What is the Statute of Limitation on a personal injury accident? 21 Answers as of June 16, 2015

If I had a car accident in 2013, is it possible to be sue in 2015?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Ofices of Edwin K. Niles | Edwin K. Niles
Two years from date of incident.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/16/2015
Gregory M Janks, PC
Gregory M Janks, PC | Gregory M Janks
In MI, the general personal injury statute of limitations is 3 years. If you are sued for personal injury, you would want to turn the suit papers over to your vehicle insurer as they would handle your defense and pay for your lawyer (that they chose).
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/16/2015
Robinette Legal Group, PLLC
Robinette Legal Group, PLLC | Jeffery Robinette
You have two years from the date of the collision to file a lawsuit. Keep in mind that the closer you get to the statute of limitations deadline, the more difficult it will be to find an attorney to represent you. Do not delay in setting up a free consultation with an experienced, board certified trial attorney whose specialty is car accident law.
Answer Applies to: West Virginia
Replied: 6/16/2015
Stephens Gourley & Bywater | David A. Stephens
In Nevada it is two years from the date of the accident.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 6/15/2015
Law Offices of Ronald A. Steinberg & Associates | Ronald A. Steinberg, BA, MA, JD
In Michigan, it is 3 years.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/15/2015
    Bulman Law Associates PLLC Injury Law Firm
    Bulman Law Associates PLLC Injury Law Firm | Thomas Bulman
    The Statute of Limitation for a personal injury in Montana is 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Montana
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    End, Hierseman & Crain, LLC | J. Michael End
    The statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Wisconsin is three years.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Law Offices of George H. Shers | George H. Shers
    In California, the statute of limitations to sue for persona injuries is within 2 years of the accident [so if occurred 1/1/13, lawsuit must be filed by 1/1/15] and three years for property damage.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Andrew T. Velonis, P.C.
    Andrew T. Velonis, P.C. | Andrew Velonis
    In NY, it's 3 years, for most accidents, one year plus 90 days if it is a municipal corporation or authority, two and a half years for medical malpractice, and one year for intentional injuries. Call a lawyer in your area to find out more.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Law Offices of Robert Burns
    Law Offices of Robert Burns | Robert Burns
    Yes, but you negligently omitted to specify which part of 2013 or whether a public entity is involved. The statute of limitations requires a formal claim to be filed with a target public entity within 6 months of the incident and a lawsuit to be filed against any other party within 2 years. You cannot lawfully sue for most "accidents" because they don't involve wrongful conduct except for strict liability for ultra hazardous activities.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Chalat Hatten Koupal & Banker PC
    Chalat Hatten Koupal & Banker PC | Linda Chalat
    If the accident was a motor vehicle accident in Colorado then there is a three statute of limitations period.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Ty Wilson Law | Ty Wilson
    The Statute of limitations is typically 2 years from the date of the wreck, however the statute can be tolled if there are criminal charges pending (i.e. a traffic citation). Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Barry Rabovsky & Associates
    Barry Rabovsky & Associates | Barry Rabovsky
    You would have two years from the date of accident to file suit for a personal injury case in Illinois. Your question depends on when in 2013 the accident happened. There are also various exceptions to the two-year rule. You should consult with an attorney immediately to see whether you still have time.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Sarrail, Castillo & Hall, LLP | Monica Castillo
    In California, the statute of limitations for a personal injury action is 2 years from the date of injury. There are some nuances, such as for minors and the date of discovery.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/15/2015
    Ferguson & Ferguson
    Ferguson & Ferguson | Randy W. Ferguson
    Alabama is 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 6/15/2015
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney