Will I be obligated to take alcohol classes after a DUI? 65 Answers as of July 04, 2013

I already have a job, a child and a house to take care of and I don't want to serve time in jail. I am wondering if I will be forced to take classes as part of my punishment, in which case I would need to know how many hours and what days I would be required to attend.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
You have to take the required DUI program or you will lose your license if you still have it. How long and what level course is up to the court.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/4/2011
Lowenstein Law Office
Lowenstein Law Office | Anthony Lowenstein
It depends on several factors.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/4/2011
The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady
The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady | Kevin O'Grady
Don't assume that you will lose at the ADLRO proceeding or in the criminal case. Hire an attorney to fight for you in both cases. However, alcohol assessment will almost certainly be a part of punishment if you are found guilty.
Answer Applies to: Hawaii
Replied: 7/31/2011
Castleberry & Elison
Castleberry & Elison | Peter Castleberry
If you are convicted of a DUII, you will almost certainly be ordered to undergo evaluation and treatment. Evaluation and treatment are also required if you enter the DUI diversion program. The type of treatment program you will be required to do depends on your initial evaluation. One treatment class per week for between 3 and 6 months is not uncommon.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 7/29/2011
Harden Law Offices
Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
If you are convicted of a DWI you will be required to take an alcohol class in order to get your license reinstated. A first offense is a 24 hour class which is normally done on a Friday to Sunday evening. If an aggravated DWI or subsequent then it is a 7 day program. You should consult with a DWI lawyer to thoroughly explain the risks and potential punishments involved as well as any potential defenses which may exist.
Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
Replied: 7/29/2011
    Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
    Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
    It is up to the judge whether you will be required to take any course. If you are required than it is up to the specific course provider in your area regarding details of how many hours and what days and what times etc.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/28/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
    Yes, everyone who accepts probation for a DUI is required by law to attend an alcohol class. The dates and times and hours depend upon the court you are going to. You should consult with a lawyer in your area for the specifics in your case.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/28/2011
    Eric M. Mark, Attorney at Law
    Eric M. Mark, Attorney at Law | Eric Mark
    Yes. At least 2 days is mandatory.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 7/28/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    Regarding jail time: with a DUI conviction, jail time is mandatory. The least you will serve is one day. As far as alcohol classes: you will be required to obtain an alcohol/drug evaluation. If the evaluation determines that you have no alcohol/drug issue, then the court will require you to attend an alcohol/drug information school, which generally runs 8 hours. If the evaluation determines that you have a significant problem with alcohol and/or drugs, then yes you will be required to attend alcohol/drug treatment and that treatment could be substantial in terms of time and money. The hours and number of days would be determined based upon the treatment.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/28/2011
    Bloom Legal, LLC
    Bloom Legal, LLC | Seth J. Bloom
    This will depend entirely upon the type of diversion program you are offered, if any. A judge may determine that you can attend alcohol and drug counseling and/or community service in return for a deferred or suspended sentence. If you are convicted, a judge may also require them as part of your sentence. You should not be taking pending DWI charges lightly, and if you are currently facing charges, you should certainly consider hiring an attorney to represent you. An attorney will be able to help you negotiate sentencing that may better suit competing demands on your time such as work and family with your judge.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
    The court will not force you to take a class. However, the California DMV will require you to take a three-month class in order to get your license back. It is more a function of the DMV than the court - if you tell the court you do not plan to drive again then they have been known to excuse people from the class altogether. But if you want to keep your driving privileges then you must do it.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky | Michael Brodsky
    If you are convicted of a DUI or related offense, you will likely be required to have an alcohol and substance abuse evaluation by a state certified counselor and follow the treatment recommendation which can range from an 8-hour Alcohol and Drugs Information School (ADIS) the most common recommendation, to a 2-year intensive out-patient, relapse prevention program and self-help meetings (AA or NA). The level of treatment will be based on several factors including criminal history and alcohol and/or drug usage.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Smith & John
    Smith & John | Kenneth Craig Smith, Jr.
    Depending on the judge, you could be ordered to attend AA meetings. A substance abuse class is almost always mandatory.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    If I remember correctly, the NYS DMV Drinking Driver Program is 16 hours over several weeks. And you will want to take it because it's the only way you can get a Conditional License to drive while your license is suspended or revoked.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    The best thing to do is hire an attorney who specializes in OUI/DUI/DWI cases as I do. There are many things that should be discussed and reviewed and you should not be assuming that you will be convicted without at least consulting with an attorney. If convicted, and in many cases, even if not convicted, you must complete an alcohol treatment program. However, this is not mandatory. It is part of a alternative sentence that allows for a shorter loss of license. You are not forced to go, although you may want to when you learn the benefits that come along with it. In any event, you should consult with a criminal defense DUI attorney. If you would like to discuss your case with me in more detail you can reach me at the telephone numbers below.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    Yes. If you are found guilty or enter a plea to DUI, you will be required to take the classes. For a first time DUI it is a 3 month class with approximately 1 hour meetings once a week. If you fight it and win you can avoid the classes. You should contact a DUI defense lawyer (like me) and discuss whether your case can be fought and won.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Thomas Humphrey, Attorney at Law
    Thomas Humphrey, Attorney at Law | Thomas Humphrey
    You will be required under Idaho Code Section 18-8004 to undergo an alcohol evaluation prior to sentencing. Further, Idaho Code Section 18-8005(11) provides "In the event that the alcohol evaluation required in subsection (11) of this section recommends alcohol treatment, the court shall order the person to complete a treatment program in addition to any other sentence which may be imposed, unless the court determines that alcohol treatment would be inappropriate or undesirable, in which event, the court shall enter findings articulating the reasons for such determination on the record." If found guilty, defendants are typically sentenced to some kind of alcohol education class and a victim's panel.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 7/27/2011
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
    For a first offense, usually a total of 48 hours of alcohol classes and therapy are required. Class schedule times vary greatly, so they will expect you to schedule classes that do not interfere with your schedule.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
    I would advise you to consult with an attorney if need specific legal advice. Speaking generally, classes may be required as a part of a sentence for a variety of alcohol related offenses; however, the types of classes and exact requirements and their availability vary significantly from court to court.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Nichols Law Firm
    Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
    Most judges order offenders to take some sort of alcohol education. You should prepare by being proactive. Seek legal counsel.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    You need to consult with your lawyer on the particulars of the DDP program, and if you do not have counsel we can represent you.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Andrew Subin
    Law Office of Andrew Subin | Andrew Subin
    This will depend on the results of an alcohol evaluation. If the evalutation says you have a problem with alcohol, the judge will probably order classes.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller | Thomas Mueller
    You must attend 12 weeks of classes. If you don't you will lose your license. It's about 24 hours
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    You will need to get an alcohol evaluation and comply with the recommended treatment in order to get probation.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C.
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C. | Michael Morgan
    A DUI conviction in Washington normally results in a defendant being ordered to attend a DUI Victims Panel (which last about 8 hours) and either alcohol treatment or Alcohol Information School.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Harrison & Harrison
    Harrison & Harrison | Samuel Harrison
    Yes, you will have to take the classes if you want to keep your license or get it back.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC | Raymond J. Savoy
    To avoid jail time for a first offense in Connecticut, you must attend 12 to 15 classes. If you don't want classes, the maximum jail sentence is 6 months
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    You most likely, but you will not know the kind of treatment or how long until an alcohol assessment is completed
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    The short answer is yes. Every person convicted of DUI in Michigan is required to take an alcohol safety class. This may be combined with a MADD clas or victim's impact panel class. But per statute, it is required. Classes vary by Court. Many are just a single day for 2 or 4 hours. You should address your specific questions to the attorney you hire in your case. It is not advised to attempt to go through your case without an attorney to explain your options and understand the consequences of your choices.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    Upon a conviction of OWI, generally, the sentence will include some classes. As to when and how long the classes are, that is determined by the class itself. Once sentenced, your probation officer would be able to give you more information regarding classes.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    If you are convicted of DUI you will at a minimum be required to go to DUI school. You will also likely be required to have an alcohol evaluation and follow any treatment recommendations of the evaluator. If it is a first DUI, you might not be required to have any treatment after the evaluation. If it is not a first, you will likely be required to get some counseling.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Joseph A. Katz
    Law Office of Joseph A. Katz | Joseph A. Katz
    To Whom It May Concern: You would, most definitely, have to attend at least a 16-week 'Drinking Driver's Program', usually referred to as 'AB-541'. Once a week for 16 weeks, plus 8 AA meetings, at a minimum. If you were really hammered (i.e., over a .20 BAC) when you were arrested, then you will have to complete a 9-month program (AB-1353). Both of these are only possible, or course, if this was your first DUI. If you had another prior within the past 10 years... Oops! Then, it's at least an 18-month program for him ('SB-38').
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
    You may very well be ordered to take alcohol education classes as part of any sentence in a DUI case. The length of time depends on how much alcohol education the administrators of the program believe you need as a result of intake testing in the beginning of the program.
    Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    You will have to take at least one class in order to keep your license. It is about 12 hours long - like defensive driving with extra hours related to alcohol. Whether you will have to take more depends on the facts of the case and your county and judge. Talk to your lawyer about the offer and the requirements before signing up (but remember that if you take a final conviction, your driver's license will be suspended between 6 months and one year and some judges will not give occupationals to those who will not accept probation.)
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You will have to attend a Drinking Driving Class if you want a conditional license. Every city has a different class and fee, ask your lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
    Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law | Michael R. Nack
    First of all you should hire an attorney to represent you. Then, your attorney can explain the entire process to you as well as protecting your legal rights. In many cases where the government has enough evidence to convict, the attorney will still be able to negotiate a plea bargain that will avoid jail time and possibly even avoid a conviction going on your record. If you do get probation, one condition of probation will be the completion of a program referred to as SATOP. You can look them up on line to learn more about that program, or you can have your attorney help with that as well.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Yes you will. If you plead to a first DUI in court, you will need to do a 3, 6, or 9 month alcohol program. That is why it is advisible to hire a DUI specialist to go to court and try to reduce the charge, thereby eliminating this alcohol component, not to mention other consequences.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    Following a conviction for DUI, the court is under obligation to order that you attend and complete the driver's safety program. Level I is usually given on 4 consecutive Tuesday nights for about 1 -2 hours each night. There is a cost to attend this course. Level II school is more expensive and involves more time. The level of the school is determined by the interview with a court referral officer.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    The Law Firm of Steven K. Franger
    The Law Firm of Steven K. Franger | Steven Franger
    If you are convicted of a DUI, you should prepare yourself for the strong probability that you will be required to take DUI alcohol classes. In most cases the Judge will order that the defendant submit to and complete an alcohol evaluation or assessment, an alcohol education program, or an alcohol treatment program at such defendant's own expense. The classes are offered by several different companies at several different times and locations. I cannot predict how many hours you would be required to take, as it is the results of the alcohol evaluation and your prior history that usually determines the level of alcohol class.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    It depends upon whether you are convicted of an OUI or some other charge, and whether you received a notice from the secretary of state. If so, you will need to take the DEEP course or see a certified counselor. But this is only if you want to get your driver's license back. If you don't care about your license, you do not need to complete or take DEEP or pay the reinstatement fee, unless your conviction has probation terms requiring alcohol counseling.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Arnold & Wadsworth
    Arnold & Wadsworth | Brian Arnold
    It will all depend on your alcohol assessment. They should have told you that you have to do an assessment and then that will decide whether you have to do more after that.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    Yes, the DMV requires enrollment in a Court approved alcohol class in order to get your driver's license back. The schedule of the class depends on what class you choose.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    If your blood alcohol level was .15 or less you will be required to take 30 days of the first offender DUI School.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    In Colorado, if you plead or are otherwise found guilty, you take an alcohol assessment to determine what level of treatment will be ordered. The number of hours you'd be required to attend depends upon what level of treatment is ordered. There are typically several providers (of counseling/treatment) in a given area you would be responsible for contacting to set up the treatment. Thus, the days you would attend completely depends upon the provider selected.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    It's kind of a conundrum. I can understand you not wanting to go to jail, but are you willing to do what the judge says in order to avoid jail? That doesn't mean they will require you to attend alcochol classes, but they could. Especially if you are given Sobriety Court. Is this your first offense or multiple offense? If it's a first, more than likely you will be assigned probation and probably one of the terms will be to attend AA or something similar at least two to three times a week. Consult with an experienced DUI attorney in the area. He will be able to tell you what the judges and probation officers are likely to do in your situation.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Gounaris Abboud Co. LPA
    Gounaris Abboud Co. LPA | Nicholas G. Gounaris
    The answer certainly depends on a number of factors including the jurisdiction, whether or not a weekend intervention program/alcohol assessment was completed...
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    The Law Office of Lewis R. Rosenblum
    The Law Office of Lewis R. Rosenblum | Lewis Rosenblum
    1st offense - should be no jail time. The classes you take will depend on your blood alcohol level. Usually under .15 is a 6 month class. If it's .15 or more could be a 9 month class. Meetings usually once a week to start. A lot depends on what county your in for additional classes. Usually you can take the classes at night so it won't interfere with your job.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    You have to take classes to save your license. It will also be a condition of probation that you take the classes. Failure to do so means jail time. Usually the classes are once or twice a week for three months. If you had a high alcohol level the class will be six months. If this is a second DUI within 10 years the classes go on for one and a half years.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    If you plea bargain a DUI, several months or more of classes are frequently part of what the DA requires for you to stay out of jail. If not convicted, of course, no classes or other penalties apply. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, and can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all possible defenses with whatever admissible and credible witnesses, evidence, facts and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or at trial. You can hire an attorney, unless you know how to effectively represent yourself in court against a professional prosecutor intending to convict. He will try to get a dismissal, diversion, reduction or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. I'll be happy to help use whatever defenses there may be.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    The classes are not for punishment but for education on booze. You must have whatever treatment is necessary and it is mandatory that you are assessed for alcohol abuse. Then they recommend treatment. For first time offenders treament usually is the education. You must go.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    That will depend on the outcome of the alcohol assessment you need to take. Get it done before you go to court. Depending on the alcohol evaluation, you will either need two years of treatment or an eight-hour alcohol information class. There is at least a 1 day of mandatory jail although your county may offer work release or electronic home confinement (EHC). EHC requires a land line and costs about $15 a day. Depending on your breath-alcohol level you will be looking at 1 or 2 days in jail. That comes out to 15 or 30 days of EHC. You will also have to have an ignition interlock installed on your car for a year. That also gets costly. You should definitely consult an attorney ASAP.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Atlanta Trial Lawyers Group
    Atlanta Trial Lawyers Group | James R. Haug
    If you are convicted you will likely do community service and a drug and alcohol evaluation.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot | Susan Correia Champa
    If you plead guilty or are found guilty in Massachusetts then you will be required to take an alcohol education program. The length of time depends upon whether this is the first conviction. If this is anymore than a first conviction, then you would be required to attend an impatient program. That being said, yes it is a requirement and it is not optional, unless you have a trial and are found not guilty. I suggest you get an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Sean Patrick Walsh
    Law Office of Sean Patrick Walsh | Sean Patrick Walsh
    In Idaho in DUI Cases, typically Courts will require that you obtain a substance abuse evaluation if you plead guilty or are found guilty by a jury. The evaluation will recommend the level of treatment. In a DUI case, the level of treatment can range from a one time 8 hour class to inpatient treatment, but most cases result in level I outpatient treatment. Depending on the provider, you can expect weekly one-on-one sessions and group sessions.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    If you are convicted of a DUI in California, you will have to take some sort of alcohol course. Depending on the situation (whether this is a first offense DUI, a Second offense DUI, refusal case, high Blood Alcohol Content case etc.) the course can generally last from 3 months to 18 months, and generally last for apx. 2 hours once a week. I would recommend consulting with an attorney to defend your DUI case. If the DUI charges are dismissed or reduced as part of a plea bargain, then you would potentially only have to do a 12 hour program, or maybe none. Keep in mind that you may have to do an alcohol course to satisfy the DMV as well. You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV hearing.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law | Michael Maltby
    Usually Washington courts require at least a one day ADIS (alcohol drug information school) That is usually the minimum after you have an evaluation from a WA state certified treatment provider and the opinion of the treatment provider is that you are NSP (no significant problem). The amount of required treatment goes up from there depending on the assessed need for treatment.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    The Law Firm of David Jolly
    The Law Firm of David Jolly | David Jolly
    If you are convicted of the DUI or if the DUI is amended to another criminal offense you must take an alcohol evaluation and thereafter complete whatever the recommendation is. If they recommend the 8 hour ADIS class you must do that. If they recommend you participate in lengthy treatment, you must do that. You must complete an alcohol evaluation before it is anticipated what the number of classes or treatment may be.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law | Edward A. Kroll
    If you are convicted of DUI, you will be required to get an alcohol evaluation and comply with recommended treatment. The treatment can last several months, and often consists of a couple of classes per week - sometimes in group session, sometimes in a one-on-one with a counselor. When you do your initial intake, the provider should work with you to set up treatment times and places. Before you take a plea, you really should discuss your case with an experienced DUI lawyer. It may be that you have a strong case for trial, and could win. If you won your case, you would not have ot take any classes, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    Its possible. Speak to your lawyer about this. Some counties require a class as part of any plea.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    Alcohol classes are mandated by statute. There are many options for classes but it is usually once a week for about an hour. You could get started early, but you may not know what level of class to take.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    While most DUI probation includes a requirement to take the first offender program, that requirement can be deleted. You will, however, have to complete the class to get your license back from the DMV, so you might as well count on doing it as quickly as possible. It's either 3, 6 or 9 months in length, depending on your blood alcohol level. Up to 0.14% - 3 month .15% - .19% - 6 month .20% and above - 9 month. The programs have different classes and times available - your attorney should be able to steer you in the right direction of a class to fit your needs.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2011
    Gutin and Wolverton
    Gutin and Wolverton | Harley Gutin
    Yes. You will have to take the "DUI" classes as part of a typical DUI plea or finding of guilt after trial or most times when you enter a plea to a reduced charge of Reckless. In order to get your DL reinstated, assuming your license was suspended by DMV you would have to take those "DUI" classes anyway.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/26/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!