What are the costs involved with a drunk driving case? 72 Answers as of August 04, 2011

Other than the fine and attorney costs, are there other payments I should be aware of?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lowenstein Law Office
Lowenstein Law Office | Anthony Lowenstein
It depends on several factors.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/4/2011
Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
I am not able to answer your question. The fines and costs by the Court, together with any rehabilitative classes/programs, and attorney fees, will vary from Court to Court. At a minimum, you will have the cost of screening and the cost of any rahabilitative program like VIP or MADD. You may also have to pay cost recovery fees. You should discuss this with the attorney you hire to represent you in your case. If in the Macomb, Oakland Wayne County areas, you may contact this office for an appointment to discuss your case. I hope that this was helpful.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/26/2011
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
Other costs could include court costs which could be be typically between $50 to $100 and the cost of an alcohol treatment program if ordered by the court as part of the sentence. I suspect the cost of that program could be between $200 to $500. Naturally all programs are different and have no one set price.
Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
Replied: 7/26/2011
The Law Firm of David Jolly
The Law Firm of David Jolly | David Jolly
Other than the typical court costs and attorney fees, here is a list of possible costs: Ignition Interlock Device ($100/month) SR 22 Insurance ($2000+ for total of three years) Alcohol Evaluation ($100-200) ADIS Class ($100) Treatment (if necessary, $750-5000) DUI Victim's Panel ($45) Insurance Increase (not easily determined).
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 7/26/2011
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
This response is general information only and does not establish an attorney cklient relationship. However, that depends on the case. For example if rthe court ordered you to take a Drinking driver course than there is a cost for that. There may also be costs involved with the Department of motor vehicles if you need to apply for a licence or anything else.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/25/2011
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    Yes, there is a annual administrative fee payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety. No joke, there really is.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/22/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    Most DUI cases will involve attorney fees, fines, court costs, possibly probation fees, treatment fees, alcohol monitoring fees, education class fees, among many other possibilities depending upon the Judge.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 7/22/2011
    Oberman & Rice
    Oberman & Rice | Sara Compher-Rice
    Most people do not recognize the varied costs associated with a DUI charge. Although the exact cost is difficult to determine without knowing the facts of your case, the costs you may encounter include, but are not limited to: Investigation expenses (scene photos, witness interviews, etc.) Police communication tapes (911) and transcription Police videotapes and transcription Field sobriety test expert fees Chemical test (blood, breath or urine) expert fees Technology fees (e.g. to play the police video in court) Fees/court costs associated with conviction (e.g. $40.00 ignition interlock fee for all DUI convictions; $250.00 chemical test fee; $100.00 assessment etc.) Increased insurance costs for a minimum of 3 to 5 years Lost income from lost job opportunities Costs related to probation (litter pick-up fees; probation fees; DUI school; Ignition interlock device; SCRAM device; alcohol treatment) Driver's license reinstatement fees Costs associated for alternative transportation if you are not permitted a restricted driver's license As you can see, depending upon the facts of your case and whether you are ultimately convicted of DUI, a DUI arrest can be quite costly.
    Answer Applies to: Tennessee
    Replied: 7/22/2011
    Bloom Legal, LLC
    Bloom Legal, LLC | Seth J. Bloom
    You may be responsible for some court costs and any potential costs associated with applicable probation or diversion programs following your case. If you are seeking legal representation in Louisiana, I invite you to contact my firm at the information on this page for a free case evaluation.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/22/2011
    A.L.A. Law Group, LLP
    A.L.A. Law Group, LLP | Lauren M. Mayfield
    You will have to pay for a reinstatement fee to the DMV to get your license back. You will have to pay for alcohol classes and possibly a MADD class. Additionally, some counties are requiring 18 month of an IID device installed in your vehicle which you have to pay for each month. You will also have increased insurance rates so you should try to get an SR-22 (proof of insurance) before the conviction goes on your record and before you get the decision from the DMV which will minimize rate increases.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/22/2011
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
    Yes, a Driver's Responsibility Fee is also required.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/22/2011
    Bristol & Dubiel LLP
    Bristol & Dubiel LLP | Murray L. Bristol
    If you get a DWI conviction in Texas you can be looking at fines, court costs, attorney fees, DPS surcharges, bond, probation fees, expenses to take classes and potential increase in auto insurance to name some but not all. Can get very expensive. Therefore, make sure you hire an experienced lawyer to advise of your rights.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of Sean Logue
    Law Offices of Sean Logue | Sean Logue
    Yes. Court costs, Penn Dot has fees, your county has fees for an alchol assessment or classes that you need to take.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    The additional cost that I can think of right off hand would include the cost of supervision fees, which is between $30 -$40 per month, with random drug/alcohol testing ($25 - $30) for each test, cost of the DUI school which can run as much as $125 - $150,reinstatment of your driving privilege $225 - $250, and the possibility of losing your automobile insurance coverage and having to obtain a high risk insurance. Other cost could include the loss of employment opportunities or promotions, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    The Chastaine Law Office
    The Chastaine Law Office | Michael Chastaine
    The drinking driver program, mothers against drunk drivers all have a fee plus the DMV will have a reinstatememt fee to get your license back. If you have an alternative jail sentence there may be a fee for that also.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Harris Law Firm
    Harris Law Firm | Jennifer C. Robins
    Other than court fines and attorney costs, there will be additional fees for a drug/alcohol evaluation and treatment classes. Treatment costs vary depending on where you attend treatment, but the evaluation charge is $150.00. There is also a charge for the Victim Impact Panel, anywhere from $25 - $50 dollars. If you are required to install and ignition interlock device, there will be a monthly cost for that. Also, there will be additional costs to obtain an SR22 from the DMV to obtain your driving privileges. Your insurance company will also likely raise your rates.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of Jeffery A. Cojocar, PC
    Law Offices of Jeffery A. Cojocar, PC | Jeffery A. Cojocar
    Financial Responsibility fees and increased insurance rates.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    Depending on how the case is handled, you can be looking at probation oversight fees on a monthly basis, random urine/ BAC tests, alcohol assessment, community service. Why do you refuse to hire a lawyer?
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
    Hello: The costs for alcohol eval, education, and therapy are significant as a minimum is 48 hours at about 25/hr. Also, the probation supervision fee is $50/mo.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Pontrello Law
    Pontrello Law | William Pontrello
    insurance, your record, dui school, community service if you want a buy out, substance abuse treatment if necessary
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    Fine, court costs, treatment fees, evaluation fees, course fees, testing fees, fess relating to being able to drive again, and insurance fees. I have probable left off some of the additional cost relating to a due conviction; bond fees, towing fees, registration and plate impoundment fees.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Apple Law Firm PLLC
    Apple Law Firm PLLC | David Goldman
    Representing someone for DUI depends on the circumstances, driving record and other factors. Generally they range from $2500-7500.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    There are probation supervision fees, fees for DUI school, fees for alcohol evaluations/counseling, license reinstatement fees, increased insurance costs and others. It gets quite expensive.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    As the commercial on tv says, you are looking at many thousands over the life of the conviction. Court costs and probation fees are variable depending on the court. Insurance will be through the roof and you will have two years of bad driver fees from the state.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    Other costs may include probation oversight fees, costs of mandated classed, driver responsibility fee to the secretary of state and increase insurance costs
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Laguzzi Law, P.C.
    Laguzzi Law, P.C. | Carina Laguzzi
    A DUI case can get expensive, there is the attorney's fees and fines but you may also be responsible for a CRIN evaluation (about $400). You also have to worry about increased insurance costs. Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney and try to avoid a conviction if possible.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of Andrew D. Myers
    Law Offices of Andrew D. Myers | Andrew D. Myers
    Assuming this occurred in New Hampshire, the other costs additional to the fine and attorney fee which you mentioned include (1) the cost for the program, or classes, you will be required to attend which the last time accident told me about were in the amount of approximately $800, (2) The license reinstatement fee which has gone up from $50 to $100, (3) the cost of the SR-22 form which you obtain from your insurance agent and that you must file, and the cost of which is between you and the insurance company and based on your driving history and statistics (4) the ongoing cost of the SR-22 for the next 7 years. When you go to court for the final hearing the court clerk will give you a final order listing all of the requirements that you will face.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    About $800 to $900 in fines and fees - depends on the jurisdiction, and there is some cost for the victim impact panel (VIP) and alcohol evaluation and follow treatments, if indicated.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Smith & John
    Smith & John | Kenneth Craig Smith, Jr.
    There are costs related to probation, driving classes, and intoxilyxers if applicable.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Alcohol classes can cost several hundre dollars. Your insurance will at least double, or you may be dropped from coverage. Your credit score may also be affected.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Nichols Law Firm
    Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
    In Michigan you will pay around 800 to 1500 dollars depending on the jurisdiction. However, the indirect or "collateral" costs are immeasurable and what you should consider.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    If your license is suspended because of the ALR and / or DWI conviction, there is a reinstatement fee. There is a surcharge upon conviction. There is insurance increase. If convicted you will need an SR22. You might have to have an interlock on your car with monthly installments. If you get probation there is a monthly reporting fee, an offender card fee, fees for UAs, fees for the class you must take to keep your license if you get probation, fees for classes if you are on probation & they determine you have an alcohol or drug problem, court costs
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Seale, Stover & Bisbey
    Seale, Stover & Bisbey | Blair Allan Bisbey
    Simon, por supuesta!
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    LT Pepper Law
    LT Pepper Law | Luke T. Pepper
    There could be fine or community service hours attached to resolving the matter.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    LynchLaw
    LynchLaw | Michael Thomas Lynch
    I have seen studies that assert a DUI conviction will cost a defendant, on average, over $12,000 for the first three years following their conviction. In addition to any Attorney fees and court fines, a defendant can be ordered to pay into the restitution fund, they can be ordered to take and pay for the first offense drunk driving program, if the BAC was high enough the court can order them to pay to have an ignition interlock device installed on every vehicle they use. If there was an accident and emergency services were dispatched, the defendant can be held responsible for those costs as well. Finally one of the largest costs in the increased cost of insurance following a DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
    There are many potential costs related to a DUI conviction. First, you will have to attend an alcohol school that costs money and the actual cost depends upon the length of the course. Second, there are other costs including state restitution fines, that make the total "fine" to the court close to 2000. Third, there is the massive potential cost of your car insurance being cancelled or you being deemed an "assigned risk". A person convicted of a DUI can pay thousands of dollars in higher insurance premiums related to a DUI conviction for many years. If the court orders it you may have to put a device in your car that will not allow it to start until you blow into it and that is an additional cost. The bottom line is you need to do all you can to fight this DUI to avoid these type of "costs", not including the other ramifications, which include probation, and possible loss of employment, etc.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Collins Law Firm, P.A.
    Collins Law Firm, P.A. | John C. Collins
    If you lose you will have to pay 150 for alcohol education at a level one assessment, 10 for victim impact panel, 100 for license reinstatement. Whether you win or lose you will have to pay roughly 150 start up and 50-70 per month for an interlock (assuming that you mean dwi instead of underage DUI and that the dwi was alcohol related, not drugs). You will also have a substantial increase in insurance premiums.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Furlong & Drewniak PLLC
    Furlong & Drewniak PLLC | Thaddeus Furlong, Esq.
