What will happen if I have first offense petty theft and I paid the store and wrote apology letter? 5 Answers as of February 07, 2014

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
If you have not been to court, get a lawyer and have the charge dismissed. We do this for our clients.
Answer Applies to: Nebraska
Replied: 2/7/2014
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Don't confuse the civil case between you and the store with the criminal case in court between you and the state. Writing the letter of apology only made you look even more guilty.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/6/2014
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
It will be up to the store on whether or not they want to pursue criminal charges.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/6/2014
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
You can still be charged criminally. Maximum penalty: 1 year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 2/6/2014
Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
You could still receive a summons to go to court for your arraignment on the charge.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 2/6/2014
Click to View More Answers: