What degree of DUI takes away your driving privilege for life? 65 Answers as of June 28, 2013

I am on my third charge. I am afraid whether this can cost my my driving privileges for good.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Short Law Group, P.C.
The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
Under Oregon law a third or subsequent DUI conviction within 10 years will be a felony. The consequences of one of these felony DUI convictions will be very serious and can result in major jail time (90 days minimum) as well as a permanent license revocation. Talk with a DUI Lawyer regarding the facts of your case as well as the possible defenses you may have.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 8/8/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
The sanctions against your driving privileges are administered by the State Driver Control Dept in Topeka, KS. The penalties are graduated stiffer depending upon your personal record. You will need to contact Driver Control with questions regarding your personal license eligibility.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 7/27/2012
Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
There is no statutory penalty that would cost you your driving privileges for life except being determined to be an habitual drunkard. A third Dui can cost you the loss of driving privileges for up to 5 years.
Answer Applies to: Idaho
Replied: 7/27/2012
Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
Nothing can suspend it for life.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 6/28/2013
Law Offices of Phil Hache
Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
Are you referring to a commercial drivers license, or a class c license? There are different answers depending on the type of license. Also, do you have any felony dui convictions? If your first two dui's were misdemeanors, and your current dui is a misdemeanor, a 3rd dui conviction will give a lengthy license suspension, but not a permanent revocation on a class c license.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/26/2012
    THE LOCKHART LAW FIRM | CLAYTON LOCKHART
    If you're being prosecuted for a 3rd offense DUI (which means you have 2 prior convictions within the past 5 years), then you will be facing felony charges. A felony DUI carries jail time and a fine, and probably probation and substance abuse counseling. But that doesn't mean you'll lose your driving privileges for life. Your car will probably be immobilized and your privileges suspended, but once you complete all the conditions of the sentencing, then you should be able to regain driving privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    PROBABLY. They will Revoke your license not just suspend it. You are an alcoholic. You should get into treatment now even before you go to court. You NEED a good lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Licenses are revoked after 2, so you are done for at least a year, but in reality much longer.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    If it doesn't, it should. Hey, there are innocent people out there.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    In Illinois, a fourth conviction for DUI will result in a life-long revocation of your license.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
    MVA can explain the requirements for you to drive legally.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    MN now has interlock so you will most likely be required to be on interlock. Call an attorney immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
    There is no lifetime loss of driver's license in the State of Nevada. If a person is convicted of a third offense DUI, which is typically a Felony charge, there is a 3 year revocation period. However, there is a sentencing program which allows a person charged with a 3rd DUI to enter into the program and avoid not only a Felony conviction but any driver's license revocation. The sentencing program requires completion of 3 years of alcohol counseling, 6 months house arrest, and 1 year interlock device installed on the person's vehicle. If the person successfully completes the program, the charge will be treated as a second offense DUI except no loss of driver's license. If the person fails to complete the program the person will be sentenced as a 3rd offense Felony. In either event, if the person gets another DUI anytime in their life, it will be treated as a Second Felony DUI.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    There is always an opportunity to rehabilitate and have your license reinstate. Depending on the number of DWI offenses, the revocation of the license or cancellation of the license may last for longer periods of time.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Law Office of Anthony Sessa
    Law Office of Anthony Sessa | Anthony Sessa
    You will not lose your license for life; but your more immediate problem is not going to jail for 6 to 9 months, if your are convicted without the assistance of a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of George M. Derieg
    Law Office of George M. Derieg | George Derieg
    Well, in California I believe judge's in criminal court have the power to suspend a driver's license for up to ten years for multiple offenders. I don't think you are in any danger of this happening if this is your third misdemeanor offense. And I am unaware of any law that revokes your driver's license for life. There are certain criminal charges that will do that, but not a garden variety misdemeanor DUI.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    Naah, not for life but for a good long time.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
    If this is your 3rd DUI (with 2 priors within 10 years) your driving privileges will be revoked for 3 or 4 years depending on whether any of your priors were charged as a felony. If you are that worried about losing your driving privileges permanently, I suggest that you either stop drinking or at least stop driving after drinking. Your choice.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Lifetime bad only applies to commercial license. On a third non-refusal DUI the length is 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    What degree of DUI? None without a court order of revocation, which is available to the court in its discretion in any repeat offender case. A little free advice you should already be familiar with: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of the automatic suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the DMV, or the court upon conviction. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you do not win the appeal, you can still apply later for a restricted license for to/from work and school, etc., after serving at least of the full suspension period. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does. . When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all appropriate defenses with whatever witnesses, evidence and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or for trial. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney who does, who will try to get a dismissal, charge reduction, diversion, program, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. Facing a 3rd DUI, you risk serious jail time and other penalties, handle it right.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    William C. Gosnell, Attorney at Law
    William C. Gosnell, Attorney at Law | William C. Gosnell
    It could get you Habitual Motor Vehicle Status.
    Answer Applies to: Tennessee
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
    When a person's license is revoked, then he or she has to reapply, in order to get another license. M.V.A. may deny a license in certain circumstances, such as when the Medical Advisory Board refuses to clear the applicant as fit to drive.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Offices of Mark L. Smith
    Law Offices of Mark L. Smith | Mark L. Smith
    You need to consult this - Drunk Driving Statute 31-27-2 all trials within 30 days from arraignment prior violation equals DWI or refusal operator may be required to under go clinical assessment .08 to < 0.1 First Offense Second Offense within 5 years Third Offense within 5 years - Felony Conviction $100 to $300 fine $400 fine $400 fine 10 to 60 hours of community service 1 to 2 year loss of license 2 to 3 year loss of license 30 to 180 days loss of license mandatory 10 days in jail (home confinement 30 days) mandatory 1 year in jail may 1 year in jail may 1 year in jail may 3 years in jail DWI School DWI School alcohol or drug treatment Veteran's Program Veteran's Program Veteran's Program may interlock system 1 to 2 years may interlock system for 2 years after completion of sentence forfeiture of motor vehicle 0.1 to < 0.15 First Offense Second Offense within 5 years Third Offense within 5 years - Felony Conviction $100 to $400 fine $400 fine $400 fine 10 to 60 hours of community service 1 to 2 year loss of license 2 to 3 year loss of license 3 to 12 months loss of license mandatory 10 days in jail (home confinement 30 days) mandatory 1 year in jail may 1 year in jail may 1 year in jail may 3 years in jail DWI School DWI School alcohol or drug treatment Veteran's Program Veteran's Program Veteran's Program may interlock system 1 to 2 years may interlock system for 2 years after completion of sentence forfeiture of motor vehicle 0.1 to < 0.15 First Offense Second Offense within 5 years Third Offense within 5 years - Felony Conviction $500 fine $1000 fine $1,000 to $5,000 fine 10 to 60 hours of community service license suspension 2 years (commence upon completion of sentence 3 year loss of license from the date of completion of sentence 3 to 18 months loss of license mandatory 6 months in jail mandatory 3 years in jail may 1 year in jail may 1 year in jail may 5 years in jail DWI School alcohol or drug treatment forfeiture of motor vehicle Veteran's Program Veteran's Program Additional fines and punishment Driving while intoxicated where license was revoked for DWI felony maximum 3 years ACI $3,000 fine alcohol and/or drug treatment with a child < 13 years of age 1 year jail if imposed no suspension Highway Assessment fine $500.00 Assessment fee $86.00
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    A third DUI conviction requires a ten year los of license and 90 to 180 days in jail, depending upon whether there is attendance at an inpatient drug rehabilitation program.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    Many times the Secretary of State will enter a formal revocation of your driving privileges. It remains revoked, unless they later grant a restricted driving permit for work purposes. Hire an attorney to investgate and give you informed advice.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Walpole Law | Robert J. Walpole
    First, it depends upon when the previous ones occurred. Secondly, in Oklahoma, you will not lose your driving privilege 'for good', but there can be many restrictions along with a period of time where your driving privilege is completely suspended.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    A conviction for a third DUI is normally a three year suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Douglas M. Philpott, P.C. | Peter J. Philpott
    If convicted you will be revoked for five years and then you must petition the SOS for your license back.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    Your problem is not your third DUI, but why you continue to drink and get behind the wheel. The third, fourth and fifth DUI do not suspend your license for life. However, when you hit someone under the influence, you will be looking at seven years in the penitentiary.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    I'm not sure. On a 4th there is a 4 year suspension and it can increase from there, but you should get some help now. Try AA or if you have medical insurance or enough money an inpatient drug or alcohol program.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    The laws in West Virginia changed a few years ago concerning the length of time on license suspensions. While a third offense used to carry a lifetime revocation, with the opportunity to regain your license after 10 years have passed, for the most part that is not the case any longer. As long as your DUI charge involves alcohol, and not the use of drugs or prescription medication, you will suffer a 1 year license suspension followed by mandatory interlock participation of 1 year for each offense. So, for a third offense within 10 years, it is 1 year of no driving followed by 3 years of interlock participation.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of Charles J. Block
    Law Office of Charles J. Block | Charles J. Block
    None in New Jersey.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    In NH, the license loss for DUI 3rd offense is an indefinite loss of license - you may seek reinstatement after 5 years provided that you petition the court for the return of your license upon a showing of good cause.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Bernal Peter Ojeda | Bernal Peter Ojeda
    Third time you can still get a license but after the mandated suspension/revocation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    You should be concerned because the determination of your license being suspended is solely made by the Secretary of State. They evaluate all aspects of your driving history and DUI cases.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of James J. Rosenberger | James Joseph Rosenberger
    It won't, but you face a possible lengthy (2+year) revocation depending on the outcome of your case as well as whether the priors actually count as priors for sentencing purposes. That answer depends on a number of factors.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Christensen Corbett & Pankratz
    Christensen Corbett & Pankratz | Craig L. Pankratz
    The maximum license suspension for DUI is two years.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You are probably charged with a felony DWI and you are going to have a year or more revocation, but DMV may not allow you to drive for a very long time. The judge may also require that you get his permission before you apply for a license. You have shown a gross disregard for the law, the probation department, the judge's order, and other motorist's rights to a safe highway. You have no business ever driving a car again and are a menace to society. You will eventually kill or cripple some innocent motorist with your selfish disregard for other people's safety. You will be lucky to avoid a prison term. A man in Texas was just sentenced to 45 years for his fifth DWI. I am not being harsh, I am trying to get the message out to you and others that DWI is a foolish, selfish, and dangerous crime and it must be discouraged with punishment and treatment. You need to stop drinking, stop driving, and understand just how lucky you are to not have killed someone with your reckless and immature behavior.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Michael S. Edwards, Attorney at Law, PLLC | Mike Edwards
    It will not be for life. It will either be for two years or for three years, depending on the circumstances of your case. Hire a good lawyer, and trust him or her to get you through as best you can!
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    Your driving privileges can be revoked for 1 to 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Pietryga Law Office | Russ Pietryga
    It can happen, however it is very rare. Usually, depending on the facts, the division will suspend your license pursuant to the statute. For instance, some factors will determine the amount of time you will lose your license for. For instance, did you refuse, was there an accident and whether you were driving on an alcohol restricted license. You just did not provide enough info for me to say exactly how long you will lose your license for. Safe to say you will be able to get your license back in a couple years. Hope this helps.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC | Matthew R. Kober
    I don't believe you will lose your license for life for a 3rd DUI, I believe it is 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    A third time can be filed as a felony and on conviction will result in the State denying you a license for 10 years as well as receiving a possible prison sentence. A third conviction if not a felony will also result in denial for 10 years but you may petition the court for a limited privilege after 3 clean years. If granted you are still going to have an ignition interlock on the car and a near zero tolerance during the entire time. If you relocate to another state and attempt to get licensed the 3 convictions may prevent you from obtaining a license in that state for life. There is some variance from state to state in those restrictions but they do look at history in other states.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Fairlie & Lippy, P.C.
    Fairlie & Lippy, P.C. | Steven Fairlie
    There is not a lifetime ban, though you can suffer a significant suspension or combination of suspensions. Talk with a good lawyer, but you likely are not looking at more than 18 months.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    DeVito & Visconti, PA
    DeVito & Visconti, PA | John E DeVito
    If you have 3 convictions or more and refuse a breath test on a new arrest, you lose your license for life in Massachusetts. You also can lose your license for life on the 5th conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Offices of Brian J. Lockwood
    Law Offices of Brian J. Lockwood | Brian J. Lockwoood
    It is unlikely that you will lose your driving privilege for more than 3 years. The range of punishments, providing your B.A.C. was under 0.15 but more than 0.08, include a $2,100 to $10,000 fine, 60 days to 1 year in jail, and a 3 year suspension of your operating privilege. If you B.A.C. was over 0.15, the minimum punishments are enhanced to 1 year in jail and a $4,200 fine plus, at least in theory, 6 year suspension of your operating privilege.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    If you are charged with a third drinking and driving violations, that is a felony may have very severe repercussions both on your personal liberty in right to drive. You should engage in attorney immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    It can but I have yet to see colo DMV permanently revoke anyone.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    DUI is a first degree misdemeanor, but the fourth an those that involve death can be felonies. You need an attorney in your third dui case, get one. Since you are on your third dui, you may lose your driving privilege for a long time, and if you do not jump through all of the hoops, it could be for life.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C.
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C. | Robert Valles Jr.
    Any DWI case can.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    You have a serious drinking problem. Get help. Best of luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Natty Shafer Law
    Natty Shafer Law | Nathaniel Shafer
    In Utah, your license can be suspended up to 3 years for a third DUI, and the third conviction is automatically a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Alvin Lundgren | Alvin Lundgren
    You are close to losing your driving privileges. You need an experienced lawyer to protect your driving although you should not be driving until you get your alcoholism under treatment.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC | Christopher G Humphrey
    No degree, that I am aware of, I would call Wydot. Wyoming has suspension periods depending on how many you have had in 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Wyoming
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    In Colorado there is no DUI that results in life long loss of license.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    San Diego DUI Law Center
    San Diego DUI Law Center | Rick Mueller
    You may be there. Get a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN | Michael Bialys
    Typically a third DUI results in a 3 year revocation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Clos, Russell & Wirth, P.C. | Gary A. Russell
    Two convictions for drunk driving in Michigan that occur within 7 years of each other results in a minimum one year revocation of your license. The license is not reinstated until the person petitions the Secretary of State to reinstate the license and that person convinces an administrative law judge, at a hearing, that the person has met all of the requirements set forth by law to permit reinstatement of their license. If you have three convictions within 10 years of each other, then the minimum revocation period is 5 years. There is no life time revocation for drunk driving under the law.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Offices of Sharp and Driver | Matt Sharp
    It depends on a lot of things including how long ago your priors were.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    None that I am aware of.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    Currently, a fourth DUI conviction will result in losing your ability to apply for reinstatement. Supervisions that were successfully terminated do not count towards the four convictions. However, keep in mind that the legislature could change this at any time.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    James M. Osak, P.C.
    James M. Osak, P.C. | James M. Osak
    Third time "DUI" is a felony!
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Gutin and Wolverton
    Gutin and Wolverton | Harley Gutin
    A third DUI conviction within ten years requires a minimum of ten year DL suspension but can be up to a lifetime DL suspension. A fourth DUI conviction is a lifetime suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    John P Yetter | John Yetter
    In Illinois your fourth DUI disqualifies you for life.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/24/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!