Will I be liable for the rent if I decided to move out a month earlier than I said I would? 5 Answers as of February 17, 2014

I was living with a roommate who was the sole signer of a lease, and I was told by that roommate that I could move in with no rental agreement. I then told that roommate I would be moving out in March, but on January 14th, I told her I would be moving out in February, am I liable for February's rent?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Stuart P Gelberg
Stuart P Gelberg | Stuart P Gelberg
Yes. You need to give 30 days notice.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 2/17/2014
Law Offices of George H. Shers | George H. Shers
You have an oral rental agreement even if there is no written one. You must give thirty days written notice.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/17/2014
James T. Weiner & Associates, P.C.
James T. Weiner & Associates, P.C. | James T. Weiner
As a month to month subtenant you are supposed to give your "roommate" 30 days notice of changes.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/17/2014
Peters Law, PLLC
Peters Law, PLLC | Mark T. Peters, Sr.
You don't have a written agreement, so as long as you give 30 days notice, you should not owe for anything beyond that.
Answer Applies to: Idaho
Replied: 2/17/2014
Click to View More Answers: