Let me give you a common example. Jane gets a speeding ticket. Jane can plead guilty and pay a fine of $100, but this will be a traffic conviction and she will take points on her license. This in turn increases her insurance rates by several hundred dollars each year, and (depending on the amount of points she already has on her license) this conviction may result in a license suspension. OR Jane can hire an attorney for $100 - $150, get the case amended to illegal parking, get no points added to her license, her insurance doesn't go up, but she has to pay a higher fine $150-$250. Nonetheless, she will probably save money in the long run since speeding tickets often affect your insurance rates for two to three years. The choice is yours, but if you only care about saving money, you don't want to hire an attorney.
You can pay a $20.00 court charge to get more days to pay the bill of costs instead of having to pay it the final day of court. Yes, an attorney can often get the fees associated with the a DWI reduced.
Overcoming this initial obstacle will only work with some judges.
Should you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact my office at your earliest convenience.
In many counties throughout California, the District Attorney has a standard offer that is given to criminal defendants including individuals who are facing their first DUI. Usually the offer consists of a fine, community service, the attendance of classes, and possibly attendance at AA meetingsor any combination of these. A skilled attorney may be able to negotiate a lower fine or a reduction in the maximum sentence for your first DUI offense. If this is not your second (or third etc.) offense, my suggestion is to retain an attorney at once. These cases can be prosecuted much more vigorously by the DA and may even qualify as a felony given the circumstances.
The costs of a DUI are much greater than just the fines. Your insurance expenses will increase, your license will have points assessed against it, etc. It is well worth the cost of a defense attorney to protect and preserve your rights in this type of case.
Please contact my office for additional information.
In summary, it is worth it in the long run to get an attorney.
If you are referring to legal fees, attorneys set fees base on the nature of the case and time involved. Most lawyers try to work with clients on financial issues when they can.
In Minnesota, if you had a Blood Alcohol Content under .20, and you have no prior DWI within the last 10 years, you were charged with a fourth degree offense. This is still serious and carries with it maximum criminal penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. If convicted any subsequent DWI offense would be much more serious and with four offenses in ten years, you can be charged with a felony. As a result, as strong defense on the first alleged incident can be critical to your future. Different Judges give different sentences. Accordingly, understanding your Judge and knowing how to change Judge's can be an important part of the process.
There is also a civil case that results in the revocation of your driver's license. On a first offense over your lifetime, you may be revoked for 30 to 90 days. This is a separate case even though the challenges are largely the same. In order to challenge your license revocation, you must seek a judicial review by filing a petition within 30 days of the offense. Do not forget this critical time period. All too often people with strong defenses come to me too late to challenge the license revocation. The end result goes well beyond simply having your license revoked. A failure to challenge results in an Implied Consent violation on your record which can also affect employment and may be used to enhance any subsequent DWI offense.
There are many challenges to a DWI. Officers must follow very specific steps as part of the arrest. If any one step is missing, the case may be dismissed.