What happens if you get pulled over without a license after a second DUI? 7 Answers as of February 24, 2012

What happens if you get pulled over driving without a license, after a second DUI, no registered plates, and no insurance?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lewis & Dickstein, P.L.L.C.
Lewis & Dickstein, P.L.L.C. | Loren Dickstein
Generally, you get arrested. As it relates to the charge, you may be charged with driving while license suspended which is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 93 days in jail. The maximum for a second offense is 1 year in jail.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/24/2012
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
You get charged with driving on a suspended license (or revoked) no plates and no insurance. Depending on whether you have priors for driving on suspended license, you can get up to 1 year in jail. If no priors then up to 93 days. This is in addition to fines and costs and a further suspension of your license.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/13/2012
Nichols Law Firm
Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
You risk going to jail. You should contact a qualified DUI attorney immediately.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/8/2012
Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
You could get charged with DWLS, and it could extend the time you have to wait to ask for a hearing with the Secretary of State to get your license back.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/6/2012
Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C. | Shaun Marks
You will be charged with 3 offenses: driving while suspended or revoked, no insurance, and driving an unregistered vehicle. Each of these offenses is a misdemeanor that carries up to 93 days in jail and or a fine of up to 500 dollars. In addition, you will have additional suspension time added on to your license, most likely an additional year before you will be eligible to apply for a drivers license. Furthermore, you will also be assessed driver responsibility fees for these qualifying offenses. That will probably be at least an additional 500 dollars per year for 2 years.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 2/6/2012
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
    If you cannot afford an attorney, the court may appoint you one payable at the public's expense as long as you meet the eligibility requirements. People with prior OUI's who get charged with additional OUI offenses may be charged as repeat offenders and, if convicted, may confront much longer potential jail terms, higher costs, more severe penalties, possible license revocation, higher bonds, or other potential sanctions. Further, if a person is charged with a third OUI offense, they could be charged with a felony. However, regardless of the circumstances, the burden of proof is on the prosecutor. If the prosecutor is unable to procure the necessary proofs, a pending case may be dismissed or dropped. In certain situations, effective advocacy by the defense through the use of timely motions may result in court-orders prohibiting the introduction of certain key pieces of evidence. However, those motions may not be available depending on a person's circumstances. Anyone charged with a moving violation should strongly consider retaining a lawyer to assist them. They need to know their rights. Most attorneys provide free initial consultations.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/6/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You get charged with multiple crimes and your license gets revoked for a much longer period of time.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/6/2012
Click to View More Answers: