What will happen with a DWI with accident but no injury? 13 Answers as of August 08, 2013

I blew a 0.08 on a breathalyzer test, just the exact limit for a DWI. I also turned into a park car.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Chambers Law Firm
Chambers Law Firm | Dan E. Chambers
It's impossible to provide an answer without some additional facts.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/8/2013
Law Office of Thomas C. Phipps | Thomas C Phipps
You may get a suspended imposition of sentence and probation for one to two years. You will have to show that you paid for the damages to the other car.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 8/8/2013
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Depends on the quality of your defense attorney.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 8/8/2013
Law Offices of Eric J. Bell | Eric J. Bell
You may have an issue to fight at court concerning the amount of your blow. Results of breathalyzers have a degree of variance of .01 therefore you could have blown anywhere from .07 through .09.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 8/8/2013
Law Office of Robert Sisson | Robert Sisson
Where do u live?
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Replied: 8/8/2013
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    The DUI with accident can be charged as VC23153(a) & (b). Generally in Los Angeles County this is charged as a misdemeanor when there is no injury. It carries essentially the same penalties as regular DUI. More importantly in your case is the fact that you blew a .08% BAC. This is a defensible case. You need to fight it and not accept a 'wet' reckless. These charges can be won at trial or should be dismissed. If you accept any plea, one of the conditions will be that you stipulate to liability for damages. The amount of damages will be ascertained at a hearing following your plea and you will be forced to pay the damages as part of your probation. You should avoid this result at all costs.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You could possibly be convicted or work out something to a lesser charge.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    You need to hire a DUI specialist, and do it soon because you have only 10 days to save your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    If convicted, and it is your first offense: Maximum penalty 1 year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. Mandatory minimum penalties: 1 day in jail, roughly $1200 in fines, 90 day loss of license, interlock device on your car, drug/alcohol evaluation and follow recommended treatment, and other penalties imposed by judge. You will also have to have high risk insurance (expensive), and ordered to pay for the damages you caused.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    The result should be the same as if there was no accident at all. Nevertheless, hire a lawyer to represent you, as the consequences from this case can be serious. A lawyer will probably help you out greatly. Also, consider that you will be responsible for property damage, I hope you carry liability insurance.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    William A. Siebert
    William A. Siebert | William A. Siebert
    Whether there was an accident matters only to the level of restitution. You will still get the usual jail plus probation sentence.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    It depends on the county, prosecutor and judge and your prior record.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/8/2013
    Attorney at Law
    Attorney at Law | Michael J. Kennedy
    If you fight it with a competent DUI attorney, you will likely win acquittal; if you roll over, play dead, and plead guilty, you are a loser.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!