What's the statue of limitations on felony drug charge? 11 Answers as of March 13, 2013

Marijuana was found I was a passenger and I didn't have anything in my possession but I'm getting charged an I also didn't know it was around me.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
You want to get an attorney if you get charged with this matter. The Statute in Michigan is 6 years.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 3/13/2013
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq.
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq. | John J. Carney
The statute of limitations in New York is 5 years. If the drugs were not on you your lawyer will be able to get it dismissed or win the trial in most cases.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/8/2013
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
Does not sound like a time to prosecute problem as that is usually years.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/6/2013
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Statue Of Limitations is four years.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 3/5/2013
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
They have to show more then you in car. Get a lawyer and fight the charge.
Answer Applies to: Nebraska
Replied: 3/5/2013
    William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
    In federal court the statute of limitations is five years, but in Maryland courts there is no statute of limitations for an offense that a person might have to serve time in the penitentiary. Generally that is offenses which carry more than a year in jail. All felony drug offenses in Maryland carry sentences greater than a year in jail. An attorney can assist you with evaluating the prosecution's case, any defenses that you might have, and any plea offer that might be made, so that you can decide whether to plea bargain or go to trial.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 3/5/2013
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    Generally 3 years from the time of offense.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 3/5/2013
    Law Office of Geoffrey M. Yaryan
    Law Office of Geoffrey M. Yaryan | Geoffrey M. Yaryan
    In California it is generally three years
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/5/2013
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    They would have six years from the date of the offense to bring charges.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/5/2013
    Richards & Godfrey, P.C. | Ted Godfrey
    Depends on the degree
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 3/5/2013
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    Engage a criminal defense attorney and make your defense.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/5/2013
Click to View More Answers: