What could happen if someone is caught with a pound of meth? 44 Answers as of June 24, 2013

What could happen to someone caught in procession of one pound of meth?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
In Michigan, possession of meth is a very serious felony charge punishable by up to decades in prison depending on the circumstances and exact nature of the charges. You should consult with an attorney.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 10/18/2011
Betts Legal Services
Betts Legal Services | Shawn M. Betts
They are most likely looking at a very long prison sentence. Even on a first offense, the guideline sentence in Minnesota is 98 months in prison. That doesn't mean that is what has to happen, but that is the recommended sentence.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Replied: 9/28/2011
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
It depends. Possession is a felony but that much could constitute a charge for selling or manufacturing because a normal user would not have that large amount. That would be an even more serious felony charge where some prison is almost all but guaranteed. That person needs to seek legal counsel from an experienced criminal attorney at once.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/28/2011
Law Office of Richard Williams
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
They would likely be charged with trafficking in controlled substances, and on account of the quantity involved they would be looking at substantial jail time. In Alabama this would be a class A felony punishable for a term of imprisonment of not less than 10 years nor more than 99 years or life. The sentence could not be suspended and the person charged must spend not less than 3 years in prison. Please note that this person could possibly receive a life sentence for this offense.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 9/28/2011
Beaulier Law Office
Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
The would be charged with a first degree felony possession charge under Minnesota Statutes which is a very serious felony. It is punishable by up to 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,000, or both.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Replied: 9/27/2011
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. | Carlos Gonzalez
    They would be facing serious felony charges and over a year jail time, significantly more depending on the charge itself and the obvious presumption of intent to sell, and whether it's a federal or state case.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    We recommend you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Generally, one could be charged with possession of methamphetamine with intent to distribute, among other very serious charges. So, see a lawyer soon as to all your rights and options.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    They would be charged with a felony and if convicted would have a high likelihood of going to prison.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    They would be looking at a mandatory 25 years in prison and a million dollar fine.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
    It is hard to answer this question simply. Punishment would depend on whether you're in state or federal court, the circumstances surrounding the arrest, the reasons and motivation behind the possession, the defendant's prior record, etc. Suffice it to say that some jail time would be almost unavoidable.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/3/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Years in Prison. The State considers that a lot of meth. That person REALLY needs an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    They could be charged with UPCS (unlawful possession of a controlled substance), and possibly UPCS with intent to deliver, based on the quantity.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    They could go to prison for a long time.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/24/2013
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    In all probability, the offender will get a lengthy prison sentence. He better get a good defense attorney who may be able to file some motions to get the evidence suppressed.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Todd Landgren, Professional Law Corp.
    Todd Landgren, Professional Law Corp. | Todd Landgren
    Anything from probation to state prison. Under new guidelines, state cases could spend up to three years in local jail since prisons are full. OR lawyer could do many other possibilities.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    Depending on the court - most likely prison time - get a GOOD lawyer quickly. If you don't know any let me know which court and I will recommend one.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Shane Law Office
    Shane Law Office | Robert J. Shane
    If you were found in possession of a pound of methamphetamine and are convicted of the offense, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines call for a prison sentence of 86 months. If the case goes federal, the prison consequences are even worse. My advice is to immediately hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to search for loopholes in the prosecution's case. There may have been an illegal search and seizure of the evidence by the police. If your constitutional rights were violated, you may be able to suppress the use of the evidence against you at trial. Don't take any chances. Your freedom is on the line.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    Your in big, big trouble. Exact crime and penalties I don't know but I suspect it's quite severe.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    If convicted, that person will do some prison time. With a pound of meth, one can hardly argue it is for "personal use", which means the person in possession intends to sell to others. If this is the case, that would be an enhancement and result in additional prison time if convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Burdon and Merlitti
    Burdon and Merlitti | Adam Van Ho
    With one pound of meth, the person would most likely be facing either federal charges. If the person was kept in state court, because the amount would far exceed the 'bulk' amount for meth, the person would be facing mandatory prison.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Mitch Foster Law
    Mitch Foster Law | Mitchell T. Foster
    Being caught with any amount of meth is a very serious crime. Depending upon the individual's prior record and the circumstances, a prison sentence is an option if convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 10/3/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    They could be charged with possession, or possession with intent to sell depending upon additional facts. They would be arrested.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
    You could, and probably would, go to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 6/20/2013
    Peter Duarte, Attorney at Law
    Peter Duarte, Attorney at Law | Peter Duarte
    A person found with a pound of methamphetamine, will more likely be charged with possession of a controlled substance for sale, as well as, a special enhancement because of the weight of meth found. That person will be facing two years up to four years in state prison, not including any enhancements. That person may be precluded from probation because of the weight of meth found in his possession.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Harrison & Harrison
    Harrison & Harrison | Samuel Harrison
    That would be a major case of trafficking. Mandatory 25 year sentence (can be probated, but expect a serious portion of the sentence to be in custody); mandatory $1,000,000(1million dollar)fine. Defendant will not come up for parole consideration until 65% to 90% of the jail portion of the sentence has been served.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Offices of Steven R. Decker
    Law Offices of Steven R. Decker | Steven Decker
    It appears that you will be charged with one of the most serious offenses in Illinois. Methamphetamine trafficking is a class X felony where the penalty is twice the normal min/max. Also, the Department of Corrections will require you to do 85% of the sentence. You better attempt to suppress the search or else consider a plea to a lesser charge if you can't beat the case.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Offices of Jeffery A. Cojocar, PC
    Law Offices of Jeffery A. Cojocar, PC | Jeffery A. Cojocar
    They need an attorney to handle the felony charge that will be brought against them.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    You are arrested and charged with first degree felony, possession of controlled substance with intent to deliver. 5-99 years in prison. Yes, that's LIFE on the table. Be very careful.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Furlong & Drewniak PLLC
    Furlong & Drewniak PLLC | Thaddeus Furlong, Esq.
    Possession of any Schedule I or Schedule II drug is a felony and in that large a quantity you could expect a charge of possession with the intent to distribute (drug dealing). If using your car to transport the police could seize that too. Drug felonies expose the defendant to major prison time too.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Flood Lanctot Connor Stablein, PLLC
    Flood Lanctot Connor Stablein, PLLC | Paul J. Stablein
    Possession with the intent to deliver methamphetamine, in the State of Michigan, is a serious offense. As with any felony, if convicted, a defendant is entitled to be sentenced within what are called "the statutory sentencing guidelines." The guidelines are a relatively complex formula that takes into account the criminal history of the defendant and certain facts about the case (was a gun involved, was someone injured, the weight of the narcotics, etc.) and then spits out a range of months. The sentencing judge must stay within that range of months when imposing the minimum sentence the defendant is to serve, unless the court finds that there are substantial and compelling reasons to deviate from the guidelines either upward or downward. The problem with a methamphetamine charge is the grid which is used to compute the guidelines. Meth cases are on the B grid, which means, even for a defendant with no prior criminal history, the court will have to sentence the defendant to a minimum of two (2) years in the Michigan Department of Corrections. In all likelihood, however, even a minor criminal history or just one aggravating factor will raise the guidelines to a substantially higher sentence range. The bottom line is that many factors go into predicting "what will happen" if someone is caught with a pound of methamphetamine. You would be well-advised to contact a qualified criminal defense attorney in your area that has experience in these types of cases prior to speaking to any police personnel about such an offense.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Felony charges.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/20/2013
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    What could happen is that person could go to prison for the mandatory minimum amount of 25 years in prison.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    A person caught by state, county or local law enforcement with a pound or meth would be looking at a violation of Health and Safety code section 11350(a) Possession of a controlled substance with a penalty of 1 year 4 months, 2 years, 3 years. With that amount he could also be charged with a violation of Health and Safety code section 11351 Possession of a controlled substance for sale. The penalty for this would be 2 years, 3 years, 4 years. If the meth was found in a car, plane, boat or other type of transportation then the charge of violation of Health and Safety code section 11352(a) The sale or transportation of a controlled substance with a penalty of 3 years, 4 years, 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo | Matthew Murillo
    Very bad things. Do not add any more details online, on any website and contact an attorney in your area to discuss the case with in private, immediately.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    The answer would depend somewhat on what else the person was caught with. While a pound definitely suggests intent to deliver, quantity alone does not equal Intent to Deliver. If the person were caught with pay/owe slips, scales, packaging or a large amount of cash and a pound of meth, Intent to Deliver could be proven. In that case, the suspect would be charged with Possession With Intent to Deliver, a B felony instead of simple possession, which is a C felony or the least serious felony.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    John Segelbaum, P.S.
    John Segelbaum, P.S. | John Segelbaum
    You could be charged with Possession or Possession with Intent to Deliver methamphetamine. Possession with Intent to Deliver carries a prison sentence of approximately 2 years on a first ofense.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    That person could go to prison.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 6/20/2013
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    They could get a very long prison sentence. If it is an A-I felony the sentence could be 12 years. The average plea agreement is an offer of 5-8 years in state court and even longer in federal court where the Sentencing Guidelines control the recommended term of incarceration. Meth is a very dangerous drug which is not used casually or occasionally like marijuana or cocaine. The police, DEA, and prosecutors will recommend very harsh sentences for anyone trafficking in this deadly controlled substance.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/27/2011
    Fabian & Associates, Inc.
    Fabian & Associates, Inc. | Stephen G. Fabian, Jr.
    They would in al probability. with possession with intent to distribute. a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 9/27/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney