difficult to get a decent job for the rest of your life. You may get suspended from school or be denied entrance to college or graduate school. Your legal fees could be very high if you are not indigent, but my guess is that you are young and cannot afford an attorney. Driving drunk is like firing a gun at a moving train and hoping that no one gets hit by the bullets. You could have killed or injured yourself or some innocent motorist. The fact that you are asking an online lawyer if you will lose your license shows that you are still only thinking of yourself. You could have avoided all of this by simply calling a taxi. You knew that you were drinking and that it would be taking a risk to drive, but you only thought of what was convenient for you at the time. This shows very bad decision making that is likely to be repeated unless you learn to take constructive criticism, learn to obey the law, and understand that there are serious consequences to your actions.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Ayodele M. Ojo & Associates
    Ayodele M. Ojo & Associates | Ayodele Mayowa Ojo
    You will definitely be suspended for a period of time. If you comply with all the conditions, do driver written test again, pay all your fines , you will be able to get your license back again.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    When charged or arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does. A second offender faces one year suspension. Of course you can fight the criminal charges. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all appropriate defenses with whatever witnesses, evidence and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or for trial. Effective plea-bargaining, using those defenses, could possibly reduce the potential ?time? and other penalties you face. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    Yes, you will lose your license if convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    You likely will lose your license, especially of the first DUI was within 5 years of the second. You should hire a good, experienced DUI lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    You must request an administrative hearing to challenge your license revocation. If you win the hearing, your license will not be suspended. If not, on a second offense, DMV will suspend your license for 1 year followed by 2 years of interlock.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    If convicted you will lose your license for 1 year absolutely- no privileges at all, and upon being allowed to drive again you could have the court order you to install a ignition interlock system in your car. The license suspension is mandatory and absolute, but hiring an attorney could help you avoid a second conviction, depending on the facts and circumstances.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Daniel K Martin
    Law Office of Daniel K Martin | Daniel K Martin
    Contact a criminal defense lawyer. There are many defenses to allegations of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. An experienced criminal defense attorney will be aware of new developments in the law and the best defense to mount in your case.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    You'll probably get a suspension of several months, which might be lifted if you complete all the terms of your sentence early.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache | Stephanie Arrache
    You are facing loss of your license for a year. You should consult a local attorney about your case.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    There are certain administrative sanctions which can affect your driving privileges when you are charged with a DUI. For a second event, the minimum penalties are listed as a 1 year suspension followed by 1 year of ignition interlock restriction. You have the right to request a hearing on this administrative action, but there is a time limit within which you must make the request. You have 14 calendar days after the arrest to submit the request, if you fail to do so within 14 days, you lose the right to contest the administrative action. You should consult with a DUI attorney for more specifics.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    Yes, your license will be suspended for at least a year. You will be required to have an ignition interlock installed on every vehicle you drive for at least a year. More importantly you will be looking at mandatory jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Kershinik Law, PLLC
    Kershinik Law, PLLC | Patrick Kershisnik
    You will lose your license for a DUI conviction. For a second time DUI conviction, within 10 years, your license will be suspended absolutely for an additional mandatory minimum of 1 year. In addition, once your driving privileges have been reinstated, you will be required to drive with a functioning interlock device, you will be fined up to $2,000 and ordered to serve a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail, with the first 48 hours being served consecutively and of which five days must be served in jail (as opposed to work detail). You cannot avoid losing your license unless you fight the DUI and win, or are offered a plea for a lessor offense.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    DeVito & Visconti, PA
    DeVito & Visconti, PA | John E DeVito
    A second offender for an OUI case in Massachusetts is looking at a 2 year loss of license if convicted of the offense. If one refused the breath test, one is loooking at an additional 3 year loss of license. Stricter sanctions are imposed on those under 21 years of age. The best way to avoid a licnse loss is to win the case. Hiring an experienced attorney is critical.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Russman Law
    Russman Law | Ryan Russman
    NH has minimum penalties for a DWI second offense. The loss of license from the Court is 3 years. Additionally, the DMV can also suspend your license for an additional 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    Your license gets suspended for 90 days for your first DUI.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    MCCLUSKEY LAW OFFICE
    MCCLUSKEY LAW OFFICE | Mary McCluskey
    Hire a DUI attorney. The administrative and criminal penalties increase after the first DUI conviction. You have just 7 days after you receive notice of revocation to request a hearing at the DMV. You need to do this or you waive your right to a hearing. If you were to lose the hearing your license your license would be revoked for a year with no possibility of early reinstatement of your driving privileges. If a 2nd DUI conviction enters you'll be required to have an Interlock device installed on your car for 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    Your license will be revoked for at least one year, and even after that year, you probably will not see a license for several years, unless you complete all counseling programs and succeed in a formal hearing before the Secretary of State's hearing officer. The best way to avoid a conviction is by hiring a competent DUI attorney to represent you. He will go over everything with you and recommend the best course of conduct, be it thru plea bargaining, filing motions or trial.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
    Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C. | Shaun Marks
    If your first conviction is within 7 years of your second convictions then yes you will lose your license for a minimum of 1 year. At that time you're eligible to have a hearing with the secretary state to try to get a back. It is not automatic and is a very difficult hearing process for which you will need an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Charles J. Block
    Law Office of Charles J. Block | Charles J. Block
    You will lose your license for 2 years if this is a second offense and another 2 years if the offense occurred in a school zone.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    Depending on the results of the case, your driving privileges will be revoked. You need to hire an attorney or speak to your existing attorney if you are seeking specific advice, about what you should do.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of Christopher Jackson
    Law Offices of Christopher Jackson | Christopher L. Jackson
    A 2nd conviction in Kentucky is at least 1 year no license/no privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Kentucky
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of Scott C. Athen | Scott Carl Athen
    You certainly are facing significant ramifications regarding your drivers license. You need to speak with an experienced DUI attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    Upon convicton of a DUI second offense there is a mandatoy suspension of your driver's license of up to one year.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    Best thing to do is hire a DUI attorney to increase the chances of avoiding a license loss. If convicted of a 2nd offense DUI then you would be looking at a 2 year suspension with the ability to get a restricted license before then. Also, if you fail to timely request, or lose the dmv hearing on this matter, that would be a 1 year suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Offices of Mark A. Berg
    Law Offices of Mark A. Berg | David G Cohen
    The California DMV will administratively suspend your license unless you demand a hearing within 10 days of arrest. So the clock is ticking. In addition, if convicted, the DMV will re-suspend upon receipt of the conviction. You should meet with a local attorney as soon as possible to make sure the DMV hearing demand is done timely and to assess what steps can be taken to fight the suspension action.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    Yes, if convicted for a second offense DUI, your license will be revoked. To avoid this, you will have to either get a not guilty or other dismissal, or have the charge reduced to a lesser one such as reckless driving.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Dichter Law Office, PLLC
    Dichter Law Office, PLLC | Jonathan Dichter
    A second DUI conviction can revoke you license for years. It's important that you immediately contact a lawyer to help you.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Law Office of Stephen P. Dempsey
    Law Office of Stephen P. Dempsey | Stephen P. Dempsey
    If you are convicted a second time, it is a 2 year loss of license. You need to contact a DWI lawyer to best insure that you defend yourself against this serious charge.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 2/28/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    Yes you will lose your license. If you tested .08 or above your license may already be revoked. Please contact any attorney as soon as possible to fully discuss your situation.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 2/28/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!