What is the statute of limitations for theft? 37 Answers as of June 14, 2011

What is that statute of limitations on a stolen laptop?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Clifford Clendenin & O'Hale, LLP
Clifford Clendenin & O'Hale, LLP | Locke T. Clifford
There is no statute of limitations on a felony charge, which this may be, depending on the facts. The statute of limitations on a misdemeanor is two years.
Answer Applies to: North Carolina
Replied: 6/14/2011
Law Offices of John Carney
Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
The prosecutor must be ready for trial within 6 months on a felony charge. The time begins when you are arraigned on the charges and can be tolled or stopped for various reasons such as your lawyers motions, investigations, plea bargaining, and witness who are unavailable. Section 30.30 controls a speedy trial and the case can be dismissed if the DA does not bring it to trial within the designated period. If you are not charges for 5 or more years after a crime is committed the DA may be prohibited from prosecuting you since the statute of limitations has run on the case. There is no statute of limitations on murder.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 5/24/2011
Law Office of Joseph A. Katz
Law Office of Joseph A. Katz | Joseph A. Katz
The statute of limitations is generally three years in California for a felony and one year if the case is filed as a misdeameanor, from the date the offense was committed (with certain exceptions - the statute can be tolled, or suspended,if you flee the jurisdiction, for example.) Theft, even Grand Theft (PC 487) is a wobbler, and can be filed as either a felony or a misdemeanor.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 5/1/2011
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
The statute of limitations is six years. MCL 767.24.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 4/28/2011
Lisa Mulligan Law Offices, LLC
Lisa Mulligan Law Offices, LLC | Lisa Mulligan
Usually it is 3 years after the commission of the crime - the only exception is if the victim was a tax exempt entity (in which case the statute of limitations is 3 yrs from the time that the theft was discovered). Hope that helps!
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 4/27/2011
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    It all depends on the value and the state.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 4/27/2011
    Law Office of Jonathan T. Sarre
    Law Office of Jonathan T. Sarre | Jonathan T. Sarre
    In Oregon where I practice, the statute of limitations for theft is 2 years if the theft charge is a misdemeanor and 3 years if the charge is a felony. in general, the value of the property makes the charge a felony or misdemeanor. In Oregon, if your lap top was worth more than $1000, the charge would be a Theft in the First Degree, a Class C Felony, less that $1000, it would be Theft in Second Degree, a Class A misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 4/27/2011
    Michael Anthony Wing, P.C.
    Michael Anthony Wing, P.C. | Michael Anthony Wing
    Depending on factors, one year. Stay well.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    William C. Gosnell, Attorney at Law
    William C. Gosnell, Attorney at Law | William C. Gosnell
    The Statute of Limitations has one year for under 500.00 2 years for under 1000.00
    Answer Applies to: Tennessee
    Replied: 4/27/2011
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    This depends on whether the case is charged as a felony or misdemeanor. If charged with a misdemeanor theft, the statute of limitations is 18 months, in Illinois. More likely, the matter will be handled as a felony, and the statute of limitations in this is the case, is 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/27/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    In Alabama, three years.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 4/27/2011
    LynchLaw
    LynchLaw | Michael Thomas Lynch
    It would depend on the factors. For instance if the laptop was stolen in a burglary your friend might be looking at a felony. It also depends on the value of the item taken. If the laptop is worth more than $1,000 it could be charged as a felony. The statute of limitations on a misdemeanor is one year. A felony has different limitation periods, but for a theft of a $1,000 laptop the statute would be three years.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/27/2011
    Law Office of Cotter C. Conway
    Law Office of Cotter C. Conway | Cotter C. Conway
    A criminal action for felony theft (value of $250 or more) must commence within four years after the commission of the offense or after the discovery of the offense. A criminal action for misdemeanor theft (value of under $250) must commence within one year after the commission of the offense or after the discovery of the offense.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    The statute of limitations for theft is five years.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Harris Law Firm
    Harris Law Firm | Jennifer C. Robins
    The statute of limitations depends on whether the alleged theft is a felony or misdemeanor. That is determined by the value of the property allegedly taken. The statute of limitations for a felony is generally three years, and for a misdemeanor, it is two years. There are certain circumstances that may toll the statute of limitations, however; so if there are any concerns, an attorney should be consulted.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    Three years from the date of the offense. Of course, if one is absent from the state or out on a bench or arrest warrant, the SOL is tolled; i.e. on hold.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    A year for a misdemeanor, three years or more for a felony. Value of the item determines. A laptop value could make it a felony.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    The statute of limitations on an criminal offense refers to the time period between when the offense occurred and when it is charged. The length of that limitation period depends on the level of the offense. A theft may be a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or a felony. Any theft over $1000 is considered a felony where the applicable statute of limitations is six (6) years.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Law Office of Michael E. Hendrickson
    Law Office of Michael E. Hendrickson | Michael E. Hendrickson
    If the theft occurred in Virginia and the laptop was worth more than $200 at the time, then it could be prosecuted as a felony which in the Commonwealth has no statute of limitations.]
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    I hesitate to answer such a question without knowing all the facts, including the possibility that something might have occurred which tolled the statute from running. Therefore, I would simply recommend that you retain a criminal lawyer in your community to discuss all your rights and options. Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Law Office of Andrew Subin
    Law Office of Andrew Subin | Andrew Subin
    3 years. Please feel free to contact me with additional questions.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
    Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
    I would need further information as to the exact charge because there are different types and different degrees of theft depending on whether there was any violence in stealing the laptop and upon the value of the laptop, but generally the statute of limitations is at least a year or more for misdemeanors and longer if the charge is at the felony level.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    It depends on the value of the items stolen. LEss than $ 500 is a two year statute of limitations. Over $ 500 is a four year statue of limitations. However, when the time starts to run on the statute of limitations is also controlled by a number of complex factors, like when the theft is first discovered.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
    I recommend you consult with a local attorney to more specifically look into your matter and advice you properly on your legal matter, whether or not you have been charged.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    Three years for a felony, one year for a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    Sol theft depends on amount, can be 1 year or 3 yrs. If laptop is old its value should be resale value and that will determine statute of limitations.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 4/26/2011
    Law Offices of Scott G. Hilderman
    Law Offices of Scott G. Hilderman | Scott G. Hilderman
    Depends of what jurisdiction you are in which state or federal.
    Answer Applies to: Montana
    Replied: 4/25/2011
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C.
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C. | Theodore W. Robinson
    The statute of limitations is different for different amouts of theft. If its under $1000. of value, then its a Misdemeanor and the statute is 2 years from the date of the theft. If it's over $1000. then it's likely a felony and that carries a 5 year statute. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/25/2011
    The Law Offices of Dustan Neyland
    The Law Offices of Dustan Neyland | Dustan Neyland
    If the value is under $1500 then the statute of limitations is 2 years. If the value is over $1500 then the statute of limitations is 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 4/25/2011
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    For most crimes it is 3 years. For a misdemeanor it is one year.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/25/2011
    Law Office of Geoffrey M. Yaryan
    Law Office of Geoffrey M. Yaryan | Geoffrey M. Yaryan
    Depends upon whether it is a misdemeanor or felony.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/25/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    The 'statute of limitations' is the time period that the state has to file criminal charges in a case. The length of time from the event to the filing of charges varies depending on whether the charges are a felony or a misdemeanor. It can also be 'tolled' or 'put on hold' if a person is out of the state or other factors.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/25/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    The Statute of Limitations is Six years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/25/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney