What is going to happen if I was caught shoplifting at Bealls Outlet, the total was $30 dollars and I have a court date for two misdemeanors? 15 Answers as of November 04, 2012

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq.
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq. | John J. Carney
If it is a first offense you will get an ACD dismissal and it will be sealed after 6 months unless you are re-arrested.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 11/4/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
Shoplift is punishable by up to a year in jail and a $5000.00 fine.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 10/22/2012
Mace J. Yampolsky, LTD
Mace J. Yampolsky, LTD | Mace Yampolsky
If you plead guilty you probably will pay a small fine.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 10/19/2012
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
Get a lawyer and you will likely end up without a conviction.
Answer Applies to: Nebraska
Replied: 10/19/2012
R. Jason de Groot, P.A
R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
This is one of the most commonly answered questions on LawQA. Hopefully, you will be offered a deferred prosecution agreement, and will have to pay a fine and costs, complete some community service hours, and attend a class. Basically you will be on probation for a few months and then the case will be dropped. After that you can get the records sealed and perhaps later expunged. This is the typical resolution to a first offense shoplifting charge in the State of Florida. You will also be required to pay a civil fine to the merchant.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 10/18/2012
    Law Office of Brian K. Wanerman
    Law Office of Brian K. Wanerman | Brian K. Wanerman
    Show up on time for your court date. If you have the time and the money, engage an attorney before then. If not, ask the judge at the hearing to appoint the public defender to represent you. A lawyer from the public defender's office should be there at the hearing.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    It depends on whether you have any prior criminal history. If this is a first-time offense, you may be eligible for diversion. If so, you would pay fines and a monthly fee. If you are in compliance at the end of a year, the case will be dismissed and you will not have a criminal history. Diversion is a good idea because you end up without a criminal history and none of the disabilities that go along with a criminal history.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    With no prior criminal record, you should receive probation and community service. After you violate your probation (probably with another shoplifting) you will be held in jail. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
    You must have been caught two times? Hard to say what will happen. High possibility of probation or fines and costs. Depends on your previous record. If one exists, jail is possible.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    You better hire a lawyer on this. Petty theft is a crime of moral turpitude, and having it means you can kiss your career/employment aspirations goodbye.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter | Jared C. Winter
    Hire a criminal defense lawyer right away. Petty thefts can have damaging consequences on your employment prospects and are a bad charge to have on your record. For first time offenders, a good lawyer can usually work out a resolution that will not tarnish your record. Sometimes this is even an option for second time offenders. Whatever you do, don't try to handle this on your own. People often believe that the small dollar amount of the theft means that it is not a big deal. That's a foolish assumption to make.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Get a lawyer. If this is your first time maybe something can be worked out so that you have no record. This is important. A conviction stays on your record FOREVER. What employer wants to hire a thief.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Law Office of Kathryn L. Hudson
    Law Office of Kathryn L. Hudson | Kathryn L. Hudson
    Theft under $1,000 in Arkansas is a class A misdemeanor with a potential sentence of one year in jail, restitution, and fines. You should retain an attorney right away to protect your rights and negotiate the best possible outcome.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Hoskins & Associates, P.C. | Nichole Hoskins
    It depends on your prior record but a first retail theft offense usually results in probation and maybe restitution or community service.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 10/18/2012
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    I don't see any Bealls Outlets in the State of Washington? You should post your question in a forum for the state where this took place.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 10/17/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney