What is the statue of limitations for filing personal injury? 32 Answers as of July 12, 2013

What is the statue of limitations for filing civil charges against someone that has been charged with assault with a deadly weapon inflicting serious injury causing disabling injuries?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Allen Murphy Law
Allen Murphy Law | W. Riley Allen
4 years generally would be the answer.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 5/31/2011
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
In California, 2 years after the injury.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 5/27/2011
Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A.
Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A. | Paul L. Whitfield
3 years.
Answer Applies to: North Carolina
Replied: 6/10/2013
Bloom Gates Sigler & Whiteleather, LLP
Bloom Gates Sigler & Whiteleather, LLP | Matthew Shipman
It depends on what state you live in and also whether you are talking about filing a civil action or a criminal action. Contact an attorney in your area and they can give you more information.
Answer Applies to: Indiana
Replied: 5/27/2011
LT Pepper Law
LT Pepper Law | Luke T. Pepper
2 years.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Replied: 6/10/2013
    Allegretti & Associates
    Allegretti & Associates | James L. Allegretti
    Usually 2 years. Up to 10 years after completion of sentence if the crime is a class x felony. As short as 1 year for a dram shop claim. It may be extended if the injured party is under a legal disability.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Law Office of Travis Prestwich, PC
    Law Office of Travis Prestwich, PC | Travis Prestwich
    The typical statute of limitations in Oregon is two years for filing an injury claim. Some cases, frequently cases involving intentional harm, have a one year statute of limitations. You should speak to an attorney as soon as possible to find out in which category your case falls.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Rose, Senders & Bovarnick, LLC
    Rose, Senders & Bovarnick, LLC | Paul S. Bovarnick
    In Oregon, 2 years. In Washington, the statute of limitations for an intentional tort is 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Ewusiak & Roberts, P.A.
    Ewusiak & Roberts, P.A. | Christopher J. Roberts
    Unfortunately, I cannot answer this question because I don't know your jurisdiction. Most states have somewhere between a one year and a four year statute of limitations on claims such as the one you've described. Florida has a four year statute of limitations on most injury claims, although if the injury causes death you have only two years. You should talk a lawyer in your area right away to be sure you are familiar with any deadlines that may apply to your situation.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 2/21/2012
    Patrick M Lamar Attorney
    Patrick M Lamar Attorney | Patrick M Lamar
    Normally the negligence statute of limitations is two years from the event. You can argue in Alabama it is actually six years for intentional conduct, but I would stick with two to be safe.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Barry Rabovsky & Associates
    Barry Rabovsky & Associates | Barry Rabovsky
    You may have a case, based upon the information that you have supplied.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/12/2013
    Ramunno & Ramunno, P.A.
    Ramunno & Ramunno, P.A. | Lawrence A. Ramunno
    I assume you want to sue the person for compensation. Each State has different Statute of Limitation, but generally, it is 2 years. There are a lot of other issues. You should discuss the case with a lawyer who handles these types of cases in the State where the incident happened.
    Answer Applies to: Delaware
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    David B. Sacks, P.A.
    David B. Sacks, P.A. | David Sacks
    Four years from the date of the attack.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Kelaher Law Offices, P.A.
    Kelaher Law Offices, P.A. | James P Kelaher
    In Florida, the statute of limitations for intentional torts, which includes assault & battery, is 4 years.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    The time limit for filing a suit against someone can depend on exactly what claim you make, but some assault type claims must be filed within one, or sometimes two, years.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C.
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C. | Theodore W. Robinson
    If it is in NY state, it is likely one year from the date of the incident. That's if it is considered a purposeful assault, rather than a negligent assault, which is then 3 years. Other states may be different so make sure to check with an attorney in the state in which it happened. Or ask a personal injury lawyer in your state if you don't live in NY. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Law Offices of Joseph I. Lipsky, P.A.
    Law Offices of Joseph I. Lipsky, P.A. | Joseph Lipsky
    Assuming you are referring to suing someone civilly for damages caused by an intentional act, like battery, then the statute of limitations is 4 years, which is the same statute of limitations that applies to negligence and personal injury cases.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Ron Graham Attorney at Law
    Ron Graham Attorney at Law | Ron Graham
    Two years from the time of the injury.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 5/26/2011
    Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo
    Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo | Mark Leonardo
    Two years is the answer for the claims you identified: Code of Civil Procedure section 335.1. Within two years: An action for assault, battery, or injury to, or for the death of, an individual caused by the wrongful act or neglect of another.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 5/25/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Three years from the date of the act.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/25/2011
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP | Christine Gonilla
    2 years but you should consult with counsel.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 5/25/2011
    Shulman DuBois LLC
    Shulman DuBois LLC | Joshua Shulman
    The general statute of limitations for a personal injury that happened in Oregon is 2 years. BUT - statutes of limitation are notoriously slippery. There are books about them, because the individual details can matter a lot. Without knowing the details of your case, I cannot know that 2 years is correct for your situation. So don't count on it being 2 years! It probably is, but it may well not be. Deadlines can be as little as 180 days in some situations.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 5/25/2011
    David F. Stoddard
    David F. Stoddard | David F. Stoddard
    That would be Three(3) years.
    Answer Applies to: South Carolina
    Replied: 7/12/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney