What happens if I get a conviction for DUI the 2nd time? 60 Answers as of March 06, 2012

What happens if I get a 2nd conviction for DUI? Will I lose my license? How should I got about this? My first offense was in another state.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
A second offense DUI can result in a fine of up to $2500 and jail time up to 12 months.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 3/6/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
30 days in jail mandatory; fine and costs approximately $1600.00; 2 year revocation of drivers license; one year ignition interlock; alcohol/ drug evaluation and treatment per the court; SR 22 high risk insurance; and DUI victim impact panel.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 3/5/2012
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
A 2nd OUI conviction demands jail time. A lawyer should be able to avoid the jail time requirement for you, but don't take this lightly. A 2nd offense OUI is a big deal.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
Replied: 3/5/2012
Law Office of Jason D. Baltz | Jason Daniel Baltz
A conviction for a 2nd offense OWI carries with it jail time, installation of an ignition interlock device, AODA, a large fine and a driver's license suspension. That being said, you should have an attorney represent you to minimize your exposure and to look into the conviction from the other state. If the conviction was from a different state, it was probably a criminal conviction. Because it was a criminal proceeding (unlike Wisconsin's first offense, which is a civil forfeiture and not criminal), you had a 6th amendment right to an attorney. If you were denied your right to an attorney or did not knowingly, intelligently or voluntarily waive your right to an attorney, then you may be able to collaterally attack the first conviction. In other words, if you succeed in that argument, then the first conviction cannot count against you and your 2nd offense becomes a 1st offense.
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Replied: 3/5/2012
Law Office of Michael R. Garber
Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
Yes, your license will be suspended. What happens will depend on what you are charged with. Even though it is your second offense you might only be charged with 1st offense. You ought to talk to a lawyer.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 3/5/2012
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    Your offense in the other state counts so this is your second offense. Whether you lose your license depends on the outcome of this case, the facts of this case, and the date of the prior. Hire a lawyer as soon as possible.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 3/5/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    They will at least suspend your license if not revoke it and you can get up to a year in jail. Yes the conviction from another state counts.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/5/2012
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
    Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
    I'd advise you to retain a lawyer to assist you with this matter. You are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. You have a right to counsel. If you cannot afford an attorney, you should be able to request that the court appoint you an attorney payable at the public's expense. In Michigan, the prosecutor may charge a person with a a prior conviction on the record with the an OUI "second:" it carries enhanced penalties of up to a year in jail, fines, costs, probation, license suspension up to one year, or other sanctions. In Michigan, the prior convictions in previous states may be used as the basis for an enhanced OUI charge. Further, if a person has two or more priors, they may be charged with an OUI "third," which is felony. People convicted of OUI Thirds occasionally go to prison in Michigan, so any enhanced charge is potentially serious. I'd recommend you privately consult with a lawyer. Most attorneys provide free initial consultations.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    You may lose your license for a year because of points from a DUI and whatever companion charge(s) with it that gave reason for the officers to stop you but the Mo. Dept of Revenue may then refuse to reissue the license for 5 years on a second conviction. That previous conviction may also result in the prosecution enhancing the new charge which can substantially increase the range of possible sentence.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    A second offense is a serious crime and you will need a lawyer. Things to look into are the date of your prior, the test result and sentence, which state and will they be able to prove the prior.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    Upon a second conviction for OWI, the secretary of state will suspend your driver's license. There is no hardship appeal. You should consult with an attorney regarding your present case.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
    A second DUI carries 96 hours mandatory custody (it can be served over two weekends) and about $2K in fines. Your license will be suspended for one to two years and you will have to take the Multiple Conviction Program to get it back. You should have an attorney check out the first conviction. Sometimes convictions from other states are different enough to merit having the stricken, especially if it was not very recent. If this DUI can be called a first - or if you can get a wet reckless - then you will have much more options with your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady | Kevin O'Grady
    If a subsequent DUI is a qualified DUI, that is it occurred under certain legal conditions, most importantly within a certain time period after the first one, then the punishments for the second one are greater; increased jail, fines, license revocation etc. However, the government must prove, in addition to all the elements of the DUI, the fact that the prior one exists and is qualified under the law. Hire an aggressive attorney who will attack the prosecution at every step of the way.
    Answer Applies to: Hawaii
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    The Law Firm of Aaron Bortel Esq.
    The Law Firm of Aaron Bortel Esq. | Aaron Bortel
    You will lose your license if convicted of a 2nd DUI within 10 years of the arrest for your first DUI. Some out of state DUI's will not count as DUI's in CA, but you need a lawyer to help you here and advise on many more issues than the license. If you lose the license and the conviction is considered a 2nd DUI by DMV, you will usually be able to get an interlock license after 3 months of suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    A second offense of DUI within 10 years of a prior DUI in any state can result in significantly stiffer penalties, including themandatory loss of your driving privileges for one year absolute- no restricted privileges. The fine is increased to a maximum of $2000 and there is a possible 1 year jail sentence, a mandatory 10 day jail sentence 2 days of which is mandatory and consecutive but the jail time can be served in a sheriff's labor detail.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    The maximum penalty for a gross misdemeanor dui is 1 year and/or a $3000 fine. The mandatory minimum is 30 days in jail. You will certainly have your license revoked. Please contact an attorney as soon as possible to discuss your issues fully.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/2/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    If your out-of-state conviction meets certain constitutional requirements and, if it occurred within ten years of the current offense, you will be charged with a gross misdemeanor. There will also be a mandatory minimum jail term per statute. You will lose your license.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Dowdy Law Office
    Dowdy Law Office | J. Scott Dowdy
    Get an attorney fast. A second offense has mandatory jail time and a one year absolute suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C.
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C. | Wayne Brucar
    Any DUI conviction in Illinois will result in a revocation of your license. You always have the option of contesting the DUI by taking it to trial.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    Doesn't matter if it was another State. The range of punishment is $4k and a year in jail. You need to hire the best DWI attorney you can afford.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    2nd conviction means mandatory 10 days of jail also, 1 year license loss if the 1st was within 5 years, then additional nasties.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Law Office of Patrick Lewis, LLC | Patrick M. Lewis
    Second time DUI is a Class A misdemeanor in Kansas. The penalty is up to one year in the county jail and a fine of up to $2,500. It is a very serious matter and requires the immediate attention of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact one immediately. There are far too many factors which come into play to tell you about all possibilities in this kind of a forum. Do not delay in contacting or hiring an attorney. There can be license consequences in addition to the criminal case and there are filing deadlines which must be met to protect your driving privileges. Do not talk with anyone other than your attorney about the facts. What you say, or post, to anyone else could be used against you.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    In orange county, the usual Sentence includes a suspension of your driver's license and 60 days of county jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    SECOND OFFENSE DUI (1 PRIOR WITHIN 10 YEARS) PROBATION: 3-to-5 years Informal Probation JAIL: 96-hours minimum mandatory jail and up to one year jail maximum may be imposed. In Orange County , the jail sentence typically averages between 30 and 90 days. COURT FINES: Minimum $390.00 fine to maximum of $1000.00 Note, however that the $390.00 minimum fine, after adding penalty assessments and miscellaneous court fees, results in a total amount due of approximately $1400.00-to-$1800.00. DUI SCHOOL : Attendance at 18-month Multiple Offender Program (MOP) required COURT MAY ALSO ORDER: Impound Vehicle up to 30-days if owned by defendant Ignition Interlock Device for up to 3-years INCREASED PENALTIES FOR DUI ENHANCEMENTS: Refusal/Forced Blood Mandatory additional 96 hours Jail Passenger in Vehicle Under Age 14 Mandatory additional 10 days Jail Speeding = 30 mph on Freeway or = 20 mph on Street or Highway Mandatory additional 60 days Jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Law Office of Patrick E. Donovan, PLLC
    Law Office of Patrick E. Donovan, PLLC | Patrick E. Donovan
    Call competent counsel and defend the case. In NH, a DUI 2nd offense carries mandatory minimum sentence that includes a 3 year loss of license, as well as jail time depending on when your first conviction occurred. If the first conviction occurred more than 10 years ago, then this offense will be treated as a first. If it occurred less than 10 years ago, then it is a second. A second conviction within 2 years of the first carries a mandatory minimum 37 day house of correction sentence (with 7 of those days being served in an inpatient treatment program). If the second conviction occurred between 10 and 2 years from the first, the jail sentence is 10 days, with only 3 being served at the house of corrections and 7 at an inpatient facility or multiple offender program. Call an attorney and get a clear idea what you are facing.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    Your license can be revoked so you better hire an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Joseph T. Barberi, P.C.
    Joseph T. Barberi, P.C. | Geoffrey K. Rettig
    In Michigan, a second offense with 7 years (date of conviction to date of conviction) will result in a mandatory 1-5 year revocation of your driving privileges. Convictions from other states can be used, but an experienced attorney may be able to help. Michigan also has mandatory jail time for a second offense so it would be wise to contact an attorney early in the process.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    HIRE A LAWYER!!! DUI/DWI is serious in Texas and we do not take it lightly. You can find more information on www.collincountylawyer.net (click on the DUI/DWI tab). A second DUI/DWI is a Misdemeanor A (up to $4000 fine and up to 1 year in jail or any combination of the two). You will loose your license for some period, it depends on the BAC an other factors, again see the chart at collincountylawyer.net and there is an administrative fee for your license for three years. This is not something you can handle yourself unless you know how to set an ALR, handle an ALR hearing, work a strategy to get a statement and lock the arresting officer down during the ALR, then present that testimony at trial. You also need to understand FSTs, the intoxilyzer algorithm, and affirmative defenses. NEVER, NEVER, NEVER ATTEMPT TO REPRESENT YOURSELF IN A DUI/DWI CASE. Even if you are a skilled lawyer, it is suicide to represent yourself in a criminal case, particularly one such as a DWI.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Goodgame Law, LLC
    Goodgame Law, LLC | Jeffrey L Goodgame
    A second DUI can result in double fines and double punishment. You should consult an attorney because a DUI can result in serious consequences. Your license will be suspended, however, a skilled attorney can challenge the license suspension and possibly get a reduction in the length of the suspension, or in some cases, no suspension at all.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    If you have a prior DUI conviction within the past two years, you are facing the following penalties if you plead guilty or plead guilty: $750 + 24% penalty assessment, 30 consecutive days in jail followed by 7 days at a multiple offender treatment program and a 3 year loss of license. If you have a prior DUI conviction more than 2 years ago but less than 10 years ago, you face the same penalties but only 3 days in jail. In both cases you are also required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for at least 12 months upon reinstatement of your driver's license. These are the minimum penalties in NH. DWI, 2nd offense is a Class A Misdemeanor with a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail and a $2,000 fine + 24% penalty assessment. These penalties do not include any administrative action by the NH Department of Safety for a refusing a chemical test pursuant to the implied consent law. You should retain an experienced DUI attorney in your area to represent you in this case.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    If you are convicted, you can expect to lose your license for at least as long as it takes you to complete the community service, pay the fines, and do the DUI class.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Ayodele M. Ojo & Associates
    Ayodele M. Ojo & Associates | Ayodele Mayowa Ojo
    Yes, you will lose your license for a period of time.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    If you get a second DWI you will face possible jail time, an interlocutory device on your car if they eventually let you drive again, and huge insurance payments. Drinking and driving is like firing a gun at a moving train and hoping that no one gets hit by the bullets. You could have avoided all of that by simply calling a taxi, but you are not a good decision maker. You will have to make much better decisions in the future. You should retain a good criminal attorney to try to get a DWUI violation instead of the DWI, which is a misdemeanor. Most states have contracts to make it as if the first conviction was in the other state so that it will be a second conviction with more severe punishments. If your first conviction was a DWI the second will be a felony and you could even be sentenced to a state prison term.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/1/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    You will lose your license and the judge will probably sentence you to jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Fagan, Fagan & Davis
    Fagan, Fagan & Davis | Steven H. Fagan
    If your first (out of state) DUI occurred at a time you were licensed in Illinois, your second conviction will result in a 5-year revocation of your driving privileges in Illinois. Your earliest eligibility for a restricted driving permit (RDP) would be after one year.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Yes. For at least one year and they you can try to overturn the revocation. It is a very complex battle and you need a skilled attorney to fight for you.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    It depends on whether that other state is part of the Interstate Compact on Drivers' Licenses. It also depends on how old the conviction is. Your best source of information is the Washington State Department of Licensing's website.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    It depends on how long ago the other offense was.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Dungan, Lady, Kirkpatrick & Dungan PLLC | Michael Dungan
    If it is your second conviction within 7 years, your license be revoked for one year, even with the first offense from out of state.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    For a 2nd DUI conviction in 10 years, yes, you face up to a year in jail, fines, suspension/revocation of license, etc. The other state conviction counts as a prior. Of course you can fight the charges. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all appropriate defenses with whatever witnesses, evidence and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or for trial. Effective plea-bargaining, using those defenses, could possibly reduce the potential time. and other penalties you face. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. A little free advice: When charged or arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic one year suspension of your license imposed by DMV for a 2nd DUI. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    If your prior was in another state, the DMV will treat is as a first offense while criminal courts will treat it as a second offense. The DMV suspension depends upon your BAC but would generally be a 90 day suspension. The criminal penalty is 6 months to 1 year in jail and potentially $1000-$3000 in fines.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    A second offense can be very complicated especially if the first one was less than five years ago. You can lose your license several different ways for a second DUI and in court the is mandatory jail time for second conviction which can sometimes be served as work release or home detention.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache | Stephanie Arrache
    If this is charged as your second DUI, you are looking at loss of license, jail time, fines, classes and an IID (depending on the jurisdiction). You need to consult an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    The punishment for a second DUI offense can be up to one year to serve in the county or municipal jail, of which five days cannot be suspended or probated. The Court can order 30 days of community service in lieu of the incarceration. The fines range from $2,100 to $5,100. Your driving privileges should be suspended for not less than one year.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    The Umansky Law Firm
    The Umansky Law Firm | William D. Umansky
    You could lose your license for five years. Hire a competent lawyer to help you.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    If the systems are linked up, then yes you will be facing a second offense. Your face a 2-year license suspension, not to mention a criminal record that comes with probation, alcohol school, IID installation, 2 points on your driving record, a minimum of 4 days in jail, and fines exceeding $2000. Which is all reason to hire a DUI specialist to try to get a reduction so you can avoid some or all of these consequences.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Rhoades & Miller, LLP
    Rhoades & Miller, LLP | M. Jason Rhoades
    The consequences of a second DUI depend largely on how long ago your first DUI was. Also, the specifics of your DUI, along with how quickly you get an aggressive attorney working for you will factor in to how your case is resolved.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
    For a second or subsequent offense a defendant the possible jail term and/or fine can be increased.
    Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Hammerschmidt Broughton Law
    Hammerschmidt Broughton Law | Mark A. Broughton
    Any DUI is a serious offense with significant consequences, and a second within 10 years is even worse. Yes, you will lose your license - for 2 years, although, you can get a restricted license after 90 days under certain circumstances. It does not matter that your first DUI was in another state, now with the interstate compact. All states know what has happened in the other states. If the DA runs your record and discovers it, and files it in the complaint, it will be your second. There are some things that can be done in this situation, but you'll need the help of a good criminal defense attorney. Don't delay! You may have defenses that are slipping through your fingers.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    I highly recommend that you get an experienced DUI attorney to handle this case for you. If convicted of a 2nd DUI, there is mandatory jail time, a 2 year license suspension, and other penalties. There are some alternatives, and it is possible to get 2nd DUI's reduced to lesser charges. What state is your prior in? It may be possible to strike the prior for sentencing purposes.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law | Edward A. Kroll
    What happens depends on where this DUI happened. Certain counties require 30 days or more in jail for a 2nd DUI conviction. If you are convicted, you will lose your license for at least 1 year, and possibly 3 years. You should talk to an attorney as soon as you possibly can.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    If in illinois, expect a revocation of your license for at least a year, probably longer, as you will need to submit the matter to a formal hearing officer and be able to prove hardshil, plus, more importantly, lack of risk in the future to the driving public. Even with that, you will get a restricted driving permit, and probably have a BAID machine installed in your vehicle, which will register your alcohol content continuously while driving and when you start the car, beware of the zero tolerance law, which will pull that permit if even a trace of alcohol is found on your breath. Hire a really good attorney to defend you, as this is your second offense, and jail is a possibility.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    Your license will be revoked. You will have to go through a reinstatement hearing at the Secretary of State's office.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot | Susan Correia Champa
    The first question is did they charge you as a second offense? Typically you will lose your license and be required to participate in a two week in patient program. One year probation.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Ellman and Ellman PC
    Ellman and Ellman PC | Kevin Ellmann
    You are certainly at great risk of losing your license if this is a second offense for you. However, because the prior offense was in another state, you only have to win the DMV action in order to avoid losing your license. I STRONGLY encourage you to seek the assistance of a qualified DUI defense attorney to assist and advise you through this process as you also face a likely jail sentence! Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    A conviction for a Second DUI can lead to a 3 year suspension of your Oregon Driver's License (no matter where the first offense occurred). With the help of an experienced DUI Lawyer you may be able to mitigate this punishment or fight the case at trial. The only way to not lose your license for 3 years would be to beat the case and not be convicted with the help of a DUI Lawyer you will stand the best chance. There are many factors that play into the amount of penalties an individual will face for a DUI conviction. A DUI charge in Oregon has a maximum penalty of up to 1 year in jail, and a $6,250 fine. A DUI also has a minimum $1,000 fine and 2 days jail. An experienced DUI Lawyer may help to push this 'punishment' to the lowest end possible, or get you eligible for AIP (Alternate Incarceration Programs). Fine a good DUI Lawyer who will be able to assist your father through these complex issues.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 2/29/2012
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    A 2nd has serious mandatory consequences if you are convicted. If prior is out of state then you may be able exclude. You should contact an experienced DWI lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 2/29/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!