What punishment will I get for a BAC of .15? 51 Answers as of July 11, 2013

I received the results for my BAC today and it was .15%. This is my first DUI and I passed all of the field sobriety tests. What sort of punishment can be expected?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
The sentence can vary depending on a lot of details regarding the facts of the case, and what the prosecutor and the judge are willing to offer in plea bargaining. You should hire an attorney to negotiate for you.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/19/2011
Law Office of Rodney Nosratabadi
Law Office of Rodney Nosratabadi | Rodney Nosratabadi
Technically your maximum exposure is 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000, but jail could be avoided with the help of the right attorney.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/12/2011
Law Office of Andrew Subin
Law Office of Andrew Subin | Andrew Subin
1 day in jail, about $900 in fines.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 7/12/2011
Osterman Law LLC
Osterman Law LLC | Mark D. Osterman
Unfortunately, your BAC is over most of the minimum limits that allows for a diversion. If you BAC is usually around .08-.12, the DA will normally talk reckless driving. It has all the points and the costs of a DUI but no alcohol stigma and not the mandatory 3 days in jail of a first DUI. Get a lawyer in town that has some experinece and he may be able to get that deal, but I would be skeptical.
Answer Applies to: Indiana
Replied: 7/12/2011
Law Office of Richard Williams
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
Your BAC is almost twice the legal limit.First time offense minimums are - up to one year in the county or municipal jail, suspended for one or two years, a fine of not less than $600.00 or more than $1,100, ninety day suspension of driver's license, DUI school and the Victim's Impact Panel.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 7/12/2011
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    Thank you for your inquiry. Your expected result will vary by Court/Judge. In some cases, you will get probation. In some others, you will get jail. In most, probation is expected. You should hire an attorney in the area where you got the ticket to get your best information. I hope that this was helpful.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    The Law Offices of Gabriel Dorman
    The Law Offices of Gabriel Dorman | Gabriel Dorman
    Having a .15% BAC on a DUI will result in having to attend and complete a 6 month alcohol school as opposed to the 3 month alcohol school. Aside from that, you really shouldn't suffer any additional penalties beyond what is normally involved. In any case, if you are right at .15% BAC, the right lawyer should be able to get you the 3 month alcohol class anyway, especially on a first DUI. I hope this answer was helpful. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Bristol & Dubiel LLP
    Bristol & Dubiel LLP | Murray L. Bristol
    In Texas you are looking at a maximum of 180 days in jail but it will likely be probated so you will only have to do up to 2 years probation, community service, DWI class, Victim impact panel and alcohol and drug evaluation. A .015 or above requires you to have a breath interlock on your vehicle and DPS will currently charge you a $2000 surcharge per year for 3 years to maintain your Texas Drivers License. I would recommend contacting an attorney to discuss the exact consequences you may be looking at in your County of arrest.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady | Kevin O'Grady
    It is unlikely that if your BAC was .15 that the officer wrote that you "passed the field sobriety tests. You should expect to be charged with BAC violation and impairment DUI. You should also hire a DUI attorney immediately to prepare the best defense possible.
    Answer Applies to: Hawaii
    Replied: 7/11/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    Why do you assume you will be punished? Do you have a lawyer? Do you know that people are found guilty with .15 BAC?! If you have a good video, then the State would have to explain to the jury why you could have almost twice the legal limit yet look so good on the video. Hire a lawyer to fight for you (or at least to evaluate your chances for you and work to get you a better deal with the illusion that you could kick their butts in trial.)
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/11/2011
    Grant & Grant
    Grant & Grant | Richard L. Grant, Esq.
    If this is your first Dui, 1. 3yrs if formal probation 2. $390 plus penalty assessments or $1,900. 3. 3 or 6 month Alcohol Treatment Program 4. A MADD class 5. Ignition Interlock devise for 5 months 6. License Suspension for 4 months 7. Most probably not receive the required 48 hours of Jail time.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/11/2011
    Bloom Legal, LLC
    Bloom Legal, LLC | Seth J. Bloom
    Unfortunately, field sobriety tests are often determined to be inadmissible in court and due to the fact that you have been conclusively proven to be over the legal limit from a breathalyzer test your defense options have been limited. You should consider hiring an experienced DWI attorney in your area to guide you through the coming court proceedings. The potential penalties for first offense DWI in Louisiana are: -Suspension of Driving Privileges for up to 90 Days -Jail time of up to 6 months -Fines of up to $1,000 including court costs A DWI Attorney may be able to help you keep your driving privileges as well as negotiating reduced charges and/or sentences on your behalf to attempt to keep you out of jail and your criminal record clean.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/11/2011
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. | Carlos Gonzalez
    You may be convicted of a crime and have a permanent criminal record, unless there was property damage or injury to another then this should be the outcome if you're found guilty or convicted. I would suggest hiring a good defense attorney and seeing what defenses you may have available to you in case it may be possible to achieve a better outcome.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    Where are you in the criminal process? Have you gone to Court for any hearings yet? There may be a chance of getting the charge reduced if you have not already entered a plea, but you need to see an attorney fast, if you can afford one.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Pontrello Law
    Pontrello Law | William Pontrello
    $1518.00 fine, 1 year probation, 6 months DL suspension, 50 Hours Community service, 10 impound of your vehicle, DUI school, Evaluation for substance abuse and treatment if necessary. 6 months with Ignition Interlock. Plus investigative costs.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    You will most likely be charged with OWI. As a first offender, you will typically receive a term of probation, fines and costs. While on probation, you will have to complete some classes. In addition to the actions taken by the court, the Secretary of State will impose some license restrictions and also impose a driver's responsibility fee. Your insurance company may also take action which could include cancelation and placement of you into the high risk pool. A competent local criminal defense attorney can more fully advise you of the "standard" practices of your local court.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    It depends on a couple of factors. Your reading is relatively high but less than aggravated DWI and less than the cut-off in some counties for demanding that the defendant plead "as charged" to a DWI. So, you may be offered a DWAI, which is a traffic infraction and not a crime. Assuming that there are no aggravating circumstances such as an accident, injury, property damage, driving wrong way, disrespectful to police, uncooperative, etc. Incidentally, I am very surprised to hear that you "passed" the field sobriety tests. None of my clients ever do. I counsel people to politely decline to take the Field Sobriety Tests. There is no law that says that you have to take them.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Up to 90 days in jail and a fine, community service and a suspended license and State responsibility fees.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
    The ultimate sentence a person may receive for a DUI convictions depends on a number of factors including If there have been any prior convictions. Additionally depending on your record you may qualify for a diversion program which can result in the dismissal of the charge upon completion of a treatment program. I would urge you to contact an attorney who is skilled in representing individuals charged with DUI.
    Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    You really should seek legal counsel and hire a lawyer who specializes in Drunk Driving cases. If you passed the field sobriety tests the only thing between you and a not guilty verdict is admission of the Breath Test (BT) evidence. There may be a way to suppress the BT. If this can be accomplished and you truly passed the Field Sobriety tests, you could be acquitted. If you cannot have the BT evidence suppressed, you can expect anything from a 45 day to a 1 year loss of license and anything from probation and drunk driving classes to a year or more in jail, depending on the judge, jurisdiction and your previous criminal history for all crimes, not just DUIs. With no criminal history, a good local attorney may be able to negotiate the statutory minimum for you, which would be a 45 day loss of license, probation for 1 year, with drunk driving classes, and Continuing your case for one year Without a Finding (CWOF). This outcome provides an opportunity for you to have your charges dismissed after a successful period of probation.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    The Chastaine Law Office
    The Chastaine Law Office | Michael Chastaine
    Depends on the county but you would mostly get that counties standard first offense.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN | Michael Bialys
    You may be able to avoid certain punishments. Probably best that you discuss the details of your case with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/24/2012
    Attorney at Law
    Attorney at Law | Michael J. Kennedy
    Depends on where it is and the facts surrounding the stop and chemical test, etc. Many of those are fightable, if you have the right attorney. Some will tell you that it is 6-15 days in jail plus $2,000 in fines and assessments and the first time school and incidental conditions, but no real DUI attorney ever gets anyone time in jail for a first time offense.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    If you passed your FST, why would the officer have arrested you?? His report will make interesting reading for you, AND the DA. At that BA you were almost double the legal driving limit, and medically certifiable to be Under the Influence. Any claim you were not impaired will be laughed at by everyone in the court. That BA level generally is close to sloppy, stumbling drunk in most people. That is probably what the police report will describe. Punishment? Lucky for you that you are just under double the limit which imposes mandatory enhanced penalties. The DA will seek and argue them anyway, when you are that close. The DA will likely seek jail, stiff fines, alcohol programs, license suspension, etc. If you have no prior DUIs, then effective plea-bargaining, using whatever legal defenses, facts and sympathies there may be, could possibly keep you out of jail, or at least dramatically reduce it, depending upon all the facts. Not exactly a do it yourself project in court for someone who does not know how to effectively represent himself against a professional prosecutor intending to convict. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, reduction or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial. Keep in mind a little free advice: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic one-year suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things, then hire an attorney that does.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
    Fines and court costs and probation and alcohol education.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    First offense DUIs are misdemeanors which can be punished with up to 93 days in jail or probation plus fines and costs. It also adds points to your license and you could lose your license or have a restricted license. You could also be ordered by the judge to immobilize your vehicle. All of these are very costly in more ways than one. Seek out an experienced DUI attorney who can first review the police report and lab results for any errors that could get the charges reduced or dismissed. A good DUI attorney is woth the investment.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/8/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    First of all, if your breath alcohol concentration (BAC) was .15 grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath, your judgment may have been impaired to a point that your perception of your Field Sobriety Test (FST) may well have been incorrect. Lots of people think they are great singers when they are drunk.Others think they are irresistible to the opposite sex. My point is simple-you and I don't know how you performed on the FSTs. Depending on what the police report says, you are probably looking at a mandatory sentence of two days in jail and about $4,000 in costs, fines and fees. Your license will be suspended for a year and you will have to have an ignition interlock installed on the vehicle you drive. You will be forced to obtain a substance abuse evaluation and follow all treatment recommendations. This is also required for reinstatement of your license. Additionally, you would have to attend a DUI victims' panel. Without reviewing your police report, that's about all I can tell you except for a couple of tips for dealing with the prosecutor and judge. First and foremost, dress like you are going to an important job interview. Secondly, NEVER drink or do drugs before going to court. It is disrespectful and very likely to land you in contempt of court. Likewise, do not carry any illegal substances or weapons when you go to court. You will be run through a metal detector and x-rayed. Don't hold onto anything that could result in additional charges. Third, since you have to get a substance abuse evaluation eventually, it is better to get it done now and let the judge and prosecutor have a copy of the evaluation. That will tell the judge and prosecutor that you are taking this situation extremely seriously; as you should. Lastly, find an AA meeting that you like. There are AA groups meeting in several locations in every city and small town. Have the folks at AA sign slips indicating that you went to AA and contributed. This will also bolster your credibility with the judge and prosecutor. You should also strongly consider hiring a DUI defense attorney. Most of us can get you a better deal than a straight guilty as charged plea and we know the courts and prosecutors so we know how to position you in relation to them.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    If you had a Blood Alcohol Content under .20, and you have no prior DWI within the last 10 years, you were charged with a fourth degree offense. This is still serious and carries with it maximum criminal penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. If convicted any subsequent DWI offense would be much more serious and with four offenses in ten years, you can be charged with a felony. As a result, as strong defense on the first alleged incident can be critical to your future. Different Judges give different sentences. Accordingly, understanding your Judge and knowing how to change Judge's can be an important part of the process. There is also a civil case that results in the revocation of your driver's license. On a first offense over your lifetime, you may be revoked for 30 to 90 days. This is a separate case even though the challenges are largely the same. In order to challenge your license revocation, you must seek a judicial review by filing a petition within 30 days of the offense. Do not forget this critical time period. All too often people with strong defenses come to me too late to challenge the license revocation. The end result goes well beyond simply having your license revoked. A failure to challenge results in an Implied Consent violation on your record which can also affect employment and may be used to enhance any subsequent DWI offense. Additionally, effective July 1, 2011, if you had a blood alcohol content of .15 or more, you will be required to have an alcohol interlock installed on your vehicle in order to be able to drive. There are many challenges to a DWI. Officers must follow very specific steps as part of the arrest. If any one step is missing, the case may be dismissed.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC | Raymond J. Savoy
    For a first offense you may qualify for an alcohol education program.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Leyba Defense, PLLC
    Leyba Defense, PLLC | Matthew Leyba
    DUI carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $5000 fine. If this is your first offense, and your alcohol level was over a .15 then the mandatory penalty is 2 days in jail, $1121 fine, and 1 year license suspension, and 1 year ignition interlock requirement. However its my experience that with people who have never been in trouble before, and if they weren't involved in a serious car accident, and they don't have any substance abuse issues. Prosecutors tend to be more lenient and a plea deal is possible. If that happens then the DUI charge can be lowered to another offense that doesn't carry all the above penalties. You should probably speak with an experienced DUI Attorney to get a better sense of what options you might have and what to expect.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    I highly suggest consulting an attorney where you live who has experience handling DUI cases; there are several good attorneys who do just that in Colorado. The possible penalties can vary widely depending upon where a deal is negotiated, etc. You need to consult an attorney about the specific facts of your situation to accurately know what you can reasonably expect to face.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    Before July 1, 2011, a first DUI will be punishable by 48 hrs up to 6 months in jail, and a fine from $500 to $1000. After July 1, 2011 the minimum fine raises to $750. Before July 1, 2011, the .15 BAT will also bring an administrative action on the drivers license of 30 days suspension followed by 330 days of restricted driving. After July 1, 2011 the law changes to add that all first time DUIs will have a 12 month ignition interlock on any car you own or lease.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Offices of Christopher Jackson
    Law Offices of Christopher Jackson | Christopher L. Jackson
    You are currently facing at least 4 days in jail with a maximum of 30 days in jail. You will need to convince the county attorney to reduce your charge to a regular DUI, rather than an Aggravated DUI to avoid jail time. You will likely need an attorney to help you do this.
    Answer Applies to: Kentucky
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    The Lee Law Firm
    The Lee Law Firm | Kenneth Parks Gober
    You need to call a local criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/11/2013
    Giannini Law Office, PC
    Giannini Law Office, PC | Robert Giannini
    If you plead guilty you can expect a host of punishments, including (but not limited to) jail time, a fine with added fees, community service, probation, DUI school, drug/alcohol counseling, license suspension, and reinstatement fees. What amount of jail, fines & fees, community service, and suspension time depends on many factors, including the judge, the prosecutor, the facts of your case, your history/situation, and the abilities of your lawyer. I strongly suggest that you consult with a couple of DUI attorneys before you make a decision about how to handle your case.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Charles Regan Shaw, PLC
    Charles Regan Shaw, PLC | Charles R Shaw
    Review Secretary of State's "What every driver should know" handbook available on website?
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    This can vary greatly based on your Judge, the Court, your own attorney and the strategy you employ to deal with the case.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    With a .15% blood alcohol content in Orange County, you will likely be required to take a six month alcohol class instead of a three month alcohol class. Plus, you'll have to pay all of your fines/ fees, and you may have to take a Mother's Against Drunk Driving course. Generally, a BAC under .15% will require a three month alcohol class. It's a good idea to request a blood split. This may give you a lower reading and, therefore, you'll only have to take a three month alcohol class.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts | Andrew Stephen Roberts
    Before you worry about punishments you should retain an attorney to review your police report and deal with DMV. You only have 10 days from arrest report this to DMV and request an APS hearing.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    If you just go to court by yourself and plead guilty, expect the following: 3 years probation, $1800 in fines, 3 or 6 month alcohol program, 6 months of license suspension, a criminal record, 2 points on your driving record, and possibly installation of IID depending on which county you were arrested in. And by the way, no one ever passes FST's. That's why cops never tell you that it is completely optional.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    That depends on a lot of other factors.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Kevin Smith, Attorney at Law
    Kevin Smith, Attorney at Law | Kevin Smith
    If this is your first OUI arrest, and you have never used the alcohol education program before in this state or any other, then you will have a number of options:have the case dismissed; use the Alcohol Education Program and, if you successfully complete it, get the case dismissed; plead guilty and be subjected to either 48 hours in jail or 100 hours of community service and 18 months probation; or fight the case at trial and win an acquittal, or get convicted and face up to 6 months in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    Sentencing varies widely and depends on the jurisdiction. Some judges are very reasonable while others just don't sleep well unless they have put enough people in jail that day. I suspect the officer will dispute that you passed the field sobriety tests, but if you did pass them, you might have a good argument that the officer did not have probable cause to arrest you.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    It depends on the outcome of the case and what County you are in. Its a high reading - almost twice the limit. I suggest you retain a good criminal defense lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You were twice the .08 legal limit. You will probably be convicted of Driving While Impaired and lose your license for 90 days. You will be fined $500 and go to Drinking Driving School.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    If you win nothing. A blood test has many components where the evidence can fail. You need to contact a DWI attorney who has special training with blood. If you passed all the FST you would not likely have been arrested and requested to take a blood test, again a good DWI lawyer should be consulted. If you lose in court it depends where you are charged, but the mandatory minimum for a DWI 1st is a 9 month loss of license, with 6 months loss suspended upon taking a class, a $500 fine plus a 24% tax. You have certain rights that begin upon receipt of the blood results, so do not delay, contact a good DWI lawyer. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Eric M. Mark, Attorney at Law
    Eric M. Mark, Attorney at Law | Eric Mark
    The funny thing, or not so funny thing, is that every client thinks they passed the field sobriety tests. The punishments for a first-time DUI with a .15 BAC include a license suspension from 7 months to 1 year, a fine, placement of an ignition interlock device on your car, referral to the intoxicated driver resource center, community service and other monetary penalties. Jail time is an option, though rarely imposed on a first offense. Without knowing any of the facts of the case, you may have defenses available to you based on the police conduct or improper blood/breath testing, but you will need to retain an attorney to know that.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 7/7/2011
    Jared Justice Attorney at Law
    Jared Justice Attorney at Law | Jared Justice
    This depends on if you are diversion eligible or not. More information is needed to accurately answer your question.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/4/2013
    Castleberry & Elison
    Castleberry & Elison | Peter Castleberry
    In Oregon, a first time DUII conviction is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $6,250 fine. The law requires the judge to impose a mandatory minimum of a $1000 fine and 48 hours jail or 80 hours community service for a first time DUII conviction. Additionally, there is a mandatory one year suspension of your driver's license. However, if this is your first DUI offense, you should be eligible for the diversion program.The diversion program allows first time DUII offenders the opportunity to get their case dismissed upon successful completion of the program requirements. This means that if you complete diversion, you will not have a DUII conviction on your record. In diversion you will be required to do all of the following: 1. Pay all court costs and fees, generally totally about $600 2. Complete an alcohol and drug abuse assessment and evaluation as directed by the court 3. Complete the recommended treatment program 4. Attend a victim impact panel and pay the participation fee. 5. You must not operate a motor vehicle with ANY intoxicant in your blood system or while using intoxicants. Also, if you failed a BAC test, the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles is attempting to suspend your driver's license for 90 days. This is an administrative proceeding separate from your criminal court case. You only have 10 days to request an administrative hearing to challenge this license suspension or it will go into effect automatically.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/7/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!