    If you are convicted of DUI in a a Virginia federal court there is a special assessment fee, plus later costs associated with going to alcohol programs. If in a Virginia state court, there are additional charges at the clerk's window assessed in alcohol cases, plus the costs of ASAP (these are billed laterAlcohol Safety Action Program), plus later you will pay VA DMV to reinstate your license. If convicted, you will have 15 days to pay all fines and costs unless the court (judge) gives you extra time. Some judges have delegated to the clerks the power to extend the time in which you pay and some clerks add interest or a fee for longer time periods. You will NOT be granted a restricted license, should you seek one after conviction, until you pay all fines and costs. If you appealed your case from General District to Circuit Court, in addition to the fines and costs of Circuit Court, you will also have costs from the General District (from the first court proceeding). If you appeal to Circuit Court and lose at a jury trial, you also have jury costs added on.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    Unfortunately there are a ton of costs involved in a dui. First Washington DUI Offense 1st Drunk Driving Conviction . Jail - From 24 Hours to 1 Year, or Electronic Home Monitoring - 15 Days . Jail - From 2 Days to 1 Year (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above) or, Electronic Home Monitoring - 30 Days . Fine - From $865.50 Minimum to $5,000 . Fine - From $1,120.50 Minimum to $5,000 (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above) . License Suspension - 90 Days . License Suspension - 1 Year (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above) . Ignition Interlock Device and License Required . Ignition Interlock Device - Add 60 Days if Passenger under 16 in Vehicle . Washington SR22 Insurance Required . Alcohol / Drug Education - Possible The ignition interlock is between $50 and $70 a month plus installation and removal for about $150 each time.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Your legal fees are about $2,500, the fine is about $500, and if you refused the breath test there is a $750 civil penalty. Your insurance could double or more, and you will find it much harder to get employment. You will also pay about $100 to attend Drinking Driving classes.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    A $750.00 DMV driver assessment fee payable over three years, $75.00 to register for the DMV Drinking Driver Program and $225.00 to take the course and $10.00 for the MADD Victim Impact Panel.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    Besides fine and attorney costs, the following are additional costs you may be forced to deal with: 1.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    Yes, if convicted you will need to pay a $50 reinstatement fee and complete DEEP, which is alcohol counseling in order to get your license back, and DEEP or counseling can cost over $400 alone. Of course, your insurance will probably go up a $1000 per year or more, also.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    The Law Office of Lewis R. Rosenblum
    The Law Office of Lewis R. Rosenblum | Lewis Rosenblum
    Approximately $1940 dollars. The costs of attending the alcohol program, paying for the re-issuance of your license $125, possibly booking fees and paying your attorney. That should about cover it.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller | Thomas Mueller
    On a first offense DUI with no accident the normal attorney fees are $2500. The normal fine is $1900. The classes cost about $400. The weekend work program, about $50
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Plenty. Court fine[s], numerous penalty assessments, Alcohol school fees, AA meeting fees, probation costs, vehicle insurance increases, vehicle impound fees, alternate transportation costs [due to suspended license], and the list goes on. We are told that the average cost over the long term is over $7-10k. Of course you can fight it. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, and can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all possible defenses with whatever admissible and credible witnesses, evidence, facts and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or at trial. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion, reduction or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. Keep in mind a little free advice: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic one-year suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things, then hire an attorney that does.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    It depends on what county you were arrested in. In Orange County, a first time DUI offender can expect around $2,000 in fines, three years of informal probation, a MAAD class, an alcohol class (3 months if you were under .16 BAC), and a four month license suspension (if you are over 21 years old).
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C.
    Law Office of Michael Morgan, l.L.C. | Michael Morgan
    There are a number of other costssuch as the BAC fee and the emergency BACK costs. The total minimum legal financial obligation depends on a number of factors such as whether you refused the breath test or had a BAC of .15 or above.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Austin Legal Services, PLC
    Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
    The driver's responsibility fees are among the most expensive they can run as much as $1,000 a year for two consecutive years. Plus you may have to end up hiring an attorney to get your license back. If you are placed on probation that costs money as well with oversight fees, drug/alcohol testing, and vehicle immobilization or ignition interlock costs money as well. Plus you will have higher insurance premiums. DUIs are not cheap. If you have been charged, consult with an experienced DUI attorney soon. They will more than pay for themselves in what they can save you.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    In addition to the fine and attorney fees, the big one is the increase in your auto insurance rate. Plus, there is the installation and payment for an IID machine in your car, and alcohol school. The fine also has a penalty assessment (tax) added to it which is nearly 200 %.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    The Woods Law Firm
    The Woods Law Firm | F.W. Woods Jr.
    CDV fines and fees, court costs, attorneys fees, loss of drivers license for a year, permanent criminal record, breath meter in your car, jail time, SR-22 bad drivers insurance, loss of college scholarships and grants, loss of your job and loss of your vehicle - all are possible with a DUI - if you get a DUI charge go to DUI-TRAFFICLAWYER.COM for tips, facts and help with your case. Don't take chances with your future, hire a DUI lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: South Carolina
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of Scott G. Hilderman
    Law Offices of Scott G. Hilderman | Scott G. Hilderman
    Additional costs may be cost of alcohol counseling, possible interlock device, and the cost of wearing an electronic alcohol bracelet that sends a signal if the wearer has any alcohol for the period of any suspended sentence, there will also be a surcharge and greatly increased insurance rates.
    Answer Applies to: Montana
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky | Michael Brodsky
    There are many steps to take when facing a DUI charge, and some of them incur unexpected expenses. The following information is intended to help you estimate what your extra expenses will be, and not to give you an exact figure. This list only outlines expenses, and should not be used as a guideline for steps to take. Please consult your attorney if you have questions. You may need to obtain SR-22 insurance to carry with you when you drive for 3 years after your conviction before your license may be reinstated, and possibly longer depending on the severity of the charges, or if you have prior offenses. SR-22 insurance costs vary greatly depending on your age, zip-code, driving record, etc. A ballpark figure may be range from $300 to $800 per year, but the cost could be vastly different depending on your circumstances and your insurance provider. It is wise to get 3 to 5 quotes from different insurance providers before making your decision. If convicted you will need to contact the DOL to reinstate your drivers license after your period of suspension has ended. The cost associated with this can fall from $75 to upwards of $100 depending on the severity of the offense or if you were convicted of multiple offenses.If convicted, you will need to schedule an alcohol assessment with Contact Counseling. This assessment must be paid in advance to the Counseling center, and costs about $200. If convicted you must schedule a Victims Impact Panel. The cost for adults 18 and over is about $50. If convicted you must attend at least an 8 hour session of Alcohol and Drug Information School (ADIS) or perhaps more rigorous treatment at far greater expense. If convicted you will be ordered you to install and Ignition Interlock device in your vehicle at a cost of$75 to $100 per month for at least 1 year. DUIs are very expensive, a cab is always much cheaper. But a good DUI attorney may be able to eliminate or reduce some of these expenses. *Please note that this is not legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. This post represents only the posters opinion. You should speak to an attorney for further information.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Leyba Defense, PLLC
    Leyba Defense, PLLC | Matthew Leyba
    Unfortunately there are several collateral consequences to a DUI that can increase the costs. Things like SR-22 insurance, alcohol/drug evaluations, ignition interlock devices, and alcohol classes. Depending on those items and what ends up happening with your case it can get pretty pricey. Your best bet would be to speak with an attorney to get a better idea of the costs of those items in your area.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Elmbrook Law Offices
    Elmbrook Law Offices | Gregory Straub
    Good afternoon. The biggest expense to be aware of is the SR-22 expenses associated with your new insurance coverage. You will be faced with no less than three years of significantly increased insurance costs for any motor vehicles you wish to drive. You will have expenses associated with the drug and alcohol assessment, any continued classes that are required by your counselor. If you have been arrested for your second violation or higher, you will lose your license for a period of time and not be offered an occupational license so you will ultimately have reinstatement fees and the costs of alternate transportation. Any future traffic citations will be impacted by the OWI so you will pay slightly higher fines in the future. You may be denied an opportunity to gain a CDL if that would be of interest to you in the future. T
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    The Law Office of Eric R. Chandler, P.C., L.L.O.
    The Law Office of Eric R. Chandler, P.C., L.L.O. | Eric R. Chandler
    Depends, you may have additional probation and drug testing fees, as well as Interlock fees if you decide to drive during the pendency of your license revocation.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    K.C. Baran, P.C.
    K.C. