What is the penalty for a first offense of domestic battery? 12 Answers as of February 26, 2013

What is the penalty for a misdemeanor on domestic battery? This is my first offense.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
In Maryland state court second-degree assault carries 10 years in prison, and first-degree assault carries 25 years.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 2/26/2013
The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones
The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones | B. Elaine Jones
Dear Sir/Madam - It is punishable by up to a year in prison if convicted. If it is your first offense they will probably offer you Misdemeanor Intervention Program. They put you on supervision for 6 months, make ou go to anger management classes. If you do everything they will dismiss your case or Nolle Prosse (not prosecute). You can later have it expunged.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 2/25/2013
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Penalty up to 12 months in jail.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 2/24/2013
Law Office of Ernest J. Bauer, Jr., LLC | Ernest J. Bauer, Jr.
Anywhere from probation to six months in jail.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 2/24/2013
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
get an attorney with whom you can discuss the details of the case. Potential resolution exist and differ based on the court and court system.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/24/2013
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Well you want to plead not guilty and get a lawyer. If you plead guilty you give up all your bargaining power and end up with a criminal record. The lawyer may e able to get you into a program where you take anger management classes and end up with no record.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/24/2013
    PELTA  LAW
    PELTA LAW | Mordechai David Pelta
    Usually anger management with probation. But every case is unique depending on the severity of the alleged conduct and for how long it has been going on. You should be consulting an experienced attorney for the best answer because here it is not legal advise and there is no attorney-client relationship. You tend to get what you pay for as well.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/24/2013
    Law Firm of Martin & Wallentine
    Law Firm of Martin & Wallentine | Jerry Lee Wallentine Jr.
    It is a class B misdemeanor in Kansas, which carries up to 6 months jail.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 2/24/2013
    Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
    If it's a misdemeanor, you are looking at a maximum of 1 year in jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/24/2013
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    You'll be required to do a long and expensive 52-week class, and you will lose our gun rights for life, not to mention have a criminal record.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/24/2013
    The Umansky Law Firm
    The Umansky Law Firm | William D. Umansky
    Can be up to year probation and counseling along with community service hours and court costs.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 2/24/2013
    Cook, Skeen & Robinson, LLC
    Cook, Skeen & Robinson, LLC | Shawn H. Robinson
    Typically up to 180 days in jail and a fine and surcharge of $1940 if it is charged as a class b misdemeanor. The jail will likely be suspended though.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 2/24/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney