What happens if I get pulled over and have a suspended license? 75 Answers as of June 26, 2013

What happens if I get pulled over and have a suspended license?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
You will probably be charged with Driving While License Suspended (DWLS). If it's your first offense, it's a 93-day misdemeanor with fines up to $500 plus court costs.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 8/24/2011
Palumbo and Kosofsky
Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
You get arrested.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 6/26/2013
Law Office of Andrew Subin
Law Office of Andrew Subin | Andrew Subin
Driving with a suspended license is a criminal offense. You can be arrested and taken to jail.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 8/15/2011
Law Office of James A Schoenberger
Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
You could be charged with driving while suspended, in addition to whatever you were pulled over for.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 8/15/2011
Law Office of Sara Sencer McArdle
Law Office of Sara Sencer McArdle | Sara Sencer McArdle
There are various penalties involved and you could lose your license for 6 mos. You need to consult with an attorney. You can call me for further information.
Answer Applies to: New Jersey
Replied: 8/15/2011
    The English Law Firm
    The English Law Firm | Robert English
    You can be charged with a misdemeanor offense such as Vehicle Code 14601 for driving on a suspended license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/12/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    You would be charges under the statute prohibiting driving while your license is under a suspension. You may or may not be arrested depending upon the policies of the police department which charged you.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 8/11/2011
    Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
    Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
    You will most likely be charged with driving with a suspended license. If so you should hire an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/11/2011
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    First offense - it is Class B Misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/11/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You will be charged with 511-1, 511-2, or 511-3, depending on why your license was suspended for. Either way you will plead to 511-1 or 511-a1 and pay a fine after you clear your license or get it back from DMV. I charge about $500 for that type case.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Grant & Grant
    Grant & Grant | Richard L. Grant, Esq.
    Your car will get impounded and be charged with a Misdemeanor Driving on Suspended License that could subject you to possible jail time. An experienced traffic attorney can make the difference in the outcome of your case. If I may be of further assistance, please contact myself.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Advanced Litigation Services
    Advanced Litigation Services | Joseph Iarussi
    You will receive a ticket for driving under a suspended license.If your license is suspended for a DUI related incident then you could be arrested and facing 30 days in jail if convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    You may be charged with a criminal offense. A first offense is a misdemeanor punishable buy up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. Subsequent offenses are more serious.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel | Gregory M. Abel
    It depends on if you have been cited with Driving While Suspended before.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    You will likely be arrested. If the suspension is for a DWI you would be subjected to mandatory jail if convicted. The offense is a violation level matter so the intent is not technically required, but most judge's will require that actual notice of the suspension be provided to you. You should consult with a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones | B. Elaine Jones
    If you get pulled over and have a suspended license, and you know about it, which you apparently do, you will go to jail. You either need to quit driving until your suspension is over and clear up your driver's license problem. You are taking a real chance of going to jail, every time you drive now.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C.
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C. | Wayne Brucar
    Driving on a Suspended License is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois punishable by up to one year in jail and up to a $2500.00 fine. If the suspension is based on a DUI, there is mandatory minimum jail time. If you have had prior Driving on Suspended License charges, the consequences become more severe as they accumulate.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Law Offices of Jeffery A. Cojocar, PC
    Law Offices of Jeffery A. Cojocar, PC | Jeffery A. Cojocar
    You will be arrested and be charged with DWLS 2.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    If suspended for an alcohol or DUI type charge, there is a 30 day minimum mandatory jail sentence and $10000 bond possible plus an additional year of suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    The Law Offices of Robert L. Driessen
    The Law Offices of Robert L. Driessen | Robert L. Driessen
    It will depend upon the the reason your drivers license was suspended. Can you get a valid drivers license? Do your best to get one as this will be the best for you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Bloom Legal, LLC
    Bloom Legal, LLC | Seth J. Bloom
    A conviction for driving on a suspended license in Louisiana carries penalties of 15 days - 6 months in prison. If you are seeking legal representation in this matter, I invite you to contact my firm at the information on this page for a free case evaluation.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    You will be charged with one of several misdemeanor violations under Section 14601 of the Vehicle Code which carry different minimum penalties depending on what your license was suspended.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton | Cindy Barton
    Driving with a suspended license is a Class B misdemeanor.That can subject you to jail time and a fine, but judges don't usually impose jail time unless you have a record of doing so.Driving on a suspended license will result in more suspension time from DMV.The amount of time depends upon the reason your license was suspended in the first place, and if you have had previous tickets for driving on suspended license.Really best not to drive unless you have a valid license.You can get a copy of your driving record from DMV and know when and why your license is suspended.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
    You will be charged with driving while suspended.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    You will be arrested and charged with operating a vehicle without a valid driver's license. The officer could arrest you and take you to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    If you get pulled over with a suspended license you will be charged with a misdemeanor offense with a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. Additionally, if convicted your license will be re-suspended for a longer period of time and you may or may not be eligible for a limited license (work permit). Depending on how many prior offenses you have and the municipality where the offense occurred will determine if you are going to have to do jail time, community service, pay a fine and/or be on probation
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law | Michael Maltby
    Usually you will just be cited and released with a promise to appear. You could be arrested in some circumstances but that is fairly rare with just a suspended license charge.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
    Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law | Michael R. Nack
    In most cases you will be given a ticket for driving while suspended, although some police may actually arrest you and take you into custody. They certainly should not just give you a ticket and then let you drive away while you are still suspended. At any rate, if you are charged with driving while suspended, you should hire an attorney to represent you. A conviction will result in jail time and also result in your driver's license being revoked for one year. If you are able to get your license reinstated, an attorney should be able to negotiate a plea bargain under which you will not receive a conviction, and thereby avoid any jail time as well.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
    You will get a ticket.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    You could be charged with driving while your license is suspended, and depending upon why your license is suspended and whether or not you have any criminal history, could risk a conviction, jail, a fine, court costs and possibly probation.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 6/26/2013
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You go to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    If you are pulled over driving on a suspended license, the police will either arrest you on the spot for Operating After License Suspended and your car will be towed. If you are lucky enough to have a passenger who has a valid license and the cop wants to give you a break, he may let your passenger drive your car from the scene and send you a summons in the mail to appear in court to face the charge. You would be wise to not take the risk.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC | Lacy Fields
    You will receive a citation for driving while suspended. If your suspension is due to a failure to appear or a missed payment from another court, you likely also have a warrant and will be arrested on that warrant.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    You may get charged with Aggravated Unlicensed Operation, a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    You could be arrested, jailed, and charged with a misdemeanor, plus whatever traffic violations are written up. Sometimes, the officer will take the easy way out and only write you a citation to court on it. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, feel free to contact me.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    You will be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor, unless you have been suspended for DUI or other serious offense, or have many 6-303 arrests before, in which case you may be facing a felony, all charges carry fines, probation or jail time. Hire an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Smith & John
    Smith & John | Kenneth Craig Smith, Jr.
    You could be arrested, taken to jail and made to post bail. If you are convicted, in addition to any fine or jail time that may be imposed, your driver's license will be suspended for an additional year to the current suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Expert Bronx Criminal Lawyers
    Expert Bronx Criminal Lawyers | Alexander Sanchez
    You are subject to arrest pursuant to VTL 511. This is a class A misdemeanor, and you are actually facing jail.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You should be arrested for driving on a suspended license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/9/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    August 8, 2011 Depends on where you are pulled over. You will almost certainly receive a ticket for driving with license suspended. Your car might also be towed.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    A.L.A. Law Group, LLP
    A.L.A. Law Group, LLP | Lauren M. Mayfield
    It will depend on the reason for the suspension. Punishments vary based on the reason for the suspension. For example you can face jail time if it was suspended because you had a DUI but you could get a driving class and fine for reasons such as unpaid court fines. You should call the DMV mandatory actions until to find out the reason for the suspension and then correct the problem and get a license prior to going into court, the DA under certain circumstances will reduce to an infraction with a smaller fine.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. | Carlos Gonzalez
    If you're in NYC you'll be arrested and charged with vtl 511 aggravated unlicensed operation of a vehicle, if outside of NYC then it's more likely you'll be given a summons to appear on court for the same thing. It is a misdemeanor, which is a criminal charge, you could technically face up to a year on prison although it's highly improbable you'll get any jail time at all...
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Attorney at Law
    Attorney at Law | Steven C. Bullock
    You will in all likelihood be arrested, handcuffed and taken to jail in order for you to post bond or see a judge that day or the next. You should contact an attorney to obtain an operator's license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C.
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C. | Michael Morgan
    You will probably be charged with a crime the seriousness depends on the degree of the suspension. You will have an arraignment (that can normally be waived) and some courts have re-licensing programs that help people get their license back.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    You will be arrested, and have to make bond. When you go to court months after the arrest, you will have to explain to the judge why you drove on the suspended license, and when your insurance co. finds out, your insurance will go up.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Apple Law Firm PLLC
    Apple Law Firm PLLC | David Goldman
    It depends on what you are pulled over for. You could get a ticket, or be arrested and go to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    If pulled over for a suspended license the action taken will depend on why your license was suspended. Depending on the reason you may be issued a ticket or taken into custody to go in front of a judge.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    You are probably going to be charged with another suspended license. The seriousness depends on why it was suspended. Speak with an attorney who can review your driving history and determine the potential penalties you are dealing with.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    John Segelbaum, P.S.
