What happens with retail fraud in the second degree? 9 Answers as of July 20, 2012

i was with my cousin who was stealing from target and i am a minor who is 16 he is 21 i was with him and got charged with second degree retail fraud and possesion of alchohal as a min what should i do?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
If you need specific legal advice for your particular circumstances, I encourage you to privately consult with a lawyer. If you are charged with an offense and cannot afford to pay for your own defense, the court may appoint you an attorney payable at the public's expense. You have a right to counsel. Retail fraud second degree is a misdemeanor, punishable upon conviction by up to a year in jail, fines, costs, probation up to two years, restitution, or other sanctions at the court's discretion. Because the seriousness of the offense, your cousin should strongly consider retaining an attorney or requesting court-appointed counsel.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/20/2012
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Have your parents get you an attorney and the person may be able to work it out that you have no record.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/2/2012
Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
You should seek the advice from an attorney in your area right away. What happens with retail fraud in the second degree.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/1/2012
Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
You should consider hiring an attorney to go over your case and represent you in Court. If charged as a juvenile, you could be eligible for diversion. If as an adult, you could be offered a first offender program or YTA program. These have certain advantages that your attorney will explain.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 5/25/2012
Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
If you are with someone shoplifting and know they are stealing and not report them, you can be charged. Also being a minor in possession of alcohol, you can be charged. Personally, I would contact an attorney.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 5/25/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    It is a misdemeanor, you need to talk with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/25/2012
    Hilf & Hilf PLC
    Hilf & Hilf PLC | Daniel Hilf
    Discuss it wit your parents if they don't know already. You will need a lawyer - you can get a court appointed lawyer if you and your parents can't afford one.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/24/2012
    Clos, Russell & Wirth, P.C. | Gary A. Russell
    It is unclear from your facts whether you have been charged as a juvenile, or if you have been charged as an adult. The procedure, sanctions and advice regarding your charges depend entirely upon which manner you were charged. As an adult, a retail fraud second degree charge is a misdemeanor with the maximum penalty of up to 1 year in jail or a fine to not exceed $2,000.00 or three times the value of the property stolen (whichever is greater), or both fine and imprisonment. The minor in possession of alcohol has varying penalties depending upon whether it is your first offense or a subsequent offense. You should obtain legal counsel to advise you further.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/24/2012
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    You need an attorney. These are serious and can have a significant effect on your future.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/24/2012
Click to View More Answers: