What is the statute of limitations for stealing? 32 Answers as of July 11, 2013

If I stole from my company 2 years ago about $15,000. What is the statute of limitations? My old boss is constantly threatening to put me in jail and has come to my home and stolen my pets and harasses me.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
3 years from the time of discovery of the crime.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 9/19/2011
Law Offices of Scott Tibbedeaux
Law Offices of Scott Tibbedeaux | Scott Tibbedeaux
The statute of limitations is 4 years from discovery or completion of the offense, whichever is later for felony theft under the California Penal Code.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/13/2011
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. | Carlos Gonzalez
That would be Five years.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/4/2013
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
I would need to know exactly what the charges are since there are different statutes of limitations for different offenses. Since no criminal charges are filed yet that you know of, until charges are filed I can not tell if it is too late to file them. Also you may or may not want to file charges for the theft of your pets.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/5/2011
Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
Three years from the date of discovery.
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 7/4/2013
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    The statute of limitations for most felonies is six years and is governed by RCW 9A.04.080.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Law Office of Andrew Subin
    Law Office of Andrew Subin | Andrew Subin
    3 years from the day they discovered the theft.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/11/2013
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Depending upon the criminal charges, the statute of limitations could be from one to seven years. If he hasn't filed charges yet, he may not ever. If he does, you should hire a counsel to help you in this. As to him breaking the law, you could file a police report of his crimes if you have any proof. You would risk kicking a sleeping dog and antagonizing him into filing charges against you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    That would depend on whether you have been charged or not. If you have not been charged, the Statute of Limitations (SOL) for felony theft is three years from the date of the theft. However, if you have been charged and you have failed to appear or have left the state, the SOL is "tolled" or put on hold. In that case, the SOL would start to run from your first court appearance. If three years have passed, you can check your own record on line at the Washington State Patrol's web site. IF there's no indication you have been charged, you might want to call the cops on your old boss for stalking and harassment among other things.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky | Michael Brodsky
    The answer to this question is a bit complicated. Because the amount is greater than $750.00, it would be considered a Theft in the First Degree, a class C Felony with a 3 year Statute of Limitations. If the theft is considered to have been "accomplished by color or aid of deception" then the SoL becomes 6 years. In any event once the case is charge is filed, then the statute "tolls" meaning it will not expire while a person is charged but can't be found or is unavailable for some other reason. However, that does not give your former employer the right to engage in "self-help" by stealing your pets or otherwise harassing you. You need a good lawyer!
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC | Lacy Fields
    At least 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 7/11/2013
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    Kansas statute of limitations for charging a criminal offense is 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    For a Colorado, criminal theft action, 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    The statute of limitations on a felony in New York State is 5 years. That is to prevent stale evidence from being used to convict a person of a crime and because it is difficult to produce an alibi or defend a case that occurred many years in the past. Since your summary says you are being accused of stealing $15,000 from your company 2 years ago but have not been arrested, the police have 3 more years to charge you or indict you for the crime. Do not talk to your employer or the police about the matter, retain an attorney to deal with their questions.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Harris Law Firm
    Harris Law Firm | Jennifer C. Robins
    In Oregon, the conduct you described most likely would be charged as a felony crime, based upon the amount of money taken. The general statute of limitations for a felony is three years, two years for a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Allan & Summary
    Allan & Summary | Justin Summary
    In Missouri there is a 3 year statute of limitations on felony stealing charges.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    The statute of limitations is for three (3) years for theft of property in the first degree.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Pontrello Law
    Pontrello Law | William Pontrello
    That would be 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/11/2013
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    The SOL depends on the level of offense, but a theft involving $15,000 would be 6 years from the date it was discovered.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    The statute of limitations is 6 years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Harrison & Harrison
    Harrison & Harrison | Samuel Harrison
    A $1500 theft would be a felony. Statute of limitations is4 years.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    For him to sue you in a civil court and recover a judgment against you it is six years. For criminal prosecution for Grand Larceny in the Second Degree (more than $1,000.00) the time limit is five years.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    Most felony charges can be filed three or more years after the event - with the time period being 'tolled' in some circumstances.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    3 years is the statute of limitations for most felonies like theft crimes.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
    The statute of limitations for felony theft is 3 years. What you likely would be charged with is embezzlement and the statute of limitations is 3 years from the date that your employer "knew or should have known. However, your employer cannot legally steal your pets or anything of yours as that is also against the law. You should have met with a criminal defense law firm a long time ago to help you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    6 years is the statute of limitations in this kind of matter and yes they can charge you still. If the boss keeps doing crimes himself he lowers the chances that he will have you charged since he is committing crimes himself.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    The statute of limitations for felony theft is 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    That would be Six years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/11/2013
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    The minimum period for a felony is six years.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    If you boss has stolen anything from you, then you should file charges against him. As for the statute of limitations, they would have six years from the time the offense occured.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/1/2011
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    That would be 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/11/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney