What is the punishment for first time offense of shoplifting over $50? 2 Answers as of June 20, 2017

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Instead of worrying about the punishment, you need to focus your attention on how you can avoid being convicted. Petty theft is a crime of moral turpitude, and if convicted it will really hurt your school/employment aspirations. You should talk to a lawyer, who may be able to work out a deal with the Judge whereby you can earn yourself a dismissal.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/20/2017
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
Six months in jail and a $1000 fine plus assessments is the max. You want to avoid the fact of a conviction at all. Consult a criminal attorney in your area.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/19/2017
Click to View More Answers: