What is the quickest way to file for divorce (no children, property, or money involved) if both are ready to end it? 25 Answers as of February 13, 2013

My fiancé was married many years ago and needs a divorce ASAP. They were never in a real relationship and have been separated for over 10 years. It was more of a citizenship thing he did to help her .The problem is we are getting married this MAY!! We have reached out to her and she is ready to sign off we just need help on what to do and the fastest way to do it. PLEASE HELP.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Edward Papa, Esq.
Edward Papa, Esq. | Edward Papa
There are many attorneys who would be willing to draft the divorce papers for your fiance. It is important that he get it filed now because, depending on where you file, it can take several months from start to finish, even if uncontested. You are running out of time and may have to delay the wedding if you don't get started now.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 2/13/2013
Grace Law Offices of John F Geraghty Jr.
Grace Law Offices of John F Geraghty Jr. | John F. Geraghty, Jr.
public legal forms online
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 2/13/2013
Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A.
Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A. | Joanna Mitchell
You can have them both sign a marital settlement agreement and then do an uncontested divorce. If all parties cooperate and there are no children, then it can usually be done in about two months, and there is no waiting period in Florida to remarry. You should consult with an attorney in order to get everything done properly.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 2/13/2013
WARM SPRINGS LAW GROUP | Elliott D. Yug
In Nevada they would file a Joint Petition for Divorce.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 2/13/2013
Keenan & Austin, P.C.
Keenan & Austin, P.C. | John J. Keenan
If you plan to get married in May, your fiance needs to file for divorce immediately. With no children, the soonest he can get divorced is 60 days and that's if everything goes according to plan and he is able to serve his wife. Please have him see an attorney immediately. Best of luck to you.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/13/2013
    Law Offices of Arlene D. Kock
    Law Offices of Arlene D. Kock | Arlene D. Kock
    You cannot be returned to the status of a single person until 6 months after the divorce petition is served on the other party. You will need postpone you marriage based on this legal requirement.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2013
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    It takes a minimum of 60 days in Michigan, call my offices today or postpone the wedding.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/13/2013
    Reade & Associates
    Reade & Associates | R. Christopher Reade
    In Nevada, if you have an uncontested divorce without children or community property (and both parties agree on all points), the Divorce can be processed in a matter of weeks and would not jeopardize your May wedding.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    The Law Offices of Tres A. Porter | Tres A. Porter
    Unfortunately, CA requires a six month and one day period from service of the petition for dissolution before a dissolution can be granted. You may want to discuss with a family law attorney in your area to discuss possibly having the marriage annulled, but that requires some specific facts that are not indicated here.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    S. Joseph Schramm | Joseph Schramm
    Probably the fastest way you could obtain the divorce would be to file a no-fault complaint for divorce under ?3301( c ) or ( d ) of the Pennsylvania Divorce Code. Sectoin 3301( c ) would be a little faster if the wife were willing to execute the consents for divorce. Section 3301( d ) would be used if the wife refused to sign the consent for a divorce. You should retain the services of counsel to do this because there are a number of procedural steps to take under either case and people who try to do it by themselves ( i . e . "pro se ") often make mistakes trying to comply with the required procedures.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Woods, May & Matlock, PC
    Woods, May & Matlock, PC | Robert J. Matlock
    It would be wise to hire a lawyer because Texas law provides that whatever assets have been acquired during the 10 years of separation are community property. Further, the divorce decree must award each of those assets to one of the parties or, if that is not done, the parties continue to jointly own them even after the divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    Uncontested divorce, and a waiver for the re-marriage. This is cheap and easy, one lawyer drafts it and the orders, schedules it, secures all the signatures, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    John Russo | John Russo
    Depends on your jurisdiction, but the majority of states should be ok for you, again certain states have issues, like NC, and a few more. But here is what you do file like you would for any divorce, find out if your state has a statute for living separate and apart for more then 3 years I will explain that. When you file have it placed on the nominal track that means uncontested , your state may use a different term but it is all the same. The first court date you receive should be your nominal date, and should be around 45 to 60 days from the filing, thats the date you will put the divorce through, so read all the rules so you know what you are doing that day the court cannot help you. Now the living separate and apart, I asked that because many states mine included have a statutory waiting period before you can enter the final judgement here in RI it is 90 days from the hearing date, the date you put the divorce through, thats 3 months, but if you have been living separate and apart for a period of at least 3 years the final can enter in 30 days, but that must be stated at the time of filing as the reason for the filing. So check your jurisdictions statutes.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Ankerholz and Smith
    Ankerholz and Smith | Rian F. Ankerholz
    You need to consult an experienced family law attorney to make sure all of the divorce is handled correctly the first time. That includes a waiver of the waiting period before remarriage.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    LAW OFFICE OF ANNE B. HOWARD | Anne B. Howard
    They can jointly file for a summary dissolution. One filing fee. The divorce has to take 6 months before its final. No May wedding or its bigamous. You can do the ceremony and do a legal civil registry office wedding when divorce is entered. You should have taken care of this months and months ago.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Fox Law Firm LLC
    Fox Law Firm LLC | Tina Fox
    According to the terms/information give, we will not need her signature in order to get them divorced in IL and it can be done within 45-60 days.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Theodora Fader | Theodora Fader
    If you are in Michigan, a complaint for divorce should be filed right away as a judgment can not be entered to finalize the divorce until at least 60 days after the case is filed. If you want the case handled quickly and efficiently, you should hire an attorney who is experienced with divorces.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Donaldson Stewart, PC
    Donaldson Stewart, PC | Monica H. Donaldson Stewart
    If either or both of them resides in Arizona, there is a minimum 60-day period between serving her with the papers and submitting the final decree for the judge to sign. Although the entire process can be completed within about 90 days, this assumes full cooperation by both parties. If he is shooting to remarry in May, he needs to proceed immediately with filing the paperwork. He can either consult with an attorney or certified document preparer, or (if he lives in Maricopa County), he can obtain the forms and instructions online at the court's self-service center: www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Law Offices of Julie A. Ringquist | Julie A. Ringquist
    If you are in California, there is a mandatory six month and one day waiting period, which begins on the day the Petitioner served the Respondent with the Court Summons and Petition requesting a divorce. Unless the case is already filed with the court and served on the other party (before November), you won't be divorced by May. If you got everything filed and served by the end of February, and you soon thereafter filed a Stipulated Judgment, you could be divorced at the end of August.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Diefer Law Group, P.C.
    Diefer Law Group, P.C. | Abel Fernandez
    You should really seek an attorney to see if you can expedite this issue but California has a six month hold period. You are not able to get a divorce sooner than six months. I don't know that he will be able to get divorced before May. You might need to consider pushing the wedding back.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Cantin Lawyers PC | John Morris
    In Connecticut there is a statutory 90 day waiting period.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Carey and Leisure | John Smitten
    Simplified Dissolution of marriage. Contact the clerk to get the forms. Or contact an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    Ira Silverstein | Ira Silverstein
    A divorce can move quickly depending on the parties. If there is no dispute it can be done in several weeks.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    The O'Mara Law Firm, P.C. | David C. O'Mara
    File a Joint Petition for Divorce in one of the rural counties and you could be divorced in a matter of weeks, if you meet all the requirements.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 2/12/2013
    David A. Browde, P.C.
    David A. Browde, P.C. | David Browde
    Contact an attorney in your county of residence and discuss filing an uncontested divorce.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/12/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney