Will I get jail time if found guilty in a class C felony willful abuse of child with no priors? 14 Answers as of March 22, 2013

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
I would need further information to answer. You should hire an attorney and disclose all the facts and circumstances and to see what could be done.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/22/2013
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Totally up to the judge, but IF you are convicted, you will probably be going to jail.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 3/21/2013
William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
You might, because even a first-time offender might be sentenced to the maximum penalty. Ultimately, sentencing depends on whether you have been found guilty, your prior record, how serious these are in the court's eyes, mitigation, and allocution. An attorney can assist you with evaluating the prosecution's case, any defenses that you might have, and any plea offer that might be made, so that you can decide whether to plea bargain or go to trial. If you were to be found guilty, then an attorney can assist you with presenting mitigation, allocution, and a recommendation for a more lenient sentence. and a recommendation for a more lenient sentence. Consider seeking a confidential consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Beware that online posts are not confidential. If somehow the prosecution were to find your post, then it might be used in evidence against you.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 3/21/2013
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
This depends on all the facts and how bad the child was abused.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 3/21/2013
Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
Pobably, up to 5 years or more plus up to $5,000 in fines.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 3/21/2013
    The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq.
    The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq. | John J. Carney
    Retain a good criminal lawyer. You may get counseling, probation, jail, or you may win the trial.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    That depends on the statute in effect in your county and state. The charge sounds serious, and I strongly suggest you retain a lawyer who practices in the courts where the case is pending for a clearer answer to your question.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Law Offices of Marshall Tauber
    Law Offices of Marshall Tauber | Marshall Tauber
    Without knowing more I cannot answer this question completely.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    Depending on the nature of the abuse, it is a very real possibility.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 3/20/2013
    Toivonen Law Office | John Toivonen
    A person who is convicted of child abuse is likely to receive jail or prison time. First Degree Child Abuse carries a possible life sentence, Second Degree has a maximum of 10 years, and Third Degree can result in two years in prison. Prosecutors tend to be very aggressive with these types of cases. After all, the prosecutor would love to have a person charged with abusing a child in front of a jury. Hire an attorney right away. If you cannot afford one, ask the court to appoint an attorney for you. Do not speak to the police.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/20/2013
    Ferguson & Ferguson
    Ferguson & Ferguson | Randy W. Ferguson
    You have ask this three or four times. There is no way of knowing. It is up to the judge and your attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 3/20/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney