When a home sells at a sheriff sale how long do the renters have to move out? 6 Answers as of September 07, 2012

We were purchasing a home on contract from my in-laws they filed bankruptcy we tried to save the home but had no luck the home goes to sheriff sale in 16 days we are still trying to find something in our area to move into.. It doesn't help that the in-laws were keeping our money every month and could save the home but do not want to because they have a new home in another state.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Law Office of Darren Aronow, PC
The Law Office of Darren Aronow, PC | Darren Aronow
It depends of the sheriff in your county, but they often give 72 hours after they put a notice on your door. You may be able to get more time if you talk to the sheriff and move voluntarily rather than file any state actions.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 9/7/2012
R. Jason de Groot, P.A
R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
Look at the tenants in foreclosure act. Do an internet search for it.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 9/7/2012
Victor Varga | Victor Varga
The buyers will have to file for eviction if you don't leave. It usually takes between 1 and 2 months for an eviction to take place. Note that a court order must be issued, and only the Sheriff's department can evict you.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 9/7/2012
LAW OFFICE OF JEFFREY Z DWORIN
LAW OFFICE OF JEFFREY Z DWORIN | JEFFREY Z DWORIN
They should continue paying the original owner until the redemption period expires. After that, they basically have until the buyer evicts them.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/7/2012
Stephens Gourley & Bywater | David A. Stephens
Anywhere from 15 to 30 days if you are an owner. A tenant may be able to get up to 90 days following a foreclosure sale.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 9/7/2012
    Frank Law Group, P.C.
    Frank Law Group, P.C. | David E. Frank
    In Ca. the purchasers at the sheriff's sale would still have to evict you, the legal process for which usually takes 30-90 days depending on hw quickly the new owners move. Often times, they will offer "cash for keys" whereby they may offer you $2,000- $4,000 to leave the place in good shape, move all your stuff out within 30-60 days.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/7/2012
Click to View More Answers: