What if a 32-year-old man had sex with my 13-year-old daughter what can I do? 18 Answers as of February 19, 2013

My daughter told me that he was having sex with her.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq.
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq. | John J. Carney
That would be statutory rape and you could have him arrested or just keep him away from your daughter. If she is having sex with a 32 year old man that shows poor decision making and she will make bad decisions like that in the future unless you get a good education, counseling, a mentor, and a lot of good advice.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 2/19/2013
The Law Offices of Seth D. Schraier
The Law Offices of Seth D. Schraier | Seth D. Schraier
If you believe there's a factual basis to this, then you should contact the police. If the police believe after investigation that there is truth to this then they will move forward and arrest the 32 year old individual based on statutory rape.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 2/6/2013
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Report it to police.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 2/6/2013
Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
File a police report taking your daughter with you. Forbid your daughter to have contact with him. Also file a restraining order.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/6/2013
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
I would report this to the police. It is a crime.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/6/2013
    Law Office of Gerald E. Smith
    Law Office of Gerald E. Smith | Gerald E. Smith
    The first thing you want to do is protect your daughter. You should contact the police and make a report. The police will likely take your daughter to a medical facility to be examined. This will be the start of a long process where the courts and Child Protective Services (CPS) will get involved. It will be a very emotional time, please have someone close to help you and your family out with emotional support.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/6/2013
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
    Call the police. By the phone call, you may start a social services investigation. So, you should be prepared to answer questions regarding the level of supervision over your daughter that was in place to keep her safe.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/6/2013
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    In Michigan such activities are statutory rape and can, and will be, prosecuted. Make your complaint to the local police or County prosecutor.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/4/2013
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    You can report it to the authorities. They would then investigate. If the authorities felt they could prove that the sexual acts had occurred, they would charge the man.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 2/4/2013
    Gregory R. LaMarca, P.C.
    Gregory R. LaMarca, P.C. | Gregory R. LaMarca
    What the 32 year old man did allegedly to your13 year old daughter constitutes a serious crime in the State of New York. The crime is called Rape in the Second Degree, a Class D Felony. You should call the police and report this crime as soon as possible.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/4/2013
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    A 32 year-old person having sex with a 13 year-old girl is violating California Penal Code Sections 261.5 statutory rape and Penal Code Section 288 lewd act with a child. P.C. 261.5. (a) Unlawful sexual intercourse is an act of sexual intercourse accomplished with a person who is not the spouse of the perpetrator, if the person is a minor. For the purposes of this section, a "minor" is a person under the age of 18 years and an "adult" is a person who is at least 18 years of age. Any person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is under 16 years of age is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for two, three, or four years. P.C. 288. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (i), any person who willfully and lewdly commits any lewd or lascivious act, including any of the acts constituting other crimes provided for in Part 1, upon or with the body, or any part or member thereof, of a child who is under the age of 14 years, with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust, passions, or sexual desires of that person or the child, is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years. (b) (1) Any person who commits an act described in subdivision (a) by use of force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person, is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 5, 8, or 10 years. (2) Any person who is a caretaker and commits an act described in subdivision (a) upon a dependent person by use of force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person, with the intent described in subdivision (a), is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 5, 8, or 10 years. Report the incidents to both your police department and to Child Protective Services.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/4/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney