Will I go to jail right after court for possession of marijuana? 17 Answers as of June 12, 2013

I was offered 15 days or 9 months probation but I would rather do the jail time.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
I would need further information to answer. You should hire an attorney and disclose all the facts and circumstances.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 1/3/2013
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
You will probably go right to jail.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 12/23/2012
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
You will go immediately, which makes sense, since you would rather do the jail time. Lets' get to it. Of course, the next time you are smoking marijuana, you will get more jail time.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 12/20/2012
Babachanian | Law
Babachanian | Law | Sarkis Jacob Babachanian
Not enough info. Seems like too harsh.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 12/21/2012
Law Office of James E. Smith
Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
Yes.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 5/28/2013
    Mary W Craig P.C. | Mary W Craig
    Then you will likely leave the courtroom and head for the jail. You're smart to take the 15 days unless that causes you to lose a job. Probation can be a pain to deal with.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 12/19/2012
    Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
    Normally they give you a reporting date.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 12/19/2012
    Elmbrook Law Offices
    Elmbrook Law Offices | Gregory Straub
    A reporting date will be agreed upon between you and your attorney, the District Attorney and the Judge. In most cases, a short period of time is allowed before reporting so that you may get your affairs in order.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 12/19/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    You may be able to request a jail report date after Christmas. To be sure, don't plead until after Christmas. Do your self a favor. Get a drug evaluation and get into treatment if it is reccomended.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 12/19/2012
    Rizio & Nelson
    Rizio & Nelson | John W. Bussman
    In most counties, you will be given a date to report to jail. Your date to report is usually about 2-3 weeks after your court appearance.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 12/19/2012
    Stephen Spring
    Stephen Spring | Stephen Spring
    What about a suspended sentence assuming this is a misdemeanor first offense.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 12/19/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney