What is the first step to take when getting a divorce in New Hampshire? 1 Answers as of January 17, 2011I have been separated (not legally) from my husband for over about 18 months. I decided that I want to go through with getting a divorce this year, but I'm unsure of what I need to do. We are both on good terms and share custody of the 2 children we have together. Should we look into mediation? How much does it usually cost to get a divorce? This is in New Hampshire.
DiManna Law Office, LLC. | Dawn DiManna
If you file and start the court process then you can have court ordered mediation which is then split $60/hour between both of you. You can go to mediation without filing first, but then you are going to be paying a mediator at their rate, which is much higher per hour.
Answer Applies to: New Hampshire