What is the statue of limitations of sexual assault? 9 Answers as of February 13, 2013

Is obtaining a lifelong STD considered sexual assault?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Rizio & Nelson
Rizio & Nelson | John W. Bussman
3 years, with some exceptions. Knowingly transmitting an STD can be a crime. Talk to the local police or the DA in your county.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/13/2013
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
It depends.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 2/13/2013
Furlong & Drewniak PLLC
Furlong & Drewniak PLLC | Thaddeus Furlong, Esq.
There is no end for felonies. So assuming felony sexual assault, you can be charged any time.
Answer Applies to: Virginia
Replied: 2/13/2013
Timothy J. Thill P.C.
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
There is no statute of limitations for sexual assault cases, however, contracting a Sexually Transmitted Disease is not considered sexual assault, if the sex was consensual, between two consenting adults.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 2/13/2013
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
If the person knows that they have the disease and does not tell their partner, then that is a crime in most States.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/13/2013
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    There is no blanket Statute of Limitations for sexual assault in Michigan; it just depends on which circumstance you fall into. If the victim was under age 18 for any degree of sexual conduct or assault with intent to commit sexual conduct or any sexually abusive activity or material to minor the SOL is 10 years or when the victim turns 21 yrs. old, whichever is later. If DNA evidence is obtained, then there is no SOL until the offender is identified, then it?s 10 years after identification or when the victim turns 21, whichever is later.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/13/2013
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    SOL on sexual assault is at least 10 years, but may be much longer. Giving someone an STD is not criminal sexual assault. It may be a civil case. It could be a criminal assault (non-sex), but I think that is a stretch. But, the question is what you did to make sure you were safe. And, did the other person know they had an STD.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/13/2013
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    No, if the contact resulting in the transmission of the disease was voluntary.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/13/2013
    Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
    Not likely if you consented, but failed to have protected sex.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 2/13/2013
Click to View More Answers: