What is the cost of defending a shoplifitng charge of a 16 year old? 46 Answers as of July 17, 2013

16-year-old boy walked out of a store with unpaid for beer value of $20.00.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
Each attorney sets their own fee. You should consult some and ask the fee after disclosing all the detailed facts and circumstances of the case.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 9/9/2012
Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
I would have to know where and what other issues if any are being raised.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 9/5/2012
Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
Ballpark figure, no more than $500.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/4/2012
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
I wouldn't be able to quote a fee without knowing more about the situation.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
Replied: 9/4/2012
Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
That would be $500.
Answer Applies to: Arkansas
Replied: 9/4/2012
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    The attorney you hire sets his own fees based upon the value of his services. Each attorney may set a fee differently, so you should check with several to see what the going rate is.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Clinton Law Office | Michael Clinton
    Different attorneys will charge you different amounts. I would charge you a flat fee of $2,000 if you wanted me to represent your child. Given the facts, there may not be a great deal that can be done with the underlying charges. An attorney may be able to obtain a disposition of the matter that may be more to your liking than that offered by the prosecution.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/3/2012
    Law Offices of Matthew M. Friedrich, PLLC | Matthew M. Friedrich
    It depends on a number of factors, including the attorney you are looking to hire, the court in which the case is pending, the prosecutor and judge assigned to the case, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/3/2012
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    It depends on the county and the experience of the attorney. In the NYC area I'd expect a fee in the $750 - $2500 range.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/3/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    Consult with the lawyer of your choice. To find the answer. There are no set fees.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 9/3/2012
    Douglas M. Philpott, P.C. | Peter J. Philpott
    It depends on the attorney. Could be 500 or more.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/3/2012
    Dennis P. Mikko Attorney at Law | Dennis P. Mikko
    Criminal and/or juvenile defense is usually charged on an hourly rate. The total cost would depend if it matter goes to trial or not.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    The Law Offices of Stephen L. Richards | Stephen L. Richards
    That would be $2500.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    That would be $1,000.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    James M. Osak, P.C.
    James M. Osak, P.C. | James M. Osak
    Approximately $500-750 for starters.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    The cost depends upon a lot of factors: how much the attorney charges, how aggressive the attorney needs to be, whether the prosecutor is willing to "negotiate", whether the case has to go to an actual trial. Fees could run from, probably $1000.00 on up. Things to consider: the amount/value of the item is irrelevant. The charge is shoplift or theft 3rd degree. This is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. The fact the defendant is 16 years old also does not matter as, I suspect he will be charged into adult court. If this is his first offense, there is a good chance he will not do any jail time; HOWEVER, an attorney could best serve this person by doing what he can to prevent this from being a permanent part of his record (avoiding a conviction). A conviction on his record could be bad news as it will impact his ability to get a job (no one wants to hire someone who steals and cannot be trusted). Additionally, a criminal conviction may impact the colleges he may be able to get into (if that is his goal) and it will disqualify him from being eligible for certain college loans and grants. Bottom line: this is serious. The implications are more far reaching than simply his dealings with the court system. An attorney is going to cost money but if he/she can keep a conviction off his record, it is worth whatever you end up paying.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    It depends on the jurisdiction and whether the case is pending in juvenile court or circuit court. If there is enough criminal history to bring this into a full circuit court it can be more expensive but he would generally have to have a substantial history of this kind of offense to justify that happening. You will need to make inquiry of local attorneys to determine the cost but be careful about going with the cheapest lawyer . You may get what you pay for. All lawyers are not alike. Find one you feel comfortable with because a juvenile case may drag on for a while.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    Ryan Maesen PLC | Ryan Maesen
    It varies, but it will start at $500 and could go up to $1500 depending on the attorney and whether the defendant wants a good plea deal or wants to go to trial.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/31/2012
    Sullivan & Sullivan, Law Corp. | C. Matthew Gaebe
    The retainer required in criminal cases varies depending on a number of factors.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C.
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C. | Wayne Brucar
    The cost would vary from attorney to attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    More than $20.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
    It is highly likely the boy can be represented by a public defender. Because it involves under age alcohol possession, the sentence will be more then just s shoplifting charge.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Mary W Craig P.C. | Mary W Craig
    The 16 yo will be charged as a juvenile, and will either be acquitted or adjudged delinquent. If adjudged delinquent, he will have to pay a fine which will be set by the court, costs, fees, and his attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    Normally we get them into a diversion program and they end up without a record.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Office of Ismail Mohammed | Ismail Mohammed
    I charge $1,000.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    The charge for defending a case like this depends upon the area you are in and the going rate for a juvenile delinquency case. It could be as low as $500, or as much as $3500. You usually get what you pay for.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    He or his parent should retain an attorney immediately who has handled criminal law cases.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/13/2013
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C.
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C. | Robert Valles Jr.
    Depends on the attorney you hire.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/17/2013
    William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
    Fees are negotiated on a case by case basis, depending on the attorney and the anticipated work that the case would involve. Regardless of the charge and the client's record, attorneys are required by the Maryland Lawyer's Rules of Professional Conduct to be prepared to litigate all aspects of the case, even if an agreement is later reached, and even if the state later dismisses the charges. You can't wait until you're in the middle of a hurricaine to begin preparing. You have to prepare ahead of time, even if it doesn't come.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    It depends on where the incident happened.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Office of William L Spern | William Spern
    Value is immaterial. I would charge $1,500.00 to defend the matter.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Whatever your agreement is with the attorney. You can expect to pay fees from $1000-1500 minimum, and up from there, depending upon the case and what you want done.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Shoplifting is not a serious crime for a first offense. Most lawyers will charge between $500 and $2,500 depending on the city you are in and who you call. My office will charge around $500 for a first offense. You can Google "Criminal Lawyer" in your city and get a list of lawyers who handle such cases. You should ask for a flat rate fee so that you know the total fee up front and can compare the fees of several lawyers. Meet with a few and find out if you trust they have the experience to get the best results. Even a public defender can usually get a good result, but a good criminal lawyer has a better chance of getting the case dismissed so that you do not have to worry about a criminal record, probation, or other problems. The usual result is a plea to an ACD dismissal. If he does not get arrested again in the nest 6 months the case will be dismissed. If this is you son you should have a long talk to him about the consequences of getting arrested for any crime. Young men get arrested for fighting, drugs, DWI, shoplifting, and many other crimes and they do not realize that it can hurt their chances of getting into school, a decent job, or many other consequence associated with a criminal record.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    The answer depends on the facts of the case, the county and additional issues.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter
    Law Office of Jared C. Winter | Jared C. Winter
    It totally depends on the attorney you hire. Contact some criminal defense lawyers in your area that take juvenile cases. If it turns out that you can't afford to hire a lawyer that you like, then ask the judge to appoint the public defender when you go to court.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    The cost should be between $ 1000 and $ 2500. The attorney should be trying to understand why in a store full of surveillance your son would try and walk out with a beer, which it is illegal for him to possess.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    If the charge is not defended and the minor gets a record for theft the monor will find it hard to get a job in the future since who wants to hire a thief.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    MatthewR. Schutz, Esq | Matthew R. Schutz
    Attorney fees $750.00 plus fines and costs.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    That varies from one lawyer to another.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache | Stephanie Arrache
    It really depends on the area and the attorney. You should call a few and compare. Do not decide solely on price. If a price seems too good to be true it probably is. Make sure the attorney you speak with is the one handling the case. Your sons future depends on it.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    He may also be charged with minor in possession.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/30/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney