NOLA Criminal Law | Townsend Myers
Generally, even a conviction that has been expunged can be used to enhance a subsequent conviction under La. R.S. 15:529.1 (the Louisiana Multiple Offender Law). On a second felony conviction the possible punishment is much greater. For most simple possession cases the sentence as a first offender is 0-5 years. As a second offender it would be 30 months - 10 years. For distribution offenses the sentence as a first offender is 5-30 years. As a second offender it is 15-60 years.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana