What will happen with a driving without a license charge in California? 13 Answers as of March 07, 2011

What will happen with a driving without a license charge in California?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
Driving with a suspended license usually just carries a fine.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/7/2011
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
It depends whether it is an infraction or misdemeanor. Is it a VC 12500(a) charge?
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/3/2011
Nelson & Lawless
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
You face fines and potential jail time. However, jail is unlikely unless you have a rap sheet and priors. The likely outcome, if handled well by your attorney, is some fines, a requirement you obtain a valid license, and some probation. If serious about getting counsel for this, feel free to contact me.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/27/2011
Law Offices of Juan Dotson
Law Offices of Juan Dotson | Juan Dotson
First, consult with an attorney about your case before you concede the charge. We can challenge the legality of the traffic stop. If you are found guilty of driving without a license (VC 12500(a)), you may be placed on Informal (otherwise known as "summary") probation for up to three years, face up to six months in the county jail, maximum $1,000 fine, and a possible 30-day impound of your car. If you are convicted of an infraction, you face a $250 maximum fine. At times, attorneys can postpone the case to allow you to obtain a valid license. Bringing a valid license to court enables us to negotiate dismissals or reduced charges.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/27/2011
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
First offense Probably only a fine depending on why license suspended. Second or more , fine and mandatory jail. Show up with a license and things might get better.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/25/2011
    The Law Offices of Robert L. Driessen
    The Law Offices of Robert L. Driessen | Robert L. Driessen
    A lot will depend upon the reason why the license was suspended. If it was suspended due to a previous DUI you are looking at a 14601.2; this charge carries a mandatory minimum of 10 days jail. If you have prior convictions for driving on a suspended license your jail time will increase.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/25/2011
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts | Andrew Stephen Roberts
    You face a serious fine. If there is any chance you could get your license the fine would be reduced dramatically.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/25/2011
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller | Thomas Mueller
    A fine. But it depends on why you don't have a license. If it's suspended by DMV or the court, the judges consider it to be a violation of probation and will send you to jail or to a weekend work program. For more info or to obtain a fee quote call.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/25/2011
    Srai Law Office
    Srai Law Office | Gurjit Singh Srai, Esq.
    In order to determine the penalties in your case, the exact charge must be noted (14601.1, 14601.2 etc). If you have been charged with a 14601 and have no priors, you will probably have to pay a fine. However, if you can get a valid driver's license the judge will possibly reduce it down to driving without a driver's license (12500) which carries less fines and is not priorable. On the other hand, 14601.2 charges have fines and mandatory jail sentence.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/25/2011
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    This depends if you have ever had a license. Most likely they will charge this as a misdemeanor 14601.1 and you are facing a very stiff fine. If you can get your license back before court, the DA is usually more lenient.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/25/2011
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    Driving a car without a valid California License is a violation of vehicle code 12500(a). It is different than driving on a "suspended or revoked" license. A 12500(a) charge can be charged as a misdemeanor, with penalties that can include jail time, probation, and large fines. It is possible to get these charges dismissed or reduced to an infraction with much less consequences. I have been very successful at getting these charges dismissed (including a dismissal of the charge yesterday in Van Nuys Court). Call me to discuss in further detail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/25/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney