What are the fees associated with getting a DUI? 36 Answers as of June 25, 2012

Do I have to pay for anything when charged with DUI? Aside from attorney fees, what other things do I need to compensate for when processing my case?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
It depends. As part of your bond while the case is pending, you may charged some supervision fees or other costs by the court's pretrial services. I'd recommend you talk to your lawyer about the issue if you have one.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/25/2012
The Short Law Group, P.C.
The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
A DUI conviction in Oregon carries a maximum penalty if 1 year in custody and a $6,250 fine. A DUI conviction also has a minimum of 2 days in custody and a $1,000 fine. Various other fines and fees will typically be tacked onto a conviction or Diversion too ranging from $100 - $1000. It is important to work with a DUI Lawyer who can help you wade through these complex issues and save you time and money.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 4/20/2012
Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
You are looking at paying around $1,000 to $2,000 in fees. Seek the assistance on a attorney soon.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 4/10/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
You will have fines, court fees, probation or diversion fees, evaluation fees, DUI program fees, increased insurance premiums, attorney fees, and possibly others depending upon what the judge orders.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 4/9/2012
Law Office of Michael R. Garber
Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
Court costs, probation fees, rental of an ignition interlock device, to mention a few.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 4/9/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    You will need to pay for an evaluation of your alcohol/drug useage, and pay for counselling recommended by the evaluator. this can run into the thousands of dollars, along with fines and court costs that can run into the thousands of dollars, too. A lot depends on the location of the court, as well as where you do the alcoholic classes and counselling, it is difficult to give you an exact dollar amount.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/9/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    If you choose to hire an attorney, you will likely incur a fee for the services of your attorney. If you do not have the funds to hire an attorney at least ask if you qualify for the services of a court-appointed attorney. If you are convicted of a first time offense of DUI, you will face a fine of not less than $600 nor more than $2,100, plus const of Court, which can be between $200 and $450, depending on the Court. Additionally you will likely have to attend the DUI school, which is approximately $250.00, you will pay cost of supervision if placed on formal probation $35.00 per month and $30.00 or so for each drug and/or alcohol test that you are required to take. Reinistatment of your driving privileges after the expiration of the suspension will be approximately $250.00.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 4/9/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    A DUI is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. Such being the case, the fines and costs imposed upon you could be as much as $5,000.00. In addition thereto, you may be required to attend drug/alcohol counseling. Those fees are determined by the extent of treatment order by the court. You may also be required to have an interlock device installed in your car. That will be about $70.00 per month. You will also be required to have SR 22 insurance on your vehicle. Those costs are generally 150% higher than normal insurance premiums. The average costs to a 1st time DUI conviction are generally in excess of $10,000.00, when all is said and done.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 4/9/2012
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    The fine and court costs are about 1,800. The dui school is at least 400. The ignition interlock device lease cost is in the low to mid hundreds. The worst hit is the increase in the cost of your car insurance.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Lykins Law | Gerald Lykins
    You should really consult with a qualified DUI attorney. If you are in the Grand Rapids area, I would be happy to speak to you. That stated, you will be looking at fines and courts cost of approximately 1000.00, MDRF's of $1000 to $2000 and increased insurance costs.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    You face a fine, probation fees, testing fees and treatment fees.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Hynum Law Office, LLC
    Hynum Law Office, LLC | G. Wayne Hynum
    On a first offense DUI conviction the Court can levy a fine on you between $250 to $1,000 and/or sentence you to 48 hours in jail. Your driver's license will be suspended for at least 90 days, (unless you get a hardship permit) and you have to take an alcohol safety course to get your license back. Your car insurance premiums will also be a lot higher after the DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    You will have to pay court costs and fines on the criminal side which generally run in the $500-$700 range. If your license is suspended you will also have to take the alcohol safety treatment course which is near $400. Depending upon your offense level and BAC you may also have to participate in the interlock program which runs approximately $80 per month.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    For a typical DWI the penalties are a fine up to $1,000.00, a $460.00 surcharge, a one year Conditional Discharge, license revoked for six months and installation of an alcohol sensing ignition interlock usually for one year. Also attendance may be required at a Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel ($50.00) and one must usually complete the DMV Drinking Driving Program ($300.00). There is also a $750.00 DMV Driver Safety Assessment and there are costs for all medical evaluation and treatment that may be required.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You will pay a fine of $350 to $1,500 depending on your case and conviction and you will pay a surcharge of $180. You will pay to enter the Drinking and Driving Program and if you refused the breath test there is a $750 fine. Your insurance can rise dramatically, sometimes as much as $10,000 a year for many years. It would have been much cheaper to take a taxi if you were drunk.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    Fines and court costs, incl. any mandatory Drunk Driving Classes usually totaling about $1800.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    Minimum $390.00 fine to maximum of $1000.00?Note, however that the $390.00 minimum fine, after adding penalty assessments and miscellaneous court fees, results in a total amount due of approximately $1400.00-to-$1800.00. Additionally you will have a war that DUI school.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Fines, costs, attorney fees, probation,court costs,cost of prosecutionand possibly fee for an alcohol interlock system for your car. I did not even mention the increased insurance premiums. These can total several thousand dollars.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    This will depend on what offense it is (1st 2nd etc.) and how the disposition comes out. Ask your attorney and if you don't have one, get one.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Expect a couple thousand dollars in fines and court imposed costs as part of probation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    DUI cases run in the thousands, depending on your particular court.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo | Matthew Murillo
    Strictly DUI Charges would include: - Base fine & Penalty Assessment (depending on County can be about $2,000) for a first time offense. - Alcohol Education classes (amount depends on length of program required). - Electronic Monitoring fees (if it can be negotiated in lieu of serving time in jail) - SR-22 (proof of insurance required by DMV before it will issue a restricted license if you're eligible for it) - If an accident is involved, restitution Other than that, you can count on your insurance rates increasing substantial after a DUI conviction. Ultimately, when its all said and done, many estimate a DUI to cost between $6,000-$10,000, not including attorney fees.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    Court fines, probation supervision fees, community service, and possibly counseling and treatment, and DUI school, among other things, all of which you should discuss with your attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN | Michael Bialys
    Typically Fines plus penalty assessments on a first DUI range from 1800.00 to 2000.00.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    The money of it involves a fine plus court costs (total under $1,000), there are also alcohol programs, community service work, and sometimes jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    VANJOHNSON LAW FIRM, LLC
    VANJOHNSON LAW FIRM, LLC | Anthony Overton Van Johnson
    Upon being convicted for DUI, in addition to court fines, there are surcharges and fees added to the fine amount. There are also probation supervision fees that have to be paid monthly while on reporting probation. Additionally, there may be a cost associated with obtaining an alcohol or drug evaluation, attending DUI school (Risk Reduction), as well as, random screens, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Ellman and Ellman PC
    Ellman and Ellman PC | Kevin Ellmann
    Additional fees can include: Court costs/fees/fines; treatment costs; fees to perform community service; license reinstatement fees; higher insurance costs; probation supervision fees.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    The fines are close to $2000. The IID instalation fees range from $600 - $2000. The alcohol school fees range anywhere from $600 - $1500. Your insurance premium will likely double, or you will jsut get dropped.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    If you are convicted at trial or plead guilty, expect to pay a fine, as well as monthly probation fees.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq.
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq. | Stephanie Lee Ehrbright
    It depends what type of DUI you are charged with. The fees for a First Time Regular DUI (impaired to the slightest degree) usually start around $1500 total (that is several different type of fines added together) plus jail costs. They go up from there depending on the severity and type of DUI, your priors, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    LynchLaw
    LynchLaw | Michael Thomas Lynch
    It has been calculated that the average CA resident will pay out over $12K for a first offense DUI. These expenditures will consist of Court fees, Attorney fees, DMV charges, and increased insurance costs.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    Fines, probation fees, license reinstatement fees, DUI school, alcohol evaluations and treatment, increased insurance costs. There are a lot of costs associated with a DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    A conviction of DWI could lead to up to $6,000.00 in surcharges to the State of Texas. Also, you have court costs, a fine, and your insurance will rise. That's why it's worth it to hire the best attorney you can afford to avoid all of these adding up. Check out www.dwimark.com for lots of info.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot | Susan Correia Champa
    If you are convicted or enter into a plea there are several costs associated with either a conviction or a plea. Depending upon whether this is a first offense or more than one offense the costs can be different. There is usually a monthly supervision fee (approximately $75.00 per month), then a victim witness fee, fines, and costs associated with the classes that must be taken that can average about 700 to 1200.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You need to consider the fees to take the class, the fees for SR22 insurance, and the fine for a DUI which comes out to around $2,000.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/5/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!