What will happen if I got caught stealing $234 of merchandise from a store? 8 Answers as of March 03, 2014

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Besides jail or a fine and probation?? You will get a criminal conviction for theft on your record.? This record is public and FOREVER. Try to get a job then.? What employer wants to hire a thief? You should plead NOT guilty and get a lawyer, That person may be able to work out a deal where you end up with no conviction on your record.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 3/3/2014
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Petty theft is a crime of moral turpitude, and if convicted you can kiss your career aspirations goodbye. Hire a lawyer before you get duped into a plea you will regret for life.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/3/2014
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
You could be convicted of theft, have a criminal record, be sentenced up to a year in jail and pay a $5,000.00 fine. Ultimately what happens as far as the fine or jail time, is up to the judge. If your worried about what happens to you, how about not stealing in the first place!!! ... or be willing to accept the consequences that come with the decisions you choose to make.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 3/3/2014
Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
Shoplifting items of a value of less than $950.00 is petty theft. The first three times a person is convicted of petty theft it is a misdemeanor. However, if the amount stolen is worth $50.00 or less it may be charged as an infraction. If you have three or more priors for petty theft, the next one can be a felony or a misdemeanor. Infractions are punished by a fine. Misdemeanors are punished by up to one year in the county jail and/or up to a $1,000.00 fine. Felonies are punished by sixteen months, two years, or three years in state prison. The normal punishment for first time petty theft is three years summary probation, a fine, community service, theft classes, and restitution to the victim.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/3/2014
Law Office of James E. Smith
Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
Probation and diversion.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 3/3/2014
    Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
    You will be charged with Theft 3. In Washington, this is a gross misdemeanor with a sentence range of 364 days in jail and $5,000 fine. If this is your first offence, you likely will be sentenced to attend a consumer awareness class, do community service, pay a fine, stay away from the store, have no further criminal violations, and be on probation for a year. You will also have to pay a civil fine to the store.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 3/3/2014
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    You go to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/3/2014
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    Normally you face having a conviction on your record and all that burdens that go with it.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 3/3/2014
Click to View More Answers: