What could happen if I caused a hit and run? 47 Answers as of July 08, 2013

I was in a small accident and left the scene on foot. What could happen?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
You could be charged with the criminal offenses of failure to report an accident and leaving the scene of an accident.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/22/2011
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
You could get convicted of a crime and go to jail. DO NOT TALK TO THE POLICE. If they want to talk to you it is so that they can get a confession. Often in these cases the police know who owned the car involved but can't prove that the person was driving if he does not admit it. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO REMAIN SILENT!!!!!!!!!
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/14/2011
Bloom Legal, LLC
Bloom Legal, LLC | Seth J. Bloom
If there were witnesses and police were notified you can be charged with criminal hit and run driving. If there were no death or injuries involved, then a conviction, in Louisiana, carries potential sentences of fines of up to $500 and jail time of 10 days - 6 months. If death or bodily injury occurred as a direct result, then the sentencing guidelines increase to fines of up to $5,000 and jail time of up to 10 years. Additionally you may be liable in civil litigation for damages to person and/or property. Because of the potentially serious nature of such charges, you may want to consider hiring an attorney to represent you. If you are seeking legal representation in this matter in Louisiana, we invite you to contact our firm at the information on this page for a free case evaluation.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 7/14/2011
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
You could be charged with a misdemeanor violation of Vehicle Code section 20002a. Since you apparently left your car there you will be identified. I would hire an attorney immediately and try to take care of the damage through him or her before you are charged.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/14/2011
Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
If the police figure out your identity then you can be charged with hit and run. The best thing you can do to prevent this is notify the victim or the police, come clean, and pay for the damage as quickly as possible. These cases very much turn on acceptance of responsibility, both for committing the offense and financially.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/14/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    I'm not making any assumptions about what you consider to be a "small" accident. In Colorado, the possible penalties can vary depending upon whether or not there was damage to another vehicle/item or whether or not a person was injured. Also the possible outcome will vary depending upon the criminal record history of the convicted person. The penalties can range from probation, a fine, and/or jail or prison depending upon the above listed factors. An attorney with the specific facts of your situation can give you an accurate response.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    If you could be identified as the driver, you could be charged with leaving the scene of an accident and/or fail to report an accident, among others for causing the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    You could be charged with leaving the scene of an accident. The penalties get worse if property damage was involved and then still worse if anyone got hurt.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
    Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
    I would need further details to answer properly but you could be charged with leaving the scene of an accident and other charges depending upon he facts and whether anyone was hurt and other details. You should hire an attorney if you get charged.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/19/2011
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky | Michael Brodsky
    The Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 46.52.010 (1) states "The operator of any vehicle which collided with any other vehicle which is unattended shall immediately stop and shall then and there either locate and notify the operator or owner of such vehicle of the name and address of the operator and owner of the vehicle striking the unattended vehicle or shall leave in a conspicuous place in the vehicle struck a written notice, giving the name and address of the operator and of the owner of the vehicle striking such other vehicle." So, regardless of who was at fault, failing to stay and provide information or at least leaving information "in a conspicuous place" is a misdemeanor. If the vehicle was occupied then it is a gross misdemeanor. If someone was injured or killed, a felony. Assuming we are in misdemeanor-land, these case can often be resolved by a compromise of misdemeanor providing compensation to the victim and dismissal for the defendant. An experienced attorney can help you out.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Andrew Subin
    Law Office of Andrew Subin | Andrew Subin
    You could be charged with felony hit and run if someone was injured. If there was no other car / person involved, you could be charged with misdemeanor hit and run.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Kevin Smith, Attorney at Law
    Kevin Smith, Attorney at Law | Kevin Smith
    You could likely be charged with evading responsibility.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    Leaving the scene of an accident without injuries is a misdemeanor. If convicted you could receive a sentence of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $500.00, plus restitution and possible suspension of your driving license.Leaving the scene of an accident with injuries is a felony and you could receive a prison sentence of from one year and one day up to ten years, a fine of up to $6,000, restitution, and possible suspension of your driving license.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Pontrello Law
    Pontrello Law | William Pontrello
    If no one finds you, nothing. If you hit someone, problems. If hit something not too bad, get a lawyer ASAP.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/19/2011
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    CAO can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony if there is damage, injury, or personal injury. The determining factor is the dollar amount, greater than a $1000 can be a felony. You should contact a criminal defense lawyer ASAP.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    First, how did you cause the accident? Without this information an answer is not possible. Depending on the facts, you could have no responsibility at one end to possibly being charged with leaving the scene on the other.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
    You could be charged with Leaving the Scene of the accident. If anyone was hurt and you were at fault you might be charged with assault.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You should retain a criminal attorney and not talk to the police or insurance company. Let your attorney handle the matter but make sure he is a criminal law expert with 20 years or more experience. You will be contacted by the police when they find the car and check the plates. Just act casual and say, "Please contact my attorney, he will handle the matter". Say nothing else. Do not let them persuade you to speak with them. Just keep repeating that your attorney will handle the matter...even if they arrest you. The police know how to manipulate people so do not fall for their persistent inquiries or threats.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts | Andrew Stephen Roberts
    This can be quite serious . You face potential criminal charges which have long lasting effects. You need an attorney right away to deal with. I have dealt with this numerous times and prevented or lessened criminal charges. You also face possible DMV issues .
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    The Chastaine Law Office
    The Chastaine Law Office | Michael Chastaine
    You can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the damage or whether and one was injuried. Sent from my HTC on the Now Network from Sprint!
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Castleberry & Elison
    Castleberry & Elison | Peter Castleberry
    It depends on the the type of accident. Under Oregon law, there are basically two different types of "hit and run" crimes. If you are in an accident that involves only property damage, you could potentially be charged with Failure to Perform the Duties of a Driver When Property is Damaged (ORS 811.700). This crime is a class A misdemeanor which carries up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $6,250. If you are in accident that involved injury to a person, you could potentially be charged with Failure to Perform the Duties of a Driver to Injured Persons (ORS 811.705). This crime is a class C felony which carries a maximum of 5 years in prison and a maximum $125,000 fine. If the accident involved "serious physical injury" to another, the crime can be charged as a class B felony which carries up to 10 years jail and a $250,000 fine. However, the statutory maximums for felonies can be very misleading and a person convicted of felony "hit and run" will not serve anywhere near the statutory maximum, even if sentenced by the harshest judge. In "hit and run" scenarios, the prosecutor may also choose to charge the crime of Reckless Driving, which is a class A misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Get an attorney before you begin incriminating yourself. People may start calling you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Arrest when caught. Youll learn the actual charge[s] filed against you when you appear for arraignment at your first court hearing. What can you do? You should promptly consult with counsel to see what can and should be done now. It may be possible to work out a deal with the other parties that would avoid them filing or pursuing criminal charges against you. If contacted about the accident, hire an attorney, unless you know how to effectively represent yourself in court against a professional prosecutor intending to convict. No amount of free 'tips and hints' from here or anywhere else are going to effectively help you in your defense, other than the advice to exercise the 5th Amendment right to SHUT UP and do NOT talk to anyone except an attorney about the case. That includes on this or any other web site or public forum. Most police and prosecutors will happily tell you that 95% of people convict themselves by trying to be 'helpful and cooperative', either during initial contact, questioning, interview or interrogation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC | Lacy Fields
    If you left your car there, I would think it would be pretty easy to identify who you are. If you were on foot and somehow caused an accident, I would assume they would be less likely to press charges, but these types of cases are very fact-dependent. In other words, if there are a lot of bad facts, the prosecutor is likely to come after you. You could be charged with leaving the scene of an accident, property damage, and/or assault if someone was hurt. Again, this depends on the precise facts.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Michael D. Fluke, P.A.
    Michael D. Fluke, P.A. | Michael D. Fluke
    The name of the charge is Leaving the Scene of an Accident. If it is with injuries, it is third degree felony. Without injury it is a misdemeanor. I suggest you consult a local Criminal Defense attorney to discuss your case in greater detail and learn all of your rights and options. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/13/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You could be charged with a variety of felonies and or misdemeanors, depending on the severity of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC | Raymond J. Savoy
    You can be arrested for evading responsibility. Your license will be suspended and you can serve jail time
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    Hire a lawyer and then turn yourself in. That's really the best thing that you can do. Let the lawyer speak for you so that you do not cause yourself any more harm than is necessary.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann
    The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann | Christopher J. McCann
    You can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony "hit and run" under Vehicle Code sections 20001 or 20002 depending on whether there were physical injuries caused or just property damage, as well as your prior record. Many minor accidents without injuries don't result in jail time, and you may even be able to get a "civil compromise" under Penal Code 1377 and 1378, meaning that if you pay for the damages, and the victim agrees, you may be able to get the DA or judge to dismiss the case. If is best to hire an attorney immediately who can contact the victim on your behalf to start this process immediately.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    You will be prosecuted for a hit and run. You will probably lose your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime. The difference between a misdemeanor and a felony will depend on whether how much damage was done to the car or if anyone was injured or killed. You should seek out an experienced criminal attorney right away.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    You did not say whether or not the vehicle was occupied. This is very important. If there was no one in the vehicle, and it is property damage only, then this is a hit and run unattended. This is what is called a misdemeanor. The penalty is a maximum of 90 days in jail and a $1,000.00 fine. If the vehicle was occupied, then it is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 1 year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. Neither offense has a mandatory minimum jail time. In other words, a conviction does not necessarily mean that you will go to jail.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Law Office of Craig E. Gibbs
    Law Office of Craig E. Gibbs | Craig Gibbs
    You could be arrested.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/8/2013
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    You could be arrested, if they can tie you into the accident, and could end up going to jail or losing your license, if convicted. Those are maximum sentences. However, if the damage was light, you could get off with supervision. If it was a one car accident (your car), they cannot charge you unless you confess to the crime, or if a witness can positively identify you as the driver. If taken in for questioning, keep quiet, you have a right to refuse to answer any questions regarding the accident. Remember this well, THEY have to prove you were the actual driver of the vehicle, and that can be difficult in many many cases. Also remember that you should retain an attorney to represent you before any questioning, and definitely when you appear in court, if this comes to that.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    Hit and run can be either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on whether or not somebody was injured. Hit and run with property damage only is a misdemeanor. With an injury, it can be either a felony or a misdemeanor. You could face jail time, points on your license, restitution and probation. It's time to sit down face to face with a local criminal defense attorney to discuss the facts and your options.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
    A hit and run is equivalent to a DUI in Colorado12 points against your drivers license and up to a year in jail plus fines and costs.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Law Office of Rodney Nosratabadi
    Law Office of Rodney Nosratabadi | Rodney Nosratabadi
    The maximum for a violation of hit and run misdemeanor violation is 6 months and $1,000 in fines. With the help of a competent attorney however, you can get this type of case dismissed pursuant to a civil compromise.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Giannini Law Office, PC
    Giannini Law Office, PC | Robert Giannini
    In Georgia hit & run is a suspense that will lead to a loss of drivers license. It is an habitual violator predicate offense, in the same category with DUI, fleeing and eluding, and child endangerment. You can also be sentenced to jail time, probation, fines, community service, and driving school. I strongly suggest that you consult with a defense attorney in your area.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    If I understand your question correctly, am I right in understanding that you were a pedestrian?
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/8/2013
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    You can be arrested for leaving the scene of an accident. Have you placed your auto carrier of notice in case you get sued? You should retain counsel to discuss how to proceed.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law | Edward A. Kroll
    There is likely a warrant out for you.If you are the registered owner of the vehicle you were driving, the police likely know who you are. Leaving the scene of a property accident is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail. Most often, the sentence involves probation, a fine, community service, and restitution to the person whom you hit. These cases can be tricky. If you wish to stay out of custody and get started on your case, I would recommend calling an attorney as soon as you can. An attorney may be able to keep you from being arrested, and can deal with the charges if they are filed.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Moffitt & Phillips, PLLC
    Moffitt & Phillips, PLLC | Brandon Moffitt
    You can be charged with a crime. Depending on the facts, it could be a misdemeanor or felony.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
    If you were involved in a "hit and run" which means you were in an accident and you left the scene without providing your identifying information and proof of insurance, you can be prosecuted for a misdemeanor or a felony. What you are prosecuted for will depend if there was any injuries to anyone in the accident. You can be arrested. You should immediately contact a criminal defense firm to assist you so you can map out the best plan for your defense.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You could be charged with a felony hot and run. However, if the damage is not severe, you might be able to settle with a misdemeanor. In addition, you will be required to compensate the victim for the loss.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/12/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    They could try to track you down from information left at the scene (your car, etc.) and then locate you to find out if you were driving or somehow identify you as the driver. They could then charge you with Hit & Run, a traffic misdemeanor offense. It can impact your drivers license and could possibly (depending on the county) lead to jail time or at least probation and community service etc. it would be a good idea to contact and talk to a lawyer now before the police track you down, so you can tell them to talk to the lawyer, not you and the lawyer can help you not make the case worse.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/12/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney