What will happen if someone can't afford to pay a judgement against them? 2 Answers as of August 17, 2012

If someone lost a case and is required to pay, how much time do they have and what can happen if they don't? The amount is about $4,000 and my mom only has a part time job and a six month old daughter.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Frank Law Group, P.C.
Frank Law Group, P.C. | David E. Frank
Judgments last for 10 years and can be renewed for another ten years. Interest runs on the judgment amount at the rate of 10% per annum. If your mother has little to no assets and her credit is poor, her best bet is to file ch. 7 BK and that will eliminate (discharge) the judgment. The judgment creditor can garnish up to 20% of her gross wages, and can file liens against any real estate and personal property assets. She may wish to see if the judgment creditor will accept payments over time, or if she can manage it, offer to pay a discounted amount as payment in full. If a deal is worked out, she will want to make sure the creditor files a Full Acknowledgment of Satisfaction of Judgment.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/17/2012
The Law Offices of Charles Pernice | Chas Pernice
A judgment lasts 10 years in CA and can be renewed for another 10 years. The person who holds the judgment can garnishee up to 25% of disposable wages and can also record a lien on real property so that you must pay the judgment if you try to sell the property.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/17/2012
Click to View More Answers: