What will happen to me if I am getting charged with a third DUI? 87 Answers as of May 30, 2013

I already have 2 duis and I am going to get charged of another one. What will happen to me?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
You could be charged with a felony, if it is an OUI third, in Michigan. Ultimately, your arraigning judge will advise you of your charges and their maximum possible penalties. I'd recommend you hire a lawyer or request a court-appointed attorney.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/11/2012
Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
In Michigan, a 3rd DUI is a felony that carries upto 5 years. Your license will be revoked. You need an attorney.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 5/1/2012
John R. McNeal and Associates, PLLC | John R. McNeal, Jr.
3rd. DUI's are felonies in MS. A conviction will result in a sentence of up to 5 years in the state prison, a stiff fine and severe restrictions of your drivers license.
Answer Applies to: Mississippi
Replied: 4/24/2012
Harvath Law Offices | Michael T. Harvath
A third DUI is serious, and the penalty, if you are convicted, and do not have an attorney working with the prosecutor on a plea agreement, can involve jail time, and a possible complete revocation of your driving privileges for as long as ten years. Attorneys can typically work with the local prosecuting attorney and we can negotiate to keep you from receiving the full force of the law on your charge and to keep you from receiving significant jail time. In order to determine the likelihood of working out an agreement that would keep you out of jail and potentially keep your driving privileges intact, it would also be necessary to know how long ago you received your 1st and 2ns DUIs, and also, what type of penalty you received for those charges. Thanks.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 4/24/2012
The Woods Law Firm
The Woods Law Firm | F.W. Woods Jr.
A DUI - 3rd offense can carry significant jail time.
Answer Applies to: South Carolina
Replied: 4/23/2012
    William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
    If you enroll in treatment immediately, you should expect less confinement than if you do not. The state may seek enhanced penalties of up to three years in state prison for a third conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 4/23/2012
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    As you know, a 2nd offense has the potential of jail time in real life application and it is only through the "alternative sentence" that a 2 week in-patient treatment is allowed as an alternative to committed jail time. Therefore, if you plead or are found guilty on a 3rd offense you are likely going to jail. If you have a good attorney you may be able to either beat the charge or at least stay out of jail under some circumstances. Many factors will play in such as when you received the 1st and 2nd offenses, what court you are in, the judge, the ADA and the lawyer who represents you. Get a good lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 4/20/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    It is a felony It carries up to 5 years and at least 30 days in jail (at a minimum) your license will be REVOKED not just suspended there will be fines etc. You need a good attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/20/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    A third or Felony DUI conviction will result in a 'permanent' revocation of your license as well as the Felony Charge. It is essential for you to talk with a knowledgeable DUI Lawyer who will help you wade through this complex and difficult DUI Charge. If this is a third DUI conviction within 10 years it is a felony with much on the line.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 4/20/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    In all probability, if this case arises in Illinois, you will be charged with a felony, Aggravated DUI, and will be sentenced to a prison term, or in the alternative, to probation with a period of time to be served in the local jail before beginning the sentence of probation. In any case, retaining an attorney is essential.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/19/2012
    Kenyon Law Firm
    Kenyon Law Firm | Todd Kenyon
    There are mandatory minimum sentences in Minnesota relating to Second Degree DWI. However depending on the Judge and County you will be charged in, there are numerous potential outcomes. I recommend you retain an attorney to represent you so you do not face the charges alone and find yourself at the mercy of the prosecutor or Judge. An attorney will analyze the strength of the case against you. The attorney will look for constitutional or procedural mistakes the police made when stopping and arresting you. Furthermore he can provide you with advice in order to mitigate the sentence if you ever enter a guilty plea.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 4/19/2012
    Hess & Schubert
    Hess & Schubert | Ted Hess
    If you are convicted of a third DUI in Colorado, you will receive a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 60 days, no earned time, no good time, no trusty status, no work release, no in home detention. You could also get up to one year in jail. You will have a one year jail sentence suspended as well. You will receive a fine of $600 to $1,000 and 48 to 120 hours of community service.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/19/2012
    Theresa Hofmeister, Attorney At Law
    Theresa Hofmeister, Attorney At Law | Theresa Hofmeister
    You need an attorney experienced in such matters. If they were all within the last 10 years, it will count as a Third Offense. If the first was more than 10 years ago, it may count as a second. If you cannot afford an attorney, you can apply to have one appointed for you on the date of your arraignment (first court date.)
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/19/2012
    Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
    You could face one year, or more, incarceration plus thousands of dollars in fines and costs.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 4/19/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    A third within 10 years is a felony. You are facing 1-3 years in prison and a $3,000-$5,000 fine. You will also be looking at a 1 year license suspension followed by 3 years of mandatory interlock participation.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    If you are convicted for a third offense DUI you could be facing up to one year in jail, of which you must serve not less than 60 days. You could be fined not lesss than $4,100 nor more than $10,100. Your driver's license would be facing a suspension of not less than three (3) years.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Toivonen Law Office | John Toivonen
    If it is possible to win the case it will be the best result. If convicted, get ready to serve some time. A third offense is a felony and can result in up to 5 years imprisonment. The minimum time that a convicted person will serve is 30 days. Furthermore, you can lose your license for up to 5 years, and you must pay a Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 for 2 years. Hiring a lawyer can give you a fighting chance of winning your case, or at least avoiding a lengthy sentence.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    The worst that CAN happen to you is that you lose your license for ten years and get sentenced to 180 days in jail.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Hynum Law Office, LLC
    Hynum Law Office, LLC | G. Wayne Hynum
    In Mississippi a 3rd DUI within 5 years is a felony. Upon conviction of DUI 3rd offense the penalties include a fine of $2,000.00 to $5,000.00, prison or jail time of 1 to 5 years, and seizure and possible forfeiture of the vehicle being driven at the time of the arrest if it was owned by the defendant and drug and alcohol assessment and treatment. You should hire an experienced DUI attorney to determine what defenses you have to the charge. An experienced DUI attorney would investigate the facts of your arrest to determine if everything was lawful and to make sure the proper procedures were followed in sobriety and breath tests, and the attorney can sometimes find deficiencies in the prior DUI convictions so they can't be used against you in the current case.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    You are looking at a minimum of 120 days in jail and maybe more if convicted. You need a very good certified criminal law specialist to analyze all aspects of the case for you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    The McDonnell Law Firm, PLLC
    The McDonnell Law Firm, PLLC | Patrick J. McDonnell
    If your previous DWI(s) occurred within the previous 10 years, you have committed a felony punishable by up to four (4) years in prison. Not to alarm you, but I've seen many cases where felony DWI offenders are sent to prison for a period of time.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    Damn good chance you will either get a year in county at a MINIMUM - maybe worse. STOP DRINKING BEFORE YOU KILL SOMEONE, YOURSELF INCLUDED.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Felony charge and certain jail time as well as License revocation. Very serious matter.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Drunk driving is like firing a gun at a moving train and hoping no one gets hit by the bullets. It is a foolish and selfish act since you can easily take a taxi home if you are drunk. You do not have to risk your life and the lives of thousands of motorists who must share the same highways every day with immature kids and alcoholics who just do not realize how many people they kill every year. You should retain a good criminal attorney to try and keep you out of jail. You will not be able to drive for a long time and after that your insurance will be $10,000 or more. You may have a felony on your third offense if your last one was a DWI misdemeanor conviction. Most judges will give you jail time on the third offense, especially if you are on probation, had an accident, or a high BAC. If you drive on a lic ense that is revoked from a DWI it is a very serious offense and you can get 6 months jail for the misdemeanor or prison time for the felony. I hope that this will make you aware of the dangers of drunk driis to the other motorists who are just trying to get home to their families. I guess you did not listen to the parents of the dead children that spoke at the Victim Impact Course that you were required to take on your first DWI conviction. I do not mean to be harsh, I mean to wake you up to the facts and consequences of drunk driving before you kill someone and end up in prison for 10 years.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Serious potential for jail time in addition to loss of license, fines, etc. Did you think otherwise? Of course you can fight the charges. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all appropriate defenses with whatever witnesses, evidence and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or for trial. While this isn't a 'capital case', you certainly face potential jail and fines, so handle it right. Effective plea-bargaining, using those defenses, could possibly reduce the potential time and other penalties you face. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a diversion program, charge reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. A little free advice that you should already know: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic suspension [or revocation] of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq.
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq. | Stephanie Lee Ehrbright
    If it is your third within 84 months then it can be charged as a Felony Aggravated DUI. The minimum sentence for a Class 4 Aggravated DUI is 4 months in Department of Corrections (prison) and then probation for several years after. Your driver's license will also be revoked.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 4/18/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    THIRD OFFENSE DUI (2 PRIORS WITHIN 10 YEARS) PROBATION: 3-to-5 Years Informal Probation JAIL: 120 days minimum mandatory jail and up to one year jail maximum may be imposed. In Orange County , the jail sentence typically averages between 180 and 270 days. COURT FINES: Minimum $390.00 fine to maximum of $1000.00 Note, however that the $390.00 minimum fine, after adding penalty assessments and miscellaneous court fees, results in a total amount due of approximately $1400.00-to-$1800.00 . DUI SCHOOL : Attendance at 18-month or 30-month Multiple Offender Program (FOP) required COURT MAY ALSO ORDER: Impound Vehicle up to 90-days if owned by defendant Ignition Interlock Device for up to 3-years INCREASED PENALTIES FOR DUI ENHANCEMENTS: Refusal/Forced Blood Mandatory additional 10-days Jail Passenger in Vehicle Under Age 14 Mandatory additional 30-days Jail Speeding = 30 mph on Freeway or = 20 mph on Street or Highway Mandatory additional 60-days Jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Alvin Lundgren | Alvin Lundgren
    You will probably be charged with a felony, and may face jail time and fines. You need legal representation to minimize the impact of the charge.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    If your 3rd DUI is within 15 years of the other 2 you are looking at a Felony charge and could spend up to 10 years in prison-( a mandatory 30 days in jail regardless of whether the court sentences you to prison) up to a $5000 fine, a mandatory 1 year suspension of your driving privileges- up to 5 years with no restricted privileges of any kind. And a requirement that you have an interlock system installed on your car after the mandatory 1 year suspension of driving privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    The third DUI will be charged as a FELONY. The penalty will range from 90 days to 12 months, with a fine of $1,000 to $2500. You will be able to use house arrest or an ankle bracelet for 88 days after you have served 2 days in custody. The remainder of the 12 months will be served on a probation period.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Howard A. Snader
    Law Office of Howard A. Snader | Howard Snader
    If convicted of the Aggravated DUI, the mandatory MINIMUM sentence is probation WITH 4 months in the Department of Corrections. If the court were to reject probation, you could receive a prison term not exceeding 3.75 years. In addition, you will have the mandatory fines, counseling and MVD restrictions.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    In Missouri for a third DUI you may now be facing a felony that may involve a four year prison sentence, $5000 fine and a loss of drivers license for 10 years. There is just no way to consider this anything but a very serious criminal charge that will have life changing effects. You had better find a very good criminal lawyer quickly to see if you can minimize the bond that may be required when the warrant is issued.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Clinton Law Office | Michael Clinton
    First you will be subject to Sanctions that will be imposed by the Department of Licensing. This is a little complicated. Here's the latest information from DOL: http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/500015.pdf This will likely result in an administrative suspension of your license unless you choose to seek a hearing before DOL. An alternative is to voluntarily install an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle and apply for an Ignition Interlock License. This will generally allow you to keep driving. There are some exceptions that your attorney can tell you about. You should anticipate serious problems in the court room. You may want to have someone who is prepared to post bail for you at your first court hearing. Judges will often order you taken into custody unless you post bail right then and there. Next the judge MUST sentence you to certain mandatory minimums if this is your third offense in 7 years. Keep in mind, the judge has the discretion to impose the maximum penalties allowed by law, even if your prior offenses occurred outside of the 7 year window. Here are the minimum and maximum penalties the judge can impose: Blood Alcohol of less than 0.15 (no refusal of BAC): Jail: Minimum 90 days. Maximum 364 days Electronic Home monitoring: 120 days after jail term served. Fine: $1070.50 minimum. $5000.00 maximum License Revocation: 3 years upon conviction of third DUI Ignition interlock: May be ordered by the court you pay for all associated expenses Probation: 5 years maximum Education / Treatment: Judge may order you into a chemical dependency evaluation; order you to complete treatment recommended for you; and you may be ordered to attend a DUI victim impact panel. Blood Alcohol greater than 0.15 (or refusal of BAC):* * Jail: Minimum 120 days. Maximum 364 days. Electronic Home monitoring: 150 days after jail term served. Fine: $2820.50 minimum. $5000.00 maximum License Revocation: 4 year revocation plus fees and high risk insurance Ignition interlock: May apply to DOL for an ignition interlock drivers license ($100.00), obtain a ignition interlock device; install this device (IID) in your personal vehicle and maintain this device in your vehicle for a minimum of one year (could be much longer). Again, you pay for all associated expenses. Probation: 5 years maximum Education / Treatment: IIRC, you will be required to participate in a chemical dependency evaluation; you will be required to complete treatment recommended for you; and you will probably be required to attend a DUI victim impact panel. These penalties are laid out on the sentencing grid used by the judge: http://www.courts.wa.gov/newsinfo/content/duigrid/DUIGrid.pdf If you hold a commercial drivers license (CDL), you may lose that license forever. http://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/cdlsusbac04.html If you hold a maritime license, very likely that license will be adversely affected.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    How do you know that your going to get picked up your 3rd? Don't do it/ use a designated driver. Depending on BAC level, you will get substantial time on your third. At least thirty days to serve.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    A third DUI requires a minimum 270 days in jail and the retaking of the 18month alcohol class to ever see your license again. Also, the IID machine goes on your vehicle. If you were still on probation at the time of the latest charge, more time will be added. The next one is a felony.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Richard W. Barton
    Richard W. Barton | Richard W. Barton, Esq.
    Its trouble. The quesiton is, what were the dates of the prior DWI, what did you get convicted of, and what were you supposed to do as a sentence on each. Usually, your first, or even second DWI will result in a program and and fine. But the prosecutors may be looking for jail, even state prison, if the prior DWI cases were recent. I would need to know more, but as you may realize, as third one can be real trouble.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Kershinik Law, PLLC
    Kershinik Law, PLLC | Patrick Kershisnik
    A third time DUI, within 10 years,is a felony. You can be sentenced to the state penitentiary for a maximum of 10 years. If the judge decides not to send you to prison you will receive a mandatory minimum of 30 days in the county jail, the first 48 hours of which must be consecutive. In addition, of that 30 day sentence, 10 of those days must be served in the jail, as opposed to work detail or other alternative sentencing. You can also be fined up to $5,000. You will also have your driver's license suspended for a mandatory minimum of 1 year, although the judge can impose up to a five year suspension. The suspension begins once you are released from jail or prison. This is an absolute suspension so you may not have any restricted driving privileges. In addition, once you can drive again, you will be required to drive with a functioning ignition interlock device.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    San Diego DUI Law Center
    San Diego DUI Law Center | Rick Mueller
    3rd offense = 120 days minimum
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law | Michael Maltby
    You are facing up to 364 days in jail and that is a real possibility. You need to get an attorney and I mean now. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
    It depends on whether you're actually charged with 3rd offense. You could be charged with 2nd offense or might be able to plead to 2nd offense. 3rd offense is a felony. You face a fine up to $2,000, up to 5 years in prison, possible seizure of your vehicle and more.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC | Christopher G Humphrey
    180 days, 30 days imposed, 150 days suspended for three years probation and Intensive supervised Probation and DUI Court usually, but not always, depends on the county.
    Answer Applies to: Wyoming
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Charles J. Block
    Law Office of Charles J. Block | Charles J. Block
    If this is truly a 3rd offense, you will go to jail for 180 days (90 of which may be served in an IDRC approved rehab center). I would consult an attorney to make sure this offense is a 3rd as there may be a way to open one of your prior offenses and have this one treated as a second for jail purposes.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    For a 3rd DUI conviction within 10 years, expect to receive: 1) A fine of at least $1000 and as much as $5000;2) At least 120 days in jail and up to 12 months in jail; 3) 30 days of community service;4) DUI risk reduction classes;5) A clinical psychological evaluation;6) Probation for 12 months minus any time actually spent in jail. See Ga. Code Section 40-6-391 subsection (c)(3).
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    With this little info, unless you get amazing legal counsel, 90 Days of Jail + long License Suspension & Probation + Fines.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Offices of Steven R. Hunter | Steven Hunter
    A number of bad things are possible, including felony charges and prison, or if a misdemeanor, then jail. Also, loss of driving privileges, possibly for life. You need an experienced DUI lawyer a.s.a.p.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    You have some real problems. If you have not had a deferred prosecution, I strongly recommend you doing one. If you are otherwise convicted, you are looking at probably a minimum of 4 months in jail; loss of license for probably 5 years, ignition interlock for at minimum 1 year, fines of $3500.00 or more, extensive drug/alcohol counseling and probably some in-patient, SR22 insurance for your car.. if you are even eligible. You are in a world of hurt. You need to hire an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    Jail most likely. There are minimum mandatory jail sentences, fines, and license suspensions. Best advice is to immediately hire a qualified attorney to represent you and negotiate the outcome of the case for you.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    You are going to spend a considerable amount of time in jail if you are convicted or plead guilty to a third DUI. You should expect to be in jail anywhere from 120 to 180 days. You should expect to say goodbye to your license for the next three years. The fines will be astronomical. Now you have two choices: (1) retain an attorney and fight the case (see website on how to locate the right attorney); or (2) admit that you have a serious alcohol and judgement problem, check yourself into rehab, and put your life back together after you serve your time in jail. You should be grateful that no one has died in the process.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    3rd DUI means: depends on jurisdiction, but most judges will be looking at 6-12 months in jail or work release etc. DMV can revoke your license for life, but usually they will give you some form of license after a year with an interlock if high numbers or accident, it aggravates the situation if priors are recent, worse if children in car, worse do not lie to police or court, but you do not have to admit to anything either.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP | Richard L. McBreen III
    If it's your third DUII charge within ten years, it will be charged as a felony. That means that this charge is extremely important to defend due to the harsh penalties that will come along with being labeled a felon for the rest of your life. Contact an attorney immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    It's a felony on your 3rd DWI. Possible 2-10 years in prison and a $10k fine.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    If you are convicted of it, the minimum is 120 days in jail, 18 month alcohol program, and a 3 year license suspension. Contact a DUI specialist to explore alternatives to pleading guilty.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    If convicted, fine, jail and a long license suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    You need counsel ASAP, as you cannot possibly be helped by a thumbnail sketch of how much trouble you are in.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 5/30/2013
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    Probably being charged with a felony DUI.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    You will have to do mandatory jail time if you are convicted for a 3rd OWI depending on the circumstances of your present case. Other factors include how far apart timewise are the 3 incidents of DUI, your BAC level at the time of arrest, did you successfully complete prior treatment. There are other factors but but that would only surface with detailed lreview of the police report and any field sobriety tests that were adminstered.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    David A Coughlin Attorney At Law | David A Coughlin
    Getting charged and getting convicted at trial are two very different things. You need to consult a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Offices of Sharp and Driver | Matt Sharp
    You will be charged with felony dwi.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    A third DUI is a felony with a fine of $500-$5,000 and eithr one of the following 1-5 years in prison or probation with30 days to 1 year in jail and 60-180 days of community service. You need a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    The Colorado law requires a person convicted of a third DUI to lose their license for two years (might be able to get some driving privileges after 1 year) and to spend some jail time in addition to the probation, alcohol programs, community service work, etc. that one would expect. The jail time can be served as work release if the court allows it, and possibly other forms after the first 60 days, but that is up to the individual judges and they impose different sentences depending on their views of the case.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Aaron M. Goldsmith, PC | Aaron M. Goldsmith
    You may likely face jail time, depending upon how old the prior convictions are. You need to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    The best "legal" answers to your questions can best be provided once a person with legal training has the opportunity to discover everything about your case (such as what is in the police report, any video, and other factors.) The penalty for DUI gets progressively worse the more you get charged with another DUI. Consult with an attorney immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC | Matthew R. Kober
    A third DUI is a 3rd Degree Felony. There are some mandatory penalties but also some drug court alternatives in certain situations. Sentencing has wide ranges of outcomes based on prior history and length of time since last DUI.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Ivy Law Group PLLC
    Ivy Law Group PLLC | Ruth Emily Vogel
    Well, you will have three options: 1)enter into a deferred prosecution 2) take the case to trial and try to beat the charge 3)plead guilty and get sentenced. A third conviction within seven years puts you in a high mandatory sentencing range. You also need to consider the effect on your driver's license.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Craig E. Gibbs
    Law Office of Craig E. Gibbs | Craig Gibbs
    Its a felony with a mandatory one year in jail. Get a good attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Betts Legal Services
    Betts Legal Services | Shawn M. Betts
    There is a mandatory 90-day minimum sentence on a third DWI within a 10-year period in Minnesota, the first 30 days of which must be served in jail consecutively. You are also subject to a probation period anywhere from 2-6 years, fines, license suspension, and other conditions. The jail sentence could be avoided if you enter into an intensive supervision program, and many counties have DWI courts, which stress treatment and counseling as opposed to jail time. You should strongly consider having an attorney represent you.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    A third DWI within 10 years would be charged as a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $3000 fine. It is a very serious offense which can also result in significant civil penalties in addition to criminal charges. Civil penalties would include a license cancellation of one year or more, license plate impoundments and vehicle forfeitures. For the license revocation and plate impoundments you must act swiftly. You have thirty days from the Notice to file a Petition for Judical review.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    A third offense is a felony. You better hire an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Tim Paynter, Attorney at Law
    Tim Paynter, Attorney at Law | Tim Paynter
    Being charged with a DUI and being found guilty of a DUI is two different things. You need expert legal assistance in order to investigate your best defenses. Aside from this, if you have been charged three times with three DUI's then you likely have a serious problem which only you can address. The best legal expert won't be able to do much for you on that score except prepare you to defend against the fourth DUI. There are a series of self help groups available which will help you evaluate whether you are really unlucky or whether you have a problem with Alcohol.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Offices of Elliott Zarabi
    Law Offices of Elliott Zarabi | Elliott Zarabi
    Minium mandatory 120 days in county jail, (if you are lucky) plus the 18 month alcohol program and mandatory license suspension. You should definitely look into hiring an attorney to handle this matter for you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    If convicted, you will have some serious jail time. A loss of CDL. You need to talk to an attorney. You need an alcohol program.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Jones Jones & Mosley PA
    Jones Jones & Mosley PA | Bernard Jones
    You should contact a lawyer directly immediately. For any second or subsequent conviction of any person under this section, the person shall also be subject to the penalties set forth in Section 63-11-31. (c) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3), for any third or subsequent conviction of any person violating subsection (1) of this section, the offenses being committed within a period of five (5) years, such person shall be guilty of a felony and fined not less than Two Thousand Dollars ($ 2,000.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($ 5,000.00), shall serve not less than one (1) year nor more than five (5) years in the custody of the Department of Corrections; provided, however, that for any such offense which does not result in serious injury or death to any person, any sentence of incarceration may be served in the county jail rather than in the State Penitentiary at the discretion of the circuit court judge. The minimum penalties shall not be suspended or reduced by the court and no prosecutor shall offer any suspension or sentence reduction as part of a plea bargain. The law enforcement agency shall seize the vehicle operated by any person charged with a third or subsequent violation of subsection (1) of this section, if such convicted person was driving the vehicle at the time the offense was committed. Such vehicle may be forfeited in the manner provided by Sections 63-11-49 through 63-11-53. Except as may otherwise be provided by paragraph (e) of this subsection, the Commissioner of Public Safety shall suspend the driver's license of such person for five (5) years. The suspension of a commercial driver's license shall be governed by Section 63-1-83.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel | Gregory M. Abel
    It could be a felony and a lifetime driving privileges revocation.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C.
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C. | Robert Valles Jr.
    You will face 2 to 10 years TDC.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    It can be charged as a felony. There is no way to predict the outcome but you will need a good lawyer who can advise you how best to handle the situation, including the possibility of getting yourself into a treatment facility.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Froelich Law Offices | Tara Adolph
    Your third OWI in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor charge. What will happen to you as far as sentencing will vary depending on who the judge is, what the circumstances were, and whether there were any enhancers.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Ipson Law Firm, PLLC
    Ipson Law Firm, PLLC | Michael Ipson
    It is going to be charged as a felony. I suggest getting a good attorney as soon as possible.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    You will likely be charged with a felony. Depending on the facts of the most recent case, it is likely that the DA will be seeking significant jail time. However, it is legally possible to avoid a prison sentence. I was able to convince a DA in a similar case that long term treatment was a better resolution to the case than incarceration. So it's definitely possible. Hire the best attorney you can afford and seek their help in minimizing the consequences of this mistake.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    It sound like from your question that you are facing a felony DUI charge. If you can afford a DUI lawyer then hire one and follow his/her recommendations. I normally suggest an alcohol evaluation and follow-up with any recommended treatment.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    A 3rd one in 7 years is a felony with a minumum of 1 year in prison.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Aaron J. Boria, PLLC | Aaron Boria
    Jail. And a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You will likely have at least 120 days to do in custody.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Ellman and Ellman PC
    Ellman and Ellman PC | Kevin Ellmann
    Unless you get good representation from an experienced DUI defense attorney, you are likely going to jail for a lengthy stretch. But I am curious, how do you know you are "going to get charged with a DUI". Most DUI cases are based upon immediate arrests and charges. Seems weird to me that you are anticipating a charge.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/17/2012
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter | Jared C. Winter
    No one can tell you how your case is going to turn out. But if convicted, the minimum amount of jail time for a 3rd DUI is 120 days. You need an experienced DUI lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/17/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!