What is the typical punishment for VC 14610.5(a)(1) if done for first time? 6 Answers as of July 12, 2011

What is the typical punishment to expect for infraction and misdemeanor?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Rodney Nosratabadi
Law Office of Rodney Nosratabadi | Rodney Nosratabadi
10 days in Jail and a fine of $500 is the mandatory minimum and 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine is the maximum exposure. However jail may be avoided and other alternative to jail may be considered with the help of a good attorney.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/12/2011
Grant & Grant
Grant & Grant | Richard L. Grant, Esq.
Infraction will result in a fine, no probation or jail. Misdemeanor- maximum sentence is 6 months in county jail and $1000 fine plus Court Penalty Assessments.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/11/2011
Attorney at Law
Attorney at Law | Michael J. Kennedy
Strange, we just had that question!/? Infraction or misdemeanor, DA discretion. If infraction, $100 fine plus PAs =$400-$500; if misdemenor, can be up to six months.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/8/2011
Nelson & Lawless
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
There is no typical. No attorney can predict the outcome, nor even give an intelligent opinion, without reviewing and knowing all the charges, evidence, reports, testimony, priors history, etc. Any plea bargain terms are up to the DA and judge to work out with defendants attorney, based upon all those issues. It could range from dismissal to jail time. If tried and convicted, the sentence will be whatever called for in the statute. Misdemeanors carry from 6-12 months in jail.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/8/2011
Law Offices of Sheryl S. Graf
Law Offices of Sheryl S. Graf | Sheryl S. Graf
While the maximum punishment for a crime is set by state law, the typical punishment depends on the particular facts of your case and varies from county to county, courthouse to courthouse, and sometimes from judge to judge. You need to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who handles cases in the same courthouse as your matter for specific advice. The information presented here is general in nature and should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    VC 14601.5 is usually charged as a misdemeanor. The typical punishment is around $300 which, with penalty assessments, will bring you to over $1200, not to mention a misdemeanor criminal record.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/7/2011
Click to View More Answers: