Will I get a suspenses license on first offense? 86 Answers as of June 14, 2013

Will I get a suspenses license on first offense? Is this possible?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
If you need specific legal advice for your particular circumstances, I encourage you to privately consult with a lawyer. If you are charged with an offense and cannot afford to pay for your own defense, the court may appoint you an attorney payable at the public's expense. You have a right to counsel. Any possible suspension depends on whether the person is convicted and the exact offense. The potential suspensions vary significantly depending on the offense. A driver's previous record may also impact a potential suspension. I'd recommend you privately consult with a lawyer regarding these issues.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/20/2012
Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
Probably, unless you can demonstrate to MVA that you've already completed a Traffic Alcohol/Drug Program.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 6/22/2012
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Any conviction for DUI carries a suspension of the person's license. This is mandatory.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/15/2012
The Short Law Group, P.C.
The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
Under Oregon Law there are several reasons for a suspension from the DMV. The DMV will suspend a license for 90 days with a BAC test over .08, or 1 year for a refusal (can be up to 3 years with enhancement factors). This suspension can be contested through Oregon's Implied Consent Law through the DMV. The only way to receive this DMV Hearing is by requesting one within 10 days of the incident. Additionally a conviction for DUII will lead to a 1 year license suspension. Talk with a knowledgeable DUI Lawyer about the facts of your case, and how a DMV Hearing may help you.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 6/12/2012
Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC | Christopher G Humphrey
90% of the time there is a suspension on the first DUI, but. You may be eligible for a probationary license to drive during your suspension. Call Wyoming Department of Transportation to determine eligibility.
Answer Applies to: Wyoming
Replied: 6/7/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    If it's a DUI yes, any other offense maybe.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 6/6/2012
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    Yes, a suspension of at least 30 days would be the norm if you gave a breath test and the results were less than .150.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 6/6/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    It's possible for certain offenses.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/14/2013
    Mesiti Law | Benjamin Mesiti
    In Rhode Island, if you plea or are found guilty of a first offense DUI or refusal, you will face a mandatory license suspension. This loss could be as little as 30 days, but most fall under a minimum 3 months loss for a DUI. The minimum loss for a refusal is 6 months.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel | Gregory M. Abel
    From the criminal court, a plea of guilty to DUII or a jury verdict of DUII results in a one year license suspension. There are options and defenses and you should retain a DUII attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    This can depend on the number of charges that are filed and the nature of each charge. If you are not represented be a lawyer and just walk in to plead guilty to the charges of DUI and additional charges, you should expect your license to be suspended. In addition to the tickets or charges that may be filed, you may also have a consequence from the breathalyzer results. A test result that is too high gets a 30 day walk and restricted for 60 days after that with specific requirements to get it back. If you refuse the test you can lose it for a year and still need to complete the requirements to get it back.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    Yes, at least 30 days, then you can request a restricted privilege license that would allow you to drive to and from work, doctors appointments etc.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Timothy M. Donahue | Timothy M. Donahue
    Yes. If you failed or refused the breath test, the suspension will take effect approximately 41 days after you were arrested. Texas Transportation Code section 521.344 provides for a license suspension upon conviction for DWI. You can request an occupational license in order to be able to drive to work and school.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    There is always a driver's license suspension on a dui conviction.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    The Woods Law Firm
    The Woods Law Firm | F.W. Woods Jr.
    Yes, your license can be suspended for up to one year.
    Answer Applies to: South Carolina
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    Any DUI violation comes with a suspension unless you contest the matter.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    LEATHERS LAW FIRM
    LEATHERS LAW FIRM | A. Wade Leathers, Sr.
    If you plead guilty to a 1st offense DUI in Alabama, your license will be suspended for 90 days.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    Yes, there is a license revocation that results from a DWI conviction. The court is obligated to certify the conviction to the Department of Public Safety, Drivers and Vehicle Services. That Department will then revoke your license. There is also a license revocation that results from a test failure or test refusal, regardless of the outcome of your DWI case. These revocations will generally run concurrently.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    The court has to take your license for at least 60 days on a first offense. There are ways to avoid the suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    Yes: You better get a good lawyer. You can get up to a year with a $2500 fine and license suspension. Do not despair we have been doing this for over 20 years.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    Your license will be revoked on a first offense unless you challenge the revocation and prevail. In that proceeding, a judicial review of the revocation, many of the same defenses as those to the underlying DWI exist. If you do not challenge the revocation, the length of that revocation will depend on whether there are any aggravating factors like a high BAC or having a child in the vehicle.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    Normally, there is a suspension of three months for a conviction on a first time DUI, provided you are over the age of twenty-one.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Hynum Law Office, LLC
    Hynum Law Office, LLC | G. Wayne Hynum
    If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in Mississippi your driver's license is suspended for 90 days and until you complete the alcohol safety program. On a first offense DUI conviction it is possible to get a hardship reduction of the suspension after the license has been suspended at least 30 days.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    Depends. You need to win your ALR hearing and avoid a straight conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
    If you submit to a blood/alcohol test and the results exceed .08, the officer will revoke your driver's license for 90 days. This "per se" violation can be challenged at DMV. You are also subject to a 90 day revocation if you are convicted of dui but it is the same 90 day period. You do not lose your license twice.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Hammerschmidt Broughton Law
    Hammerschmidt Broughton Law | Mark A. Broughton
    Yes, and the length depends on how the case is handled. The only way it will not be suspended is if you win your DMV hearing, which is not an easy thing to do by yourself. Then, you will need to get a favorable result in court. Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    James M. Osak, P.C.
    James M. Osak, P.C. | James M. Osak
    YES. Hire an attorney and fight these charges! Attorney may be able to REDUCE charges or take them to trial if they somehow messed up and didn't follow proper procedures.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    Yes. If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in CA there is a minimum 6 month license suspension. You would be eligible for a restricted license as long as there is no refusal. There is also a potential suspension from the DMV (through an APS action). You should speak to a DUI attorney to discuss your case in more detail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    Yes it is possible. It depends upon your BAC though on a first offense. If you are convicted of being under a .15, your suspension is 90 days, or 15 days followed by 4 months of interlock. If your BAC is over .15, your suspension is 45 days followed by 9 months of interlock.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    Unless you fight and win your license will be suspended for 4-6 months.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    Your license will be suspended for 6 months on a first offense dUI but if you enroll in the first offender program it will be converted to a restricted license after the first 30 days of actual suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    If you are found guilty of DUI, hit and run, fleeing and attempting to elude police your license will be suspended on the first time.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    Yes, but it may only last for a few months if you are diligent about paying your fines, doing your community service, etc. as soon as possible.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    For a first time DUI you can expect the following; FIRST OFFENSE DUI (NO PRIORS WITHIN 10-YEARS) PROBATION: 3-to-5 Years Informal Probation JAIL: 48-hours and up to 6 months jail time may be imposed COURT FINES: Minimum $390.00 fine to maximum of $1000.00 Note, however that the $390.00 minimum fine, after adding penalty assessments and miscellaneous court fees, results in a total amount due of approximately $1400.00-to-$1800.00. DUI SCHOOL : Attendance at First Offender Program (FOP) Required BAC = .15 3-month FOP BAC .15 to .19 6-month FOP BAC = .20 9-month FOP COURT MAY ALSO ORDER: Impound Vehicle up to 30-days if owned by defendant Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for up to 3-years INCREASED PENALTIES FOR DUI ENHANCEMENTS: Refusal An additional 48-hours of Jail Passenger in Vehicle Under Age 14 Additional 48-hours of Jail Speeding = 30 mph on Freeway or = 20 mph on Street or Highway Additional 60-days Jail It s the DMV that suspends your license not the court. They will suspend it for a DUI. However, if you have a valid reason for driving you may get a restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    In Michigan, you will lose your license for 30 days and then have a restricted license for the next 5 months on a first offense OWI. (Same as DUI). If reduced to impaired driving, you would have a restricted license for 90 days. If charged with "super drunk" driving, then the penalties will be different Your attorney should be able to advise you on the penalties you face. I hope that this was helpful.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Law Offices of George Woodworth & Associates
    Law Offices of George Woodworth & Associates | George Woodworth
    It is possible to keep your license, if you apply for a DMV hearing within 10 days of the date of your arrest. Your Attorney can present evidence at that hearing that could result in you keeping your license. Get an experienced DUI Attorney to help you as you are not likely to be able to do it yourself.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    Yes. assuming you are talking about a DUI.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/5/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    Upon being found guilty of drunk driving, your license will be suspened.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter | Jared C. Winter
    First DUI? First petty theft? First murder? I'm guessing you are talking about DUI. If so, the answer is yes. You can get a suspended license on a first offense. If you were recently arrested for DUI, you need to act quickly. You only have 10 days to request a hearing on your license suspension. If you don't request the hearing in time, than you lose your right to challenge the suspension. You'd be much better of contacting a criminal defense attorney in your area for a consultation than asking these questions online.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    Yes, it is possible.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    Yes it is possible to have your license suspended because of a first offense. But you do not provide enough facts to be able to give an adequate answer.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
    Faced work 30 day suspended license, 150 days restricted (automatic), along with fees, up to 93 days jail, hours of community service work and up to two years probation.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    Yes. Absolutely.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Baner and Baner
    Baner and Baner | Jonathan Baner
    On a DUI? Yes. It's mandatory suspension on the administrative side if found to have committed the offense.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    The McDonnell Law Firm, PLLC
    The McDonnell Law Firm, PLLC | Patrick J. McDonnell
    It's not only possible, it's MANDATORY! You WILL lose you driving privileges for one year if convicted of DWI. Not SUSPENDED; REVOKED for one year! Suspensions are reinstated after a small fee. Revocation means you have to reapply for a license.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Office of Russell A. Warren
    Law Office of Russell A. Warren | Russell A. Warren
    Yes. Every state has different regulations on the length and type of suspension - so it is state specific.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    I assume you mean a "suspended" and I assume you mean on a DWI or DWAI conviction. On a DWI your license will be revoked for 6 months and on a DWAI it will be suspended for 90 days. You can get a conditional license or a hardship license under certain circumstances. You should retain a good criminal lawyer if you can afford one. If you are indigent the court will appoint an attorney to represent you.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Office of Thomas J. Ogas
    Law Office of Thomas J. Ogas | Thomas Ogas
    It is likely. Once you simply arrested for a DUI (before charges are even filed) the cop will give you a temporary license and the DMV will send you a letter telling you that your license will be suspended ... that is, unless you set up an Administrative Hearing. And then you have to win the hearing to keep your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Salberg Murdock
    Salberg Murdock | Jeffrey D. Salberg
    Yes, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 120 days if you plead to a DUI. However, depending on the facts, pleading to impaired driving could save you from a suspension. Don't forget to request a Drivers License Department hearing within 10 days of receiving your citation. Your license can (and will) be suspended by the DLD if the officer can show he had reasonable cause to believe you were driving while impaired. If you don't have a hearing, your license will automatically be suspended for 120 days on the 30th day after the citation for DUI was issues.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    Yes... at minimum a 90 day suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
    Yes.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/14/2013
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    If you refuse to take a chemical or breath test, or you register a .08 or above on the breathalizer, you will have a mandatory suspension of license for 6 months, for failure on the test, up to 12 months for refusal. Hire good counsel to represent you, there are motions he can file in your behalf that may rescind that suspension. Remember that is the battle, the real war is handling the DUI case itself, in which case your license could be revoked, which does not terminate after a set period, you need to take action to lift it, by having a hearing before a hearing officer in the Secretary of State's office.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Natty Shafer Law
    Natty Shafer Law | Nathaniel Shafer
    Yes, it's possible. In fact, if you don't request a hearing with the DMV within 10 days of your arrest for DUI, it will be suspended automatically. Even if you request a hearing, the DMV hearing examiner may choose to suspend your license anyway. Your best chance of avoiding a suspended license is to have an attorney working for you during the hearing. Also, if you are later convicted of the underlying DUI, the judge is supposed to order that your license be suspended, even for a first offense.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C.
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C. | Michael Morgan
    Depends on a number of factors.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/14/2013
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    On a DUI, yes, automatically. Any other driving offense, it is up to the judge if you are convicted.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Rogoway Green, LLP
    Rogoway Green, LLP | Douglas Green
    All convictions for DUII come with a license suspension. A breath or blood test refusal or failure also carries an automatic administrative license suspension in Oregon.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    Yes, your license will be suspended for at least 30 days.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Clos, Russell & Wirth, P.C. | Gary A. Russell
    Depends upon the conviction. A conviction for OWI (operating while intoxicated) results in a 30 day suspension and 150 day restricted license. A conviction of OWVI (operating while visibly impaired) has a 90 day restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    It is definitely possible to have your license revoked on a first offense. The length and even whether it gets revoked can depend on many things. Hire an experienced DUI lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Law Office of James J. Rosenberger | James Joseph Rosenberger
    Not necessarily. It depends upon the outcome of the charge itself coupled with that of an administrative hearing. You face 2 potential suspensions and the DUI has a mandatory suspension period even for the first one.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Michael S. Edwards, Attorney at Law, PLLC | Mike Edwards
    Unless you are very fortunate, and win both the administrative driver license hearing, and avoid being convicted of the DUI, your driver license will be suspended for at least 120 days for a first offense, depending upon the facts of your case. You need a good attorney, to help you damage-control your case. Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    Yes, unless your attorney can successfully challenge your suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Ryan Berman, Esq | Ryan Berman
    Yes, your license will be suspended if your convicted of DUI, however you may be eligible for a restricted license (to drive to and from work, etc).
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Benjamin D Gordon, Attorney at Law
    Benjamin D Gordon, Attorney at Law | Benjamin D Gordon
    There are 3 ways for a driver's license to be suspended as a result of a DUI. 1) if you are convicted of DUI, even a first offense, you are subject to a 120 day suspension. 2) if you are charged with DUI, you are subject to a 120 day suspension for a first offense. This automatically goes into effect 30 days after the arrest UNLESS you request a hearing from the Drivers License Division in writing within 10 days of the arrest. If you do that, then you may be able to avoid a suspension at that point. 3) if you refuse to consent to a chemical test when requested to do so by law enforcement, regardless of whether or not you are charged with DUI, your license will be suspended for 1 year.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 6/4/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    If you are convicted of DWI first offense in NH then you will definitely face a minimum loss of license of nine months which can be reduced to ninety days of you enter into and successfully complete an approved impaired driver intervention program.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 6/4/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!