Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
In the State of Nevada, an ounce of schedule one controlled substance carries a maximum penalty of 25 years to life in prison. Probation is not available unless the accused provides substantial assistance which is evidence against other drug traffickers usually in the same category of trafficking.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
There is more than one type of possession. There is simle possession for one's own use and possession for sale. Penalties run from a drug program to 5 years in state prison. See generall Health and Safety Code sections 11350 and following.
Answer Applies to: California
Law Office of Mark Bruce | Mark Corwin Bruce
If it's just a straight possession, 3 years in prison (which would be served in a local jail due to new laws). But these days you will first have to go through Prop 36 rehab programs before any jail time is imposed. 3 years is the maximum, for which you asked.
Answer Applies to: California
Peacock Law Group of the Lowcountry, LLC | Richard Peacock
In SC, there are a few things on which this depends. One of the main things that comes to mind is whether your charges are federal or state charges? You should seek the advice of a local attorney in regards to this matter.
Answer Applies to: South Carolina
Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
For simple possession the maximum is five years. However, Washington has determinate sentencing which means there is a presumptive standard sentencing range. The standard range is calculated based on a combination of one's adult felony history, minus washout convictions, plus the seriousness level of the crime for which you are being sentenced. The court arrives at a standard range of sentence in months. The court sentences within the standard range 99 percent of the time. Ordinarily the court sentences at the mid point of the standard range. For example, on a first-time posession of cocaine, the court can use the First-Time offender option which is 0-90 days. So most courts would sentence 45 days or less. Back when I was a drug prosecutor, the usual first time reccomendation was 35 days in jail with 30 suspended on conditions. The conditions were generally obtain a substance abuse evaluation. Obtain treatment if reccomended. Commit no new criminal law violations and pay legal financial obligations.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
The sentence will depend on what crime you are charged with, what you are convicted of, your prior criminal record, your age, the city you are in and whether they charge you with possession with intent to sell. It also defends on whether you are in federal or state court. You could be charged with a B Felony that carried anywhere form probation up to 9 years in prison. If you are a dealer with a prior conviction the average sentence is 3 years. You should retain a good criminal lawyer to handle the case and try to get the drugs suppressed on an illegal search and seizure or possibly get a drug program as an alternative to prison.
Answer Applies to: New York