What can I do after being charged with m1 assault? 28 Answers as of June 13, 2013

I was charged with assault at a local casino and there is a video. I have never had any legal problems before. What are the best steps to take from here? I was jailed for 24 hours.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
It seems that your options are plead guilty or go to trial. You may be eligible for a first offender program.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 9/12/2012
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
You should hire an attorney.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 6/13/2013
Law Offices of Mark L. Smith
Law Offices of Mark L. Smith | Mark L. Smith
Try to obtain a filing or a continuation without a finding.
Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
Replied: 9/5/2012
Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
Hire a lawyer and take an Anger Management Class to try to reduce it to a mere Summary Offense of Disorderly Conduct.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Replied: 9/5/2012
Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
you do not have much of a defense. An attorney could try to plead it down.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/5/2012
    Dennis P. Mikko Attorney at Law | Dennis P. Mikko
    If you have been criminally charged, you should either hire an attorney or ask the court to appoint an attorney for you. At the arraignment enter a plea of not guilty and allow the attorney the opportunity to review the police report. Only after reviewing the police report and speaking with an attorney should you make the decision to plead guilty.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    If you are charged, you should consult with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    James M. Osak, P.C.
    James M. Osak, P.C. | James M. Osak
    You did you "assault?" Was it security, a patron, dealer? Talk to an attorney ASAP. What casino? You might have a lawsuit against the casino if you did nothing wrong.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    Hire an attorney and otherwise, make no statements to anyone.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Best steps? While this isn't a 'capital case', you certainly face fines and potential jail, so handle it right. No amount of free 'tips and hints' from here or elsewhere are going to effectively help you in your legal defense. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney who does, who will try to get a dismissal, charge reduction, diversion, program, or other decent outcome through motions, plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    You need to hire an attorney. The charges you are looking at carry a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. If you are convicted of an assault, it will be a permanent part of your record, subject to disclosure to future (and present) employers. Get an attorney!
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    You need to go to court and fight the case. At least as to possible reduced charge and limit jail time. You need a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    Get a lawyer to fight the charge. With good legal representatives you should be OK.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You should retain a good criminal lawyer to handle the case. If it is a first offense and no one was hurt you may be able to get an ACD dismissal or Disorderly Conduct violation. You have to make good decisions and consider the consequences of your actions, especially if you have been drinking. Getting into a fight is usually avoidable unless you are defending yourself.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Douglas M. Philpott, P.C. | Peter J. Philpott
    Hire an attorney to keep it off your record.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Ryan Maesen PLC | Ryan Maesen
    Hire a lawyer and get to work.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/29/2013
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    Hire a local lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 5/29/2013
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    Hire a criminal trial attorney.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 5/29/2013
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    Always best to consult a local lawyer. If not, go to first court date + negotiate with the prosecutor + hope they are reasonable.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    The best step is to hire an attorney in your area to defend you.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    An assault charge is always serious. A fifth degree assault, is a misdemeanor and requires that he prosecution prove that the defendant commits an act to cause fear of immediate bodily harm or intentionally inflicts bodily harm. It is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. In addition, an assault conviction also has broad ranging collateral consequences. As a result, it is extremely important to protect your public and criminal record. First, if convicted of a second degree assault or any assault offense, employers who require a background check will not hire you. That is particularly true if you work closely with customers or in some other service oriented profession. Second, many landlords now perform background checks for applicants and, if you decide to rent, you may be denied an apartment with a crime of violence such as an assault on your record. Third, a conviction for assault may result in licensing problems for certain occupations or interfere with acceptance into some schools of higher learning. Finally, it is also compelling that a non-citizen may suffer deportation and, even a citizen would lose their right to possess a weapon ,even for hunting purposes, after a conviction. Often, the best defense is a good offense. In most instances, an argument for self defense or defense of others may be made and Motions should be served to acquire all statements and medical records from the prosecution.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Get an attorney and see if something can be worked out so that you end up with no record.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
    Get an experienced criminal defense attorney, and do not post or speak with anyone else about what did and did not happen.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Anabelle Dias, P.A.
    Anabelle Dias, P.A. | Anabelle Dias
    Go talk to an attorney. Most will give you a free consultation. If you can not afford an attorney ask the court to appoint you the Public Defender but whatever you do make sure you are represented by an attorney at all the stages of the proceedings.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    Hire a lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/13/2013
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Get your lawyer on board right away. If you have no record, they can likely keep it off your record.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Abom & Kutulakis, L.L.P,.
    Abom & Kutulakis, L.L.P,. | Jason P. Kutulakis
    Retain an attorney. If you cannot afford one, you should apply for a public defender. You may be eligible for diversionary programs that will end up keeping your record clean!
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Laguzzi Law, P.C.
    Laguzzi Law, P.C. | Carina Laguzzi
    Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who can go over your options in your specific case and deal with it accordingly. If you are a first time offender there may be a program suitable for you that can prevent a lengthy jail sentence or even a permanent criminal record.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 8/30/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney