What is the law of limitations on personal injury when the victim never filed a charge because he had no insurance? 75 Answers as of June 28, 2013

The victim was a 19 year old hit by a semi who never reported it because his father was in fear it might get them in trouble for marijuana in his system. The father is a repeat offender and the son (the victim) is ignorant and was also afraid of the man. Now the victim can barely walk and his wife is a personal friend.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Dwyer, Black & Lyle, LLP
Dwyer, Black & Lyle, LLP | Kevin Habberfield
He has 3 years from the date of the crash to file suit.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 8/10/2012
NOLAN LAW LLC | Joshua J. Nolan
Personal injury claims based upon negligence are governed by a two (2) year statute of limitations in Ohio.
Answer Applies to: Ohio
Replied: 8/10/2012
Law Office of Charles M. Vacca Jr. | Charles Martin Vacca Jr.
3 years from date of incident.
Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
Replied: 8/10/2012
Kelaher Law Offices, P.A.
Kelaher Law Offices, P.A. | James P Kelaher
The only thing you mentioned relevant to the statute of limitations is that it was a motor vehicle accident, which means there is a 4 year statute of limitations. The rest deals with the merits of the claim, not the statute of limitations.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 8/10/2012
James M. Osak, P.C.
James M. Osak, P.C. | James M. Osak
Without getting into great detail in your story . . . generally you have three (3) years to file for a personal injury case. There are some exceptions . . . but that's it. Your problem is PROVING that you got injured as you have NO record of getting hit. No police report and No medical reports. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 8/10/2012
    David F. Stoddard
    David F. Stoddard | David F. Stoddard
    In S.C. Three years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: South Carolina
    Replied: 8/10/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 8/10/2012
    Alvin Lundgren | Alvin Lundgren
    In Utah 4 years from the date of the accident. You may call 801-876-4422 for a free consultation.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/10/2012
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    That would be 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/10/2012
    Goodgame Law, LLC
    Goodgame Law, LLC | Jeffrey L Goodgame
    Generally, a claim must be filed within-in 2 years from the date of the accident. The injured party should consult a personal injury attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Dennis P. Mikko Attorney at Law | Dennis P. Mikko
    The statute of limitations on a personal injury claim in Michigan is normally three years. If the accident happened while the victim was a minor, he would have a limited amount of time after his 18th birthday to bring the claim. Since the victim is now 19, he very well may have passed the applicable statute of limitations.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Office of William L Spern | William Spern
    You didn't say how long ago that the accident occurred. In Michigan, a lawsuit arising out of an automobile accident must be file with three years of the date of the accident. The victim's marijuana impairment will be considered by the court if related to the accident and could be the basis for dismissal or reduction of any judgment.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Was the victim driving without insurance or a passenger or pedestrian? Makes a difference. It is 1 year for certain kinds of benefits and 3 years against the semi driver.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Brian Wendler | Brian Wendler
    If the accident happened in Illinois the statute of limitations is 2 years with possible exceptions to extend that deadline. If it occurred in another state, the statute of limitations could be longer or shorter depending upon the state.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Larry Klein Inc | Larry Klein
    The Statute of Limitations for personal injuries arising from an automobile accident is two years from the date of the accident. Within the two year period the person who is injured must either have their personal injury claim settled with the responsible party or they must file a lawsuit against the responsible party or parties in Court or the injured person would lose all their rights.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Darrell B. Reynolds, P.C. | Darrell B. Reynolds
    Without more it is difficult to evaluate your situation. You need to consult with an attorney in this matter.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    In Va. 2 years from the date of occurrence.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Sam Hochberg & Associates | Sam Hochberg
    Normally, if this was an Oregon car accident claim, the statute of limitations is TWO years from the date of the accident, and THREE years if it was in Washington. However, there are various ways in which the statute may be extended beyond that, but the only way to know for sure is to arrange for your friend to meet with an experienced personal injury lawyer (most offer a free initial consultation). Without a detailed interview, just knowing that the statute is two years is NOT something your friend should rely on. It could be longer so please tell your friend to visit with a lawyer IN PERSON, to see what, if anything, can still be done about this.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    R. D. Kelly Law Firm, P.L.L.C.
    R. D. Kelly Law Firm, P.L.L.C. | Robert Kelly
    Normally, lawsuits for personal injuries must be commenced within three years. Absence of a police report is not necessarily a deal-breaker.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Robert S. Bruzzi | Robert S. Bruzzi
    Three (3) years from the date of the crash.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Gonzalez & Cartwright, P.A.
    Gonzalez & Cartwright, P.A. | Charles Cartwright
    The statute of limitations for motor vehicle accidents is four years.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Gary L. Platt, Attorney at Law | Gary Platt
    The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit is 2 years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Ezim Law Firm | Dean Esposito
    He has 1 year from the date of the accident to file suit. If he fails to do so, he is forever barred from asserting this claim.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    The statute of limitations in Illinois is two years. The father of this young man need not tell his father anything relative to the incident. He is considered an adult by the law and his right of privacy of his medical records is his to maintain confidential against anyone.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Lapin Law Offices
    Lapin Law Offices | Jeffrey Lapin
    The fact that a charge was never filed does not make any difference as to the statute of limitations. Generally, the statute of limitations in Nebraska for people under the age of twenty-one (21) who are injured in a motor vehicle accident is the day prior to the person turning age twenty-five (25). In these types of cases, the statute of limitations is tolled, that is, does not start until the person's twenty first birthday. Then the normal statute of limitations for motor vehicle accidents, which is generally four (4) years, starts. So, as long as the victim is not 25 years old yet, then he can still pursue a claim against the semi driver or any other responsibility party.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    DEAN T. JENNINGS, P.C.
    DEAN T. JENNINGS, P.C. | Dean T Jennings
    Two years in Iowa from the date of injury.
    Answer Applies to: Iowa
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Adler Law Group, LLC
    Adler Law Group, LLC | Lawrence Adler
    There is a two year statute of limitations for personal injury claims.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Downriver Injury and Auto Law | Michael Heilmann
    For all individuals who are not incompetent, the statute of limitations is three years in Michigan on a motor vehicle collision.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Offices of Stanley S. Lopata
    Law Offices of Stanley S. Lopata | Stan Lopata
    The statute of limitation for personal injury lawsuits is one year from the date of the accident. If the injured party was a mint (under the age of 18) the one year statue will start on his eighteenth birthday.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Frisby Law Firm | Matthew Frisby
    In Oklahoma there is a two year statute of limitations on personal injury actions arising out of a motor vehicle collision. A statute of limitations is a law which places a time limit on pursuing a legal remedy in relation to wrongful conduct. After the expiration of the statutory period, unless a legal exception applies, the injured person loses the right to file a lawsuit seeking money damages or other relief. The statute of limitations specific to your situation needs to be reviewed by a qualified attorney. The information here has been prepared for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or a legal opinion on any specific facts or circumstances. Transmission of the information is not intended to create, and receipt does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship between the sender and receiver.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Andrew T. Velonis, P.C.
    Andrew T. Velonis, P.C. | Andrew Velonis
    In New York, the statute of limitations is three years, but under the circumstances you describe there could be problems of proof even if suit is filed timely.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Offices of David W. Hibbert
    Law Offices of David W. Hibbert | David W. Hibbert
    In Georgia the statute of limitations is two years for a personal injury claim. The 19 year old is an adult and there is no extension of the limitations due to age. If there is a lack of mental capacity involved there might be some other basis, but it would have to be more than just "ignorant".
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Offices of Julian Toporek | Julian Toporek
    The limitation is two years; the circumstances you mentioned do not alter the statute.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Offices of Ronald A. Steinberg & Associates | Ronald A. Steinberg, BA, MA, JD
    Assuming that this accident happened in Michigan, the child (now an adult) had two (2) Statutes of Limitations: First, within one (1) year of the accident, he (or his guardian) was to have notified a) his own auto insurance if he had an insured auto, or b) the auto insurance of a resident relative that the accident had occurred. That auto insurance company would send him (or his guardian) a document, called Application For No Fault Benefits, which had to be filled out completely and returned to the insurance company before the one-year anniversary of the accident. Once that was accomplished, then all medical bills as well as a listing of the mileage to and from all treating doctors/hospitals was to be sent to the insurance company. There are other benefits to which the kid would be entitled, but I will not discuss that here. If those bills were not paid within 30 days of the date on which they were sent to the insurance company, then suit could be filed against the insurance company. If the Application For No Fault Benefits was filed on time, then for the rest of the kid's life, all accident-related medical expenses would be paid by the insurance company, even if the kid was no longer insured through it. Second, within three (3) years of the accident (or before reaching the age of 19), suit could be filed against the owner and the driver of the vehicle which struck him, seeking compensation for "pain and suffering." The injuries would have to be a) death, b) serious permanent disfigurement, or c) a serious impairment of body function in order for him to collect. If he was 19 or older at the time of the accident, the suit for pain and suffering would have to be filed before the 3-year anniversary of the accident. If the time periods passed, in all likelihood he would be prevented from any recovery unless he was under a mental/emotional disability that prevented him from being able to assist his attorney. This is very difficult to accomplish.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    David Francis Law
    David Francis Law | David Francis
    The statue of limitations for personal injury in Nevada is two years.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Merdes & Merdes, P.C.
    Merdes & Merdes, P.C. | Ward Merdes
    This is a HUGE issue that is disputed in Alaska. Call an attorney ASAP or lose valuable legal rights, including the right to compensation. Get moving.
    Answer Applies to: Alaska
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Office of Ronald Arthur Lowry
    Law Office of Ronald Arthur Lowry | Ronald Arthur Lowry
    The usual statute of limitations for personal injury from a motor vehicle incident is 2 years. There are sometimes ways to extend that, however.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC | Matthew R. Kober
    In Utah this would be a 4 year statute of limitations. I would consult an attorney immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Atterbury, Kammer & Haag | Eric J. Haag
    The statute of limitations for an adult in Wisconsin for personal injury against a private party is 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Gebler & Weiss, P.C. | Jerrie S. Weiss
    The statute of limitations is 2 years from the date of the injury.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Kuhn Firm LLC
    Kuhn Firm LLC | Kevin J. Kuhn
    In Illinois, the statute of limitations for personal injury is 2 years from the date of the accident/injury, regardless of whether it was ever "reported."
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Timiney Law Firm
    Timiney Law Firm | Leigh Anne Timiney
    In Arizona, an injured person has two years from the date of the accident to bring a claim. If the injured person was a minor, or under the age of 18, they have two years from their eighteenth birthday to bring an injury claim. If your friend has less than two years since the date of the accident, he is still within the time frame to make a claim. I would suggest that he consult with a personal injury attorney and obtain a consultation.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Paris Blank LLP
    Paris Blank LLP | Irving M Blank
    The victim has two years from the date of the accident to file a Complaint in court. The rest of the question is not relevant.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Attorney at Law | Steven E. Ferguson
    The statute of limitations for a personal injury in Oklahoma is two years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Office of Stuart M. Nachbar, P.C.
    Law Office of Stuart M. Nachbar, P.C. | Stuart M. Nachbar
    It has a two year statute of limitations. It is tolled for minors for one year.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/3/2012
    Koning & Jilek, P.C.
    Koning & Jilek, P.C. | Jonathan Neal Jilek
    There is a three year statute of limitations period for third party auto negligence claims in MI. There is a one year statute of limitation period for first party cases in MI.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2012
    Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo
    Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo | Mark Leonardo
    If this was a car accident in California, the lawsuit must be filed within two years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Gingo & Orth | George Gingo
    4 years. See Florida Statutes 95.11(3)(a), below: 95.11 Limitations other than for the recovery of real property.?Actions other than for recovery of real property shall be commenced as follows: (1) WITHIN TWENTY YEARS.?An action on a judgment or decree of a court of record in this state. (2) WITHIN FIVE YEARS.? (a) An action on a judgment or decree of any court, not of record, of this state or any court of the United States, any other state or territory in the United States, or a foreign country. (b) A legal or equitable action on a contract, obligation, or liability founded on a written instrument, except for an action to enforce a claim against a payment bond, which shall be governed by the applicable provisions of paragraph (5)(e), s. 255.05(10), s. 337.18(1), or s. 713.23(1)(e). (c) An action to foreclose a mortgage. (d) An action alleging a willful violation of s. 448.110. (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an action for breach of a property insurance contract, with the period running from the date of loss. (3) WITHIN FOUR YEARS.? (a) An action founded on negligence. (b) An action relating to the determination of paternity, with the time running from the date the child reaches the age of majority. (c) An action founded on the design, planning, or construction of an improvement to real property, with the time running from the date of actual possession by the owner, the date of the issuance of a certificate of occupancy, the date of abandonment of construction if not completed, or the date of completion or termination of the contract between the professional engineer, registered architect, or licensed contractor and his or her employer, whichever date is latest; except that, when the action involves a latent defect, the time runs from the time the defect is discovered or should have been discovered with the exercise of due diligence. In any event, the action must be commenced within 10 years after the date of actual possession by the owner, the date of the issuance of a certificate of occupancy, the date of abandonment of construction if not completed, or the date of completion or termination of the contract between the professional engineer, registered architect, or licensed contractor and his or her employer, whichever date is latest. (d) An action to recover public money or property held by a public officer or employee, or former public officer or employee, and obtained during, or as a result of, his or her public office or employment. (e) An action for injury to a person founded on the design, manufacture, distribution, or sale of personal property that is not permanently incorporated in an improvement to real property, including fixtures. (f) An action founded on a statutory liability. (g) An action for trespass on real property. (h) An action for taking, detaining, or injuring personal property. (i) An action to recover specific personal property. (j) A legal or equitable action founded on fraud. (k) A legal or equitable action on a contract, obligation, or liability not founded on a written instrument, including an action for the sale and delivery of goods, wares, and merchandise, and on store accounts. (l) An action to rescind a contract. (m) An action for money paid to any governmental authority by mistake or inadvertence. (n) An action for a statutory penalty or forfeiture. (o) An action for assault, battery, false arrest, malicious prosecution, malicious interference, false imprisonment, or any other intentional tort, except as provided in subsections (4), (5), and (7). (p) Any action not specifically provided for in these statutes. (q) An action alleging a violation, other than a willful violation, of s. 448.110. (4) WITHIN TWO YEARS.? (a) An action for professional malpractice, other than medical malpractice, whether founded on contract or tort; provided that the period of limitations shall run from the time the cause of action is discovered or should have been discovered with the exercise of due diligence. However, the limitation of actions herein for professional malpractice shall be limited to persons in privity with the professional. (b) An action for medical malpractice shall be commenced within 2 years from the time the incident giving rise to the action occurred or within 2 years from the time the incident is discovered, or should have been discovered with the exercise of due diligence; however, in no event shall the action be commenced later than 4 years from the date of the incident or occurrence out of which the cause of action accrued, except that this 4-year period shall not bar an action brought on behalf of a minor on or before the child?s eighth birthday. An ?action for medical malpractice? is defined as a claim in tort or in contract for damages because of the death, injury, or monetary loss to any person arising out of any medical, dental, or surgical diagnosis, treatment, or care by any provider of health care. The limitation of actions within this subsection shall be limited to the health care provider and persons in privity with the provider of health care. In those actions covered by this paragraph in which it can be shown that fraud, concealment, or intentional misrepresentation of fact prevented the discovery of the injury the period of limitations is extended forward 2 years from the time that the injury is discovered or should have been discovered with the exercise of due diligence, but in no event to exceed 7 years from the date the incident giving rise to the injury occurred, except that this 7-year period shall not bar an action brought on behalf of a minor on or before the child?s eighth birthday. This paragraph shall not apply to actions for which ss. 766.301-766.316 provide the exclusive remedy. (c) An action to recover wages or overtime or damages or penalties concerning payment of wages and overtime. (d) An action for wrongful death. (e) An action founded upon a violation of any provision of chapter 517, with the period running from the time the facts giving rise to the cause of action were discovered or should have been discovered with the exercise of due diligence, but not more than 5 years from the date such violation occurred. (f) An action for personal injury caused by contact with or exposure to phenoxy herbicides while serving either as a civilian or as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States during the period January 1, 1962, through May 7, 1975; the period of limitations shall run from the time the cause of action is discovered or should have been discovered with the exercise of due diligence. (g) An action for libel or slander. (5) WITHIN ONE YEAR.? (a) An action for specific performance of a contract. (b) An action to enforce an equitable lien arising from the furnishing of labor, services, or material for the improvement of real property. (c) An action to enforce rights under the Uniform Commercial Code?Letters of Credit, chapter 675. (d) An action against any guaranty association and its insured, with the period running from the date of the deadline for filing claims in the order of liquidation. (e) Except for actions governed by s. 255.05(10), s. 337.18(1), or s. 713.23(1)(e), an action to enforce any claim against a payment bond on which the principal is a contractor, subcontractor, or sub-subcontractor as defined in s. 713.01, for private work as well as public work, from the last furnishing of labor, services, or materials or from the last furnishing of labor, services, or materials by the contractor if the contractor is the principal on a bond on the same construction project, whichever is later. (f) Except for actions described in subsection (8), a petition for extraordinary writ, other than a petition challenging a criminal conviction, filed by or on behalf of a prisoner as defined in s. 57.085. (g) Except for actions described in subsection (8)
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Doug Rothschild Injury Lawyers
    Doug Rothschild Injury Lawyers | Doug Rothschild
    Generally personal injury claims in CA Have a 2 year statute of limitations. Meaning, 2 years from date of accident to file a lawsuit. If injury to a minor, different rules apply. Talk to a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    The statute of limitations is 2 years from the date of the injury.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    The Law Office of Stephen R. Chesley, LLC
    The Law Office of Stephen R. Chesley, LLC | Stephen R. Chesley
    In a motor vehicle accident that occurred in New York, the statute of limitations is three years. That means from the date of the accident you have three years to bring a lawsuit. i.e purchase an index number from the court, and serve the defendant with a summons. IF you are beyond that time your time to bring a lawsuit has expired.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Bulman Law Associates PLLC Injury Law Firm
    Bulman Law Associates PLLC Injury Law Firm | Thomas Bulman
    He was an adult when it happened, so three years, with some exceptions. Timeline sounds fishy. "Victim can barely walk" means he should have seen a doctor long ago. He would have been asked how he got messed up. If he didn't see a doctor, he'll have problems.
    Answer Applies to: Montana
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Victor Varga | Victor Varga
    Generally it is 3 years from the date of the injury.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Frank Law Group, P.C.
    Frank Law Group, P.C. | Brett E. Rosenthal
    2 years from date of loss.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Gilbert & Bourke, LLP | Brian J. Bourke
    The Statute of Limitations to file a personal injury action in Court in California is two (2) years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Law Offices of Christopher R. Smitherman, LLC | Christopher R. Smitherman
    Two (2) YEARS from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Craig Kelley & Faultless
    Craig Kelley & Faultless | David W. Craig
    It is likely 2 years from the day of the wreck since the injured party was 19 at the time of the injury. You should talk to an attorney to make sure there is no exception that applies.
    Answer Applies to: Indiana
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    AyerHoffman, LLP
    AyerHoffman, LLP | David C. Ayer
    In Massachusetts, the statute of limitations for a personal injury such as you describe is three years from the date of the injury.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Attorney & Counselor at Law
    Attorney & Counselor at Law | John Hugger
    Vehicle accidents have a three year statute of limitations; meaning a lawsuit must be filed before three years from the date of the accident. Not reporting it can make it difficult to prove that the accident occurred.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Link & Smith, P.C.
    Link & Smith, P.C. | Houston Smith
    There is a two year statute of limitations on personal injuries in GA. Whether the injured person sought to prosecute the driver in the criminal system is irrelevant. So long as suit is filed and served on the at fault driver within two years, the rights of the injured person are protected. The likely problem is one of proof - how will the injured person prove that his injuries came from a collision with the semi when the collision was not reported.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    There are various statutes of limitations, therefore the question is who wants to sue who? The sone against his father, either of both of them against the semi? If you are concerned about the statutes of limitations the party who thinking about bringing a suit sue should contact an attorney immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Law Office of James J. Rosenberger | James Joseph Rosenberger
    3 years ordinarily. If the victim was under 18 years of age at the time of the accident, the limitation period begins to run on his turning 18.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Law Office of Pho Ethan Tran PLLC
    Law Office of Pho Ethan Tran PLLC | Pho Ethan Tran
    The statute of limitation for personal injury is usually 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Law Office of Jason D. Baltz | Jason Daniel Baltz
    In Wisconsin, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim (such as the one described) is three years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Mike Yeksavich | Mike Yeksavich
    The normal negligence statute of limitations is 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    WARM SPRINGS LAW GROUP | Elliott D. Yug
    There is a two year statute of limitations for personal injury in Nevada. If nothing is filed within two years of the incident he may have waived his right to a recovery.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A.
    Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A. | Paul L. Whitfield
    That would be 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: North Carolina
    Replied: 6/28/2013
    Sedin Begakis & Bish | Mindy Bish
    Generally the sol is 2 years. There are exceptions so more information would be necessary to insure that this matter falls within the general rule.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Joel H. Schwartz, P.C.
    Joel H. Schwartz, P.C. | Steven A. Schwartz
    The statute of limitations in Massachusetts for personal injury is 3 years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Bernard Huff, Attorney/Mediator
    Bernard Huff, Attorney/Mediator | Bernard Huff
    Indiana has a two year state statute of limitaion for personal injury actions. However, the time period may be tolled if the alleged injured party is a minor.
    Answer Applies to: Indiana
    Replied: 8/8/2012
    Brankey & Smith, P.C. | Rodney L. Smith
    There is a 2 year statute of limitations on most personal injury cases unless the injured person is a minor.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/8/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney