What does uninsured coverage $25,000 a person, $50,000 each accident means and how long does my insurance pay? 18 Answers as of November 08, 2012

I was hit by an uninsured motorist. They charged the other driver with DWI. It wasn't my fault. He came into my lane hit me head on. Insurance company is moving slow.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
John Russo | John Russo
Why would you agree to an insurance policy that you did not understand when you purchased it. Anyway that is your uninsured motorist provision 25k per person up to a max of 50k per accident.
Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
Replied: 11/8/2012
Law Office of Edmund P. Allen Jr. | Edmund P. Allen Jr.
Those amounts mean that the limits are $25,000 to each person and $50,000 total for the accident. The most you can get is probably $25,000.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 11/8/2012
The Law Firm of Reed & Mansfield
The Law Firm of Reed & Mansfield | Jonathan C. Reed
It means that any person in your car only has uninsured motorist coverage up to a limit of $25,000 and if there were 2 or more people in your car making uninsured motorist claims the max. the ins. co. would be liable for would be $50,000.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 11/8/2012
Lewis B. Kaplan | Lewis B. Kaplan
It means your coverage will pay your damages up to $ 25,000 and if other people were injured the $ 50,000 total coverage comes into play.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 11/8/2012
Dennis P. Mikko Attorney at Law | Dennis P. Mikko
Your uninsured motorist coverage would pay you for third party benefits, pain and suffering, if the other driver was not insured. You would still have to show a threshold injury. If you can show a serious impairment of a bodily function, permanent serious disfigurement or death, you would be entitled to benefits. The insurance company will investigate the claim before any payment is made.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 11/8/2012
    Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A.
    Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A. | Paul L. Whitfield
    25 is limit for one person. 50 for several. You have 3 years to bring a lawsuit. The insurance co wants everything heavily documented and they are never in a hurry (like the government) you will get some settlement based on the documents and their notion about value. Your opinion or your ideas will be disregarded (I get the sense that you have a notion they will walk up and write you a check.. they don't work that way) They do advertise on TV that they work that way but as with all liability insurance claims they lie. They want to create the impression that they look after people in order to SELL insurance. In fact getting them to pay fair value for a claim is extremely difficult.
    Answer Applies to: North Carolina
    Replied: 11/8/2012
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The coverage is 25,000 if one person is hurt. Does not mean that one gets 25,000 for any type of injury. The 50,000 is where there are two or more persons injured. they split the fifty grand.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/8/2012
    Tomalas Law Firm
    Tomalas Law Firm | Ryan Tomalas
    If you carry uninsured motorist coverage limits of $25,000.00 per person/$50,000.00 per occurrence under your own automobile policy that means that if you are injured by another driver that does not have liability insurance, you can make a claim under your own policy for up to $25,000.00 per person (if your claim is "worth" that much) and up to $50,000.00 per occurrence. This means that your insurance company would be willing to pay up to $25,000.00 to one person covered under your policy and up to an aggregate total of $50,000.00 to multiple people covered under your policy (but in no case can any one person recover any more than $25,000.00). We have made hundreds of uninsured/underinsured motorist claims on behalf of injuries victims and would be happy to provide a Free Evaluation of your claim.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/8/2012
    Law Offices of Ronald A. Steinberg & Associates | Ronald A. Steinberg, BA, MA, JD
    That means that the most the company will pay to you is $25,000, no matter how badly you were hurt. If you had one or more passengers, they will not pay more than $50,000. They are slow because they can be.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 11/8/2012
    Dwyer, Black & Lyle, LLP
    Dwyer, Black & Lyle, LLP | Kevin Habberfield
    It means that your insurance company, because the at fault driver does not have coverage, will pay you up to $25,000 per person for bodily injury. If there were 2 or more people in the car, they would pay up to the $50,000 limit, divided by the number of injured people and depending on the severity of the injuries to each. If it was just you, your capped at $25,000 recovery. There is some information on this on our website. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    Law Offices of Frank M. Nunes, Inc.
    Law Offices of Frank M. Nunes, Inc. | Frank M. Nunes
    Most automobile insurance policies provide coverage to a maximum limit per person and per accident. In a policy with $25,000 per person limits up to a maximum limit of $50,000 per accident, the insurance company would pay on injured person up to the $25,000 limit. If there were say 5 injured people, the $50,000 limit would be divided up among the injured persons according to the severity of their injury, but no on person would get more than $25,000. This is usually the case when one injured party is severely injured and the others a much less injured in an accident. Feel free to give me a call if you want more information about this or other parts of your claim.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    Law Office of Stuart M. Nachbar, P.C.
    Law Office of Stuart M. Nachbar, P.C. | Stuart M. Nachbar
    It means that a single person can get up to 25000, and they will pay out no more than 50000. As for medical that depends on your PIP limit. This answer is based on NJ law.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    Adler Law Group, LLC
    Adler Law Group, LLC | Lawrence Adler
    The uninsured coverage gives you're up to 25,000 of coverage if the other driver has less than that in coverage. Whatever you get from the other driver is deducted from those limits.. If he has less than that amount the most you will get is 25,000. The 50,000 is if there are other people hurt in the accident. If there is one other or 3 others, the most the insurance will pay is 50,000 between all of you.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    David F. Stoddard
    David F. Stoddard | David F. Stoddard
    $25,000.00/$50,000.00 means the will pay up to $25,000.00 per person injured, with a cap of $50,000.00 total or aggregate for all persons injured. By way of example, if one person is injured, they will pay only up to $25,000.00. If two people are injured, one with $15,000.00 in damages and one with $35,000.00 in damages, the will pay one $15,000.00 and the other only $25,000.00 because they will pay only up to $25,000.00 for each injury. If you added a third injury in the amount of $10,000.00, they could pay it because they are still within the $50,000.00 limit for the accident. If three are injured, and the total damages exceed $50,000.00, such $20,000.00, $25,000.00 and $25,000.00, then the parties all have to agree on how it is apportioned, or have a hearing in court and let the court apportion the $50,000.00. I'm not sure I understand the question "how long does my insurance pay? Usually, there is one payment which represents the entire settlement, and there are no further payments. If you mean how long do they have to pay, there really is no time limit. Insurance companies like to settle as quickly as possible, because they invest the insurance premiums, but must keep a reserve based on their outstanding claims, which cannot be invested. If they let claims accumulate, they have less money to invest. They really cannot make an offer until you have been released from your doctor, because they do not know what the total of your medical bills will be, and to what degree you will suffer permanent impairment. If you have been released, they must with until they have received all of your medical records and medical bills. If they make an offer that you will not accept, you would then need to file a lawsuit, because you cannot force them to pay more except by going to court.
    Answer Applies to: South Carolina
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    Blaske & Blaske, P.L.C.
    Blaske & Blaske, P.L.C. | John F. Turck IV
    That policy will provide a maximum of $25,000 to each person injured in the crash, subject to a maximum per crash of $50,000. In other words, if there were three people involved in the crash, each of whom suffered serious injuries, the most any one person could receive under that particular policy would be $25,000, but even if all three were injured seriously, the carrier would still cap its payments to $50,000, total. Note that you have two potential claims arising out of the crash: a first-party claim (sometimes referred to as personal injury protection, or PIP, or No-Fault benefits) and a third-party claim. You bring the first-party claim against your own carrier for first-party benefits, including most principally (but not exclusively) medical bills, wage/salary loss for the first three years following the crash, replacement services, and attendant care benefits. There is a one-year statute of limitations applicable to those claims, so you should be sure to consult with an attorney right away. You bring a third-party claim against the striking driver. A three-year statute of limitations typically applies to this kind of claim, although some carrier may insert a shorter time provision in the policy (those may not be enforceable, but you don't want to run a risk of losing out due to the passage of time), so again you should consult with an attorney right away if you want to pursue this potential claim.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    Pinto Coates Kyre & Bowers, PLLC | Jon Ward
    In North Carolina, uninsured motorist coverage applies to injury-related damages arising from vehicular accident caused by an identifiable driver who has no insurance coverage. Coverage in the amount of $25,000 per person will pay up to that amount to a single person, and up to $50,000 in total to two or more people if they were injured in the same accident. To recover from your insurance company, it will be necessary to prove that the uninsured coverage does in fact apply. After that, you have to prove the amount of your damages, which may consist of medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, permanent injury, and other factors. If you have been hurt in an accident in which the at-fault driver was uninsured, it would be worthwhile to consult with a few lawyers who practice in this area. A good lawyer may be able to identify and document your damages in a way that will convince your insurance company to pay under the uninsured motorist coverage. Best of luck dealing with that terrible situation.
    Answer Applies to: North Carolina
    Replied: 11/7/2012
    Ezim Law Firm | Dean Esposito
    UM coverage provides coverage to you if you are involved in a car accident and the other driver is at fault and does not have automobile insurance or his limits of liability coverage are not sufficient to pay for your injuries. Since the person that hit you does not have insurance, your UM coverage will pay up to $25,000.00 to any one person who is injured and a total of $50,000.00 for all parties in your vehicle to split.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 11/7/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney