Reza Athari & Associates, PLLC | Seth L. Reszko
If you are charged with domestic violence and this is your first offense, in my experience you would be looking at paying a fine, attending and completing a DV class, stay out of trouble during the pendancy of your case and Stay away from the victim. This does not mean this will be the result in your case and you should discuss your case with an attorney to decide and discuss defenses and strategy.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
If he and the police and ADA agree, with a good lawyer, only Anger Management classes at most.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
You should retain a good criminal layer and try to get a dismissal so that you do not have a criminal record. Domestic Violence cases are taken very seriously and usually require a misdemeanor plea, counseling for 12 weeks, probation, and an Order of Protection. You may even get a criminal record and have to deal with all the problems associated with that. It will help to get anger management classes or counseling as it will teach you how to communicate with others in a polite and civil way.
Answer Applies to: New York
Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
A sentence depends on a lot of things like the exact charge(s), how cooperative the complainant(s) are, any injuries or property damage, the criminal history (including all arrests even if no convictions), behavior towards the arresting officer(s) and other factors.
Answer Applies to: New York
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
If the injuries to your husband are not severe, you will get a probationary type of sentence, with domestic violence counselling ordered, as well as possible alcohol evaluation plus follow-up counselling as determined by the evaluator.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
You'll learn the actual charge[s] and any enhancements filed and get copies of all the police reports and prosecutors evidence when appearing for arraignment at the first court hearing. The charges actually filed by the prosecutor will determine how much time could potentially be imposed. In California, if convicted of any felony, you potentially face one or more years in prison, plus fines; on any misdemeanor, you potentially face up to 12 months in jail, plus fines. If you are charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a search or statement be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? A little free advice: exercise the 5th Amendment right to SHUT UP and do NOT talk to police or anyone about the case except with and through an attorney. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney who does, who will try to get a dismissal, charge reduction, diversion, program, or other decent outcome through motions, plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
Answer Applies to: California
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
This is the crime of "domestic violence". Domestic violence is a gross misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 1 year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. A judge could give you a suspended sentence with no jail time, or he could impose the maximum sentence, depending upon the facts of the case and if you have a criminal record. The judge could also require you to go to treatment (batters counseling). If alcohol was involved, you could be required to go to treatment for that as well. The judge could also impose a no contact order preventing you from having contact with your husband. My advice: get an attorney.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Langford Law Firm | Theresa Langford
The range is from Class C assault (fine only) to an aggravated assault family violence (felony prison time) to deferred adjudication to probation to a dismissal. There numerous factors which you have not shared that will affect the outcome. You also should NOT share the details with anyone, especially a public website, except your retained attorney in a confidential setting.
Answer Applies to: Texas