What is the penalty for filing a false police report? 40 Answers as of July 02, 2013

What is the penalty for filing a false police report?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
I'd recommend you retain a lawyer to help you or you ask the court for legal counsel.You have a right to counsel. Don't be afraid to exercise that right. It depends on the charges.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/21/2012
Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
A false police report carries a penalty of 90 days, or more, incarceration plus fines.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 4/10/2012
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
That depends on all the facts and circumstances so I can not answer without all the details.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/2/2013
William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
That depends on what charges are filed. Making a false statement to police might violate several laws depending on the circumstances.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 3/26/2012
Anderson Law Office
Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
It is usually a misdemeanor offense but could be a more serious charge depending on what was filed.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Replied: 3/26/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    It depends but it is at least a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    The penalty can vary depending on how severe the false report is. However, in many instances the penalty is a maximum of 6 months in county jail and or a fine of around $1,000. With plea bargaining, you may not be facing as much time in jail. However, this is very fact specific and contacting an attorney before your first court date would be beneficial.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    It is a standard misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Offices of Douglas J. Lindsay
    Law Offices of Douglas J. Lindsay | Douglas J. Lindsay
    If the false police report deals with a misdemeanor offense ... the penalty is a fine for not more than $500 and possible incarceration for a period not more than 93 days.If the false police report deals with a felony offense ... the penalty is a fine for not more than $2000 and possible incarceration for a period not more than 4 years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    It's a misdemeanor offense. Carries up to a year in jail or on probation, and/or a fine of up to $1000.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
    It is a misdemeanor and you could be fined or jailed up to one year.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    T.K. Byrne | Timothy K. Byrne
    Some states it is misdemeanor offense. Other states it is felony obstruction of justice.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    It depends upon the circumstances of the case. Filing a false police report could be "perjury", which is a Class C felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. It could also be filed as interfering with a police officer, which is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    It is normally a misdemeanor offense. If made in a municipal setting it can carry up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.00 or both.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    A misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    LynchLaw
    LynchLaw | Michael Thomas Lynch
    I sounds like what you are describing is a violation of Penal Code 148.5. Such a crime is a misdemeanor and carries with it a maximum sentence of six months in county jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    Usually misdemeanor w probation but can be felony in right circumstances. .
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    A person commits the offense of giving false information to a police officer if the person knowingly uses or gives a false or fictitious name, address or date of birth to any police officer. This crime is a Class A Misdemeanor in Oregon with a maximum of 1 year in custody and a $6,250 fine. These charges are serious and you should contact a knowledgeable Criminal Defense Attorney in your area.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Only very stupid, evil, and vindictive people would lie to the police to have an innocent person arrested. That person could have a criminal conviction, lose their job, lose their reputation, or even go to prison. re guilty of a felony that has a maximum of 7 years. I have seen women file false reports to get even with a boyfriend and drug dealers lie about someone to stay out of jail. I think they should go to prison for the maximum sentence that the law allows. It is one of the Ten Commandments and has been a serious offense in every culture throughout the history of mankind. Judges and prosecutors hate anyone who perverts the criminal justice system and they are.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    Up to 6 years in prison, 10,000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    It is a felony offense. A person can be sent to prison up to three years.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    False Reports to Law Enforcement Officer is a Class A Misdemeanor punishable up to 12 months in jail and or $2,000 fine (maximum penalties).
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    The penalty depends on the facts of what happened. If you filed a false report, do not discuss it with "friends". If the police are still investigating, choose an attorney of your choice and speak to them about consequences and options.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    Misdemeanor or possibly felony charges.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Michael S. Edwards, Attorney at Law, PLLC | Mike Edwards
    It is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. If this is your situation, get legal advice from an attorney right away!
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Watkins Law Office
    Watkins Law Office | Bob Watkins
    The "potential" penalty is the crime charged as a class A misdemeanor; 12 months in jail and a $2000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    It is usually charged as a disorderly persons offense. The maximum period of imprisonment and fine for a disorderly persons offense are six months and a $1,000.00 fine.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    It depends on the nature of the report as it can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Typically it is a class A misdemeanor punishable up to one year in jail and $1000 fne.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Arneson and Geffen
    Arneson and Geffen | Mark Arneson
    It is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    The Law Offices of Jaime Cowan
    The Law Offices of Jaime Cowan | Jaime Cowan
    It is a class 3 misdemeanor maximum penalties are $750 and or 6 months is jail.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Bruce Plesser | Bruce Plesser
    If you admit to the prosecutor who is handling the case you might not be charged. A man in Tampa recently got 90 days for misusing 991.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 3/23/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney