What is going to happen with a .2 BAC DUI? 11 Answers as of June 03, 2015

What is going to happen with a .2 BAC DUI?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Richard B. Jacobson & Associates, LLC | Richard B. Jacobson
The first thing that will happen is that you will retain an experienced lawyer. The penalty which I think is what concerns you, depends upon a number of factors, including how many prior convictions you have had for similar offenses in the past ten years, whether there was an accident or other seriously bad driving, and nowadays, and very importantly, whether you have begun some treatment program for substance abuse.
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Replied: 6/3/2015
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
.2..... that is over 2x the legal limit. If it is your first DUI and you are convicted, the MINIMUM penalty is 2 days in jail, fines and costs of roughly $2,000.00, alcohol/drug evaluation and follow recommended treatment, DUI victim panel, AA or other support groups attendance a minimum of 2x per week for the duration of probation (which is 5 years), one year loss of license, followed by one year of ignition interlock, SR 22 insurance (high risk insurance).
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 6/3/2015
Law Office of Robert E McCall | Robert McCall
Unknown for sure but you probably will go to jail. Judge makes decision.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 6/3/2015
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
Potential jail time. You should hire an attorney to help you fight the charges.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/3/2015
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
You need to hire a DUI specialist, and do it soon because you have only 10 days to save your license.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/3/2015
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    If you don't fight it, you will have a 6-9 month DUI class, fine, probation and possible increased punishment because of the high BAC.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/3/2015
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    Depends on the quality of your DUI attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/3/2015
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    That is enhanced in Michigan. There is no set answer except you need an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/3/2015
    Best DUI Lawyer
    Best DUI Lawyer | Aniko Hoover
    .2 will result in a 9 month DUI class instead of 3 month or 6 month DUI class.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/3/2015
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq.
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq. | Stephanie Lee Ehrbright
    In Arizona you would fall in to a category called Super Extreme DUI. If it is your first ever DUI and no other factors are present to make it a felony, then you face around 45 days in jail and around $4,000 in fines. Some of those days can be suspended if you get an interlock installed in your vehicle. If your BAC was right at .20 then there is also a possibility of getting it reduced to a Regular Extreme, which is between .15-.19 BAC.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 6/3/2015
    Law Office of Darin Kanfer | Darin J. Kanfer
    Anything is possible from jail time to probation to several other possibilities. I don't have enough information to answer. A lot will depend on whether this is a first offense.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/3/2015
Click to View More Answers:

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!