    John Segelbaum, P.S. | John Segelbaum
    Driving on a suspended license is crime, for which you can go to jail, pay a fine and even lose your license for an additional period of time. If you get pulled over, you will get charged with a crime, you could be arrested and your car could be impounded. Contact my office for a free consultation.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    Thank you for your inquiry/ You can be charged with DWLS, which involves points on your record, possible delay in getting your license back, and possible financial responsibility fees in Michigan. You should consult with an attorney to discuss what can be done in y our specific Court. In some cases, taking the right steps can result in a different offense and even no points on your record. I hope that this was helpful.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Donahue, Sowa & Magana Attorneys at Law
    Donahue, Sowa & Magana Attorneys at Law | Glenn M. Sowa
    First of all, the police officer is not going to let you drive away. You will be taken into custody, processed, and given a court date. Bond is usually $100 cash, or you may get a recognizance bond, where you are released on your signature and promise to appear in court. If you are found guilty of this offense, punishments vary depending on the reason for the suspension/revocation, and if you have ever had any prior offenses. The possible punishments are too numerous to list here, but range from court supervision and a nominal fine to imprisonment in the penitentiary. Each case is different and must be analyzed by a competent criminal defense attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Harrison & Harrison
    Harrison & Harrison | Samuel Harrison
    A driving on a suspended charge will get you another suspension,a fine, and will bring you another step closet to being declared a habitual violator.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    It depends on the reason your license is suspended. Driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor that carries up to 6 months in county jail and/or a thousand dollar fine. If your license was suspended because of a DUI conviction, there is a mandatory 10 day jail sentence along with the requirement of an ignition interlock device being installed. They can impound your car and arrest you. If you're on probation, it can also be a violation of your probation to be caught driving on suspended license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    You could be arrested, searched, the car searched, the car towed, and you have to post bail or stay in jail until the court date. Or the cop could simply give you a summons to appear in court, and allow another driver to drive your car, or let you park it in a parking lot of a business instead of towing.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    If your license is suspended and you get pulled over, there will likely be charged with VC 14601, or one of it's subsections. The specific charge would depend on why your license is suspended. For instance, if your license was suspended for a DUI conviction, the charge would be VC 14601.2. Then penalty can also differ depending on the exact charge, but can include mandatory Jail time. In short, if you have not been pulled over and charged with driving on a suspended license yet, don't risk it. It is not worth the risk. If you have been charged, I would recommend speaking to an attorney about your case in order to potentially get the charges dismissed or mitigate consequences.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    The Law Office of James McKain
    The Law Office of James McKain | James McKain
    Driving with a suspended license is a criminal charge in Washington. Depending on why your license was suspended to begin with, the maximum penalty could be 365 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you have been charged with driving with license suspended you should call an attorney so you can discuss the particulars of your case in a safe and confidential manner.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Boske Law Offices
    Boske Law Offices | Michael A Boske
    Your car will be towed and you may be arrested.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Offices of Sean Logue
    Law Offices of Sean Logue | Sean Logue
    If it is suspended for a driving charge, you will most likely lose the license for an extra year. However, if it was suspended for DUI, you are looking at 60 days in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    You go to jail, generally. Depends on what it is suspended for as to what the punishment is.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Elmbrook Law Offices
    Elmbrook Law Offices | Gregory Straub
    You will be issued a citation for driving after suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    You vehicle may be towed and you will receive the appropriate motor vehicle summons charging you with driving whiel suspended. You may have to post bail to be released. If found guilty you will lose your New Jerey driving privileges; be fined and perhaps put in jail.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    You can get arrested for operating a motor vehicle with a suspended license. The police officer can give you a desk appearance ticket or take you in and keep you in jail until you see the judge, which can take up to 24 hours.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Lewis & Dickstein, P.L.L.C.
    Lewis & Dickstein, P.L.L.C. | Loren Dickstein
    If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you get arrested and your car gets towed. Why not get your license back?
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    Typically you will be cited for a 14601 or a 12500 and the car will be towed. However, the police also have the option to arrest you and take you into custody. Driving on a suspended license is very serious and the fines are very high.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Wallin & Klarich
    Wallin & Klarich | Stephen D. Klarich
    It would depend on why your license was suspended. If for alcohol reasons- it could be mandatory jail time. If for being a negligent operator (too many points) that also could trigger jail time. If merely for a failure to appear, you should clear them up prior to appearing in court on the driving on suspended case. Also- if you have suffered prior convictions for the same crime, the punishments can be a lot worse.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Depending on what caused the suspension in the first place. If it was DUI-related, then you face VC 14601.2 and a minimum of 10 days in county jail, unless your lawyer is able to have it reduced.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
    The police will likely impound your car and you will not get it back for 30 days. You will be facing misdemeanor charges where you will be facing jail time and a high fine and probation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    Chances are your car will be impounded at your expense. The best plan is to try to get your license back before you go to court. If not, ask for a continuance so you can get your license. Most judges and DAs will reduce the charges to driving without a license which is easier to take. If the license suspension was caused by a DUI it is more serious. Minimum 5-10 days jail. Get your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Jason Overton, Attorney at Law
    Jason Overton, Attorney at Law | Jason Overton
    You'll be arrested.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Michael D. Fluke, P.A.
    Michael D. Fluke, P.A. | Michael D. Fluke
    Driving on a suspended license with knowledge is a crime and you can be arrested. 3rd time can be charged as a felony. If you do not have a valid license, you should avoid driving a vehicle. Officers do randomly run plates and if the vehicle comes back to a suspended owner, you can be pulled over. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    You will get arrested and go to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/8/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney