What can I be charged with if I drove without license? 58 Answers as of June 21, 2012

I got license suspension for DUI. I was wondering what will happen if drive with a suspended license plus a recently charged DUI.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
I'd recommend you retain a lawyer to help you or you ask the court for legal counsel.You have a right to counsel. Don't be afraid to exercise that right. Driving on a suspended license, first offense, is another traffic misdemeanor offense in Michigan punishable, upon conviction, by up to 93 days in jail, probation up to two years, fines, costs, additional license sanctions, or other potential penalties. Further, people with priors may be charged with an enhanced version that substantially increases the possible jail time. If the charged person was on bond at the time of the alleged offense, they may have their bond revoked.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/21/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
You will get the new charge of driving while license suspended. It will also trigger a review of your DUI case for non compliance.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 4/3/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
You can be charged with driving while your license is suspended. It can carry an additional fine and jail time.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 3/26/2012
Palumbo and Kosofsky
Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
Arrested on criminal charges
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/26/2012
Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
Driving on a suspended license is a Class B Misdemeanor - up to 180 days in jail and up to $2000 fine or both.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
    Based on the facts that you presented if you were caught driving without a license you would almost certainly get a jail term and not get your driver"s license back for at least a year.
    Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Bensmochan & Poghosyan, LLP
    Bensmochan & Poghosyan, LLP | Ruzanna Poghosyan
    First, you will be violating your probation terms and as a consequence, you may face revocation of your probation and time in jail. Second, you will be charged with violation of California Vehicle Code Section 14601.2, a Misdemeanor, and face jail time for 10+ days if convicted.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Offices of Eric J. Bell | Eric J. Bell
    If you are caught driving while suspended or revoked and the basis for the suspension or revocation is a DUI you are looking at a minimum sentence of either 10 days in jail or 30 days community service.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    Thank you for your inquiry In Michigan, if you get any moving violation, including a DWLS, while your license is suspended due to drunk driving, you will have to wait longer to get your license back, and face the new charges for the new offense. For Example, if you are charged with DWLS, this is a 93 day misdemeanor,a nd you could face fines, jail, 2-years probation, and waiting 1-year from the offense to request a DLAD Review Hearing. In addition, depending on the offense, there could be additional Financial Responsibility Fees.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    If your DWI is pending and you don't have a license and get pulled over, you will get arrested for Driving While License Suspended, a class B Misdemeanor and violating the conditions of bond. Short answer: get your license valid asap, or get an occupational drivers license.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    You could be charged with a Driving after Revocation or Driving after Cancellation depending on previous alcohol driving history. These offenses are serious and could result in jail time and/or longer driver's license revocation times.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    You'll be charged with Aggravated Unlicensed Operation and might face a felony DWI.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    If you are arrested for Driving While Suspended shortly after a DUI conviction/diversion entry there are many things to worry about. The first is the new charge of DWS which is a Class A misdemeanor (up to 1 year in custody and a $6,250 fine) the second is a possible Probation Violation/Diversion Revocation. What this means is that a new DWS charge can lead to two different punishments from the courts. Dependent on the county and your DUI Lawyer you may be able to bargain down a DWS to no jail time, and just extending probation, but it is difficult. Contact a skilled DUI Lawyer to help you through this difficult time.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You can be charged with Driving on a suspended license which will give you some jail time, a fine and a FURTHER suspension of your license. Also the State of Michigan will want you to pay further driver responsibility fees for two years before you getting a license back.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    If you are caught driving after revocation, you will be charged with that offense. It is a misdemeanor level offense carrying its own penalties. Conviction of that separate offense would also result in additional license revocation.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
    You'll be charged with driving under suspension and you might have your probation revoked and have to spend some time in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    If you drive while suspended for a DWI conviction, you are facing arrest and prosecution for Operating After Suspension, a Class A Misdemeanor punishable up to 12 months in jail and or $2,000 fine with a minimum penalty of 7 days in jail, 1 year additional loss of license and installation of an ignition interlock device for at least 1 year.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    Operating after a license is suspended for DUI/OUI is a mandatory 60 days in jail. DO NOT drive if your license is revoked for an alcohol related offense.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You will likely be found in violation of probation due to a new charge of CVC 14601. This charge is very serious and each county prosecutes these in a different manner. Most of the time you will be required to pay a fine around $1,000 or more, you could be placed on probation for 3 years, and you may be looking at jail or community service time due to the violation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel
    Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel | Gregory M. Abel
    Driving While License Suspended.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    The charge could be Driving Without Privileges (DWP), and the charge is almost as serious as a DUI. You will receive a severe fine, a lengthy license suspension without any opportunity to receive restricted privileges, and very possibly a jail sentence.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    It depends on where you are arrested. In some counties you may expect a substantial fine and some suspended jail time. There are locations that I am aware of where you would likely spend some substantial time in jail for driving with your license suspended especially if it is suspended for a DUI. A conviction for driving with license suspended is also a six month suspension of your driving privileges consecutive to any other suspensions being served. Bottom line don't drive with your license suspended.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    Driving without a license. Mandatory 10 days in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    Most times driving with a suspended license will result in a fine and or time in jail. The jail time is normally ninety days. Driving with a suspended license when you are on propitiation for a DUI will get your probation revoked and time in jail. Min. in most cases of ninety days.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    DeVito & Visconti, PA
    DeVito & Visconti, PA | John E DeVito
    If your license is suspended in Massachusetts for Operating under the Influence of Alcohol and you drive without a license, should you be stopped and arrested for Operating after Suspension for OUI you are facing a mandatory 60 days in jail. There is no probation and no parole. An attorney may be able to convience the assistant district attorney and the court to amend the charge to simple Operating after Suspension (no OUI). If that occurs you can avoid the mandatory jail.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Russman Law
    Russman Law | Ryan Russman
    If convicted you face a mandatory 7 days in jail and up to a year. Your license will be suspended for and additional year and you can be fined up to $1000. Additionally, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on any car registered to you or used by you on a regular basis. There are collateral consequence as well such as points and habitual offender which can also incur an further loss of license.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Patrick E. Donovan, PLLC
    Law Office of Patrick E. Donovan, PLLC | Patrick E. Donovan
    Driving while under suspension is a misdemeanor. If you are under suspension for a DUI, and you are convicted of Operating After, then it is a Class A misdemeanor and 7 days incarceration is the mandatory minimum sentence.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    Driving on suspended icense is a crime in and of itself. If you get caught, expect the suspension of your license to be made even longer, plus fines, community service, and probation.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    Normally, we are able to get the matters resolved together and get you driving as quickly as possible. You should be aware that your not eligible for probation when you pick up a second charge while the first one is pending.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    It is a separate misdemeanor carrying a six month maximum and a 10 day minimum jail sentence for a first offense.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
    If you lost your driver's license due to a first DUI conviction it is revoked for 90 days. If you convicted of driving on a revoked driver's license you face a mandatory 30 days in jail or 60 days house arrest and minimum $500 fine plus court assessments. The maximum penalty is 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine. You driving privilege will be revoked for an additional 1 year during which you would not be eligible for any type of work license.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    The Rogers Law Firm
    The Rogers Law Firm | Andrea Storey Rogers
    If you are caught driving while suspended, your license could be revoked for a year.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    Driving on a DUI suspension means mandatory jail. It gets worse if you have DUI #2 and a probation violation. Get an attorney on this case.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    VC 14601.2(a), a minimum of 10 days in county jail and a fine of $1200.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/26/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Hendrickson
    Law Office of Michael E. Hendrickson | Michael E. Hendrickson
    If convicted of both crimes (yes. they're both class 1 misdemeanor offenses), you could be looking at some time in the local slammer.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    T.K. Byrne | Timothy K. Byrne
    Of license was suspended because of a DUI conviction and you are caught driving, that offense carries mandatory jail in most Courts.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 3/24/2012
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    Lots of trouble, possible jail, fines, additional suspensions. Cabs or hiring a driver is cheaper.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Leone, Throwe, Teller, & Nagle
    Leone, Throwe, Teller, & Nagle | Adam J. Teller
    There are serious penalties, including mandatory jail time and additional loss of license, for operating a motor vehicle while your license is suspended for an alcohol-related incident such as a DUI conviction or failing an alcohol test. Don't do it.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Robert Sisson | Robert Sisson
    Likely u could be charged with "operating after revocation or suspension which can with it jail time. It would be wise to be represented by an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Drunk driving is like firing a gun at a moving train and hoping that no one gets hit by the bullets. If your license is suspended for a DWI and you get arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license you will be charged with 511- 2 or 511-3 which can be a felony under certain circumstances. You can get 6 months on the misdemeanor 511-2 and several years in prison on the felony. You are not a good decision maker and it is absurd to even consider driving on a revoked license since you would be violation the order of a judge who will be very upset that you ignored his order. You should have taken a taxi rather than driving drunk and now that you have been sentenced you may be able to get a conditional license. If you can't get one yo uwill have to take a bus, ride a bike, car pool, or take a taxi.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You could be looking at jail time. I would hire a good local attorney now.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Betts Legal Services
    Betts Legal Services | Shawn M. Betts
    You will be charged with a misdemeanor driving after revocation, or possibly a gross misdemeanor driving after cancellation depending on your prior record.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    If you are within the 90 day suspension period for a first OUI, or within any court-ordered suspension period, you will most likely face a minimum MANDATORY 7 day jail sentence, but it can go up quickly to 90 days in jail or even 6 months in jail depending upon the circumstances. DON'T DRIVE. Pay your reinstatement fee and take the DEEP (alcohol) school, or get the required counseling before you drive. Apply for a work permit. If you complete DEEP within the first 60 days of your suspension and pay the reinstatement fee, you can get your license back before the 90 days.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts
    Law Office of Andrew Roberts | Andrew Stephen Roberts
    Violation of probation; DUI 2nd- This is serious- Mandatory jail time.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    In Illinois, mandatory minimum of 10 days in county jail, or probation with 240 hours of community service.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    You will be charged with Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle. It can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    What can I be charged with? The misdemeanor crime of ?driving on a suspended license?, which carries up to 6 months in jail and fines. A little free advice, if it isn?t too late: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does. Of course you can fight the criminal charges. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all appropriate defenses with whatever witnesses, evidence and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or for trial. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, charge reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP | Richard L. McBreen III
    In addition to any DUII charge, you are likely to be charged with driving while suspended, which is a class A misdemeanor if the suspension was due to a previous DUII conviction. This means that the seriousness of the DWS charge is the same level of seriousness of the DUII charge, providing the DUII is not charged as a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    You are going to be going to jail. Immediately upon striking anyone in your vehicle while DUI and driving without a license, you should plan on 2+ years in prison.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    San Diego DUI Law Center
    San Diego DUI Law Center | Rick Mueller
    Driving on a Suspended License Mandatory Jail Penalty If you drive when your privilege is suspended or revoked for driving under the influence of alcohol, upon a first conviction, you face imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 10 days or more than six months and by a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000. [California Vehicle Code section 14601.2(a)]
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache | Stephanie Arrache
    You will get a charge of driving on a suspended license which is a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Jason Overton, Attorney at Law
    Jason Overton, Attorney at Law | Jason Overton
    You'll be charged with Driving While License Suspended. That would cause you to have a bad day, because you'd likely be arrested, be required to post bond, then appear in court & explain your actions to the judge, who will issue another fine & further suspension or revocation of your license at the least.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Offices of Douglas J. Lindsay
    Law Offices of Douglas J. Lindsay | Douglas J. Lindsay
    Driving on a suspended license is a traffic misdemeanor offense, punishable by a fine, possible incarceration and further driver's license penalties imposed by the Secretary of State. If you are charged with a "second" or "third" offense, the penalties are more severe.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    If you are convicted for driving on a suspended license based on a DUI conviction, you can be charged with VC 14601.2 with penalties including a minimum 10 days jail (and could be more). Not a good idea to drive on a suspended license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    A 1543b will get you a mandatory fine and incarceration.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    You can be charged with felony aggravated driving while suspended, get 1-3 years prison (30 days minimum if probation) and your car forfeited. Plus extension of suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/23/2012
    Andersen Staab PLLC
    Andersen Staab PLLC | F. Dayle Andersen
    You probably will be charged with driving while suspended 2nd degree, which means that you were driving on a suspended license and were not eligible for reinstatement at the time. Penalties depend of the venue, the prosecutor and the judge.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 3/23/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!