What could happen to me after I hit a car with just a scrape on the side, no big damage but I fled the scene? 14 Answers as of June 25, 2014

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Elhart & Horvath, P.C.
Elhart & Horvath, P.C. | Mattias Johnson
By its definition, you still fled the scene of an accident. I believe that what you are asking is what will the punishment be? The Judge may very well take the amount of damage into consideration and that could help your sentence. What your full punishment will be would depend on a lot of variables, such as your criminal history, your driving record, how you handled the situation once you were confronted, and also the disposition of the owner of the other car.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/25/2014
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
You can be charged with Misdemeanor Hit and Run (Vehicle Code Section 20002) which carries a fine of up to $1,000.00 and up to 6 Months in the County Jail.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/13/2014
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
You can go to jail up to 12 months for hit and run.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 6/12/2014
Law Office of Linda K. Frieder
Law Office of Linda K. Frieder | Linda K. Frieder, Esq.
You can be charged with hit and run.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/12/2014
Law Office of James E. Smith
Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
6 months in jail.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 6/12/2014
    Barton Barton & Plotkin
    Barton Barton & Plotkin | Maurice Ross
    It is illegal to flee the scene of an accident, even if it is minor. You should treat this matter seriously and retain criminal defense counsel. Chances are, you will not end up doing jail time for this but it is at least possible.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    What you did was a violation of California State Vehicle Code Section 20001. VC 20001 . (a) The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to a person, other than himself or herself, or in the death of a person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident and shall fulfill the requirements of Sections 20003 and 20004. (b) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), a person who violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine. State prison is when the incident is a felony. Under your facts, you would be charged with a misdemeanor. The max. is one year in county jail and/or a $1,000.00 fine. The probable penalty for your incident would be three years summary probation, community service, a fine, and restitution to the victim.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    You have the right to remain silent. Only idiots talk to investigators/cops. Remember, no matter what you say it will be twisted around and used against you later.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
    By fleeing, regardless of the damaged you caused, you can be charged with hit and run. It is best that you report yourself to the police.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    If they catch you, then you could be charged with leaving the scene of an accident. If the police call you do NOT make a statement. They can often track down the car but can't prove who was driving. They will call you up and ask you to come down and ask if you were driving. Once you admit that, then they have a case against you. Get a lawyer instead of going down. Most times they can't convict you unless you admit driving if they have no one that can ID you as the driver.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    It is called hit and run and you face a serious misdemeanor offense. Best to hire a lawyer and have the matter resolved.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    The Law Office of Carlos H. Davalos
    The Law Office of Carlos H. Davalos | Carlos H. Davalos
    You could be charged with exactly that, leaving the scene. Leave your insurance info the next time to protect yourself.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/12/2014
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    You could be charged with damage to property or hit and run or leaving the scene. The level of offense would be determined by the damage. You should contact an attorney asap.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 6/12/2014
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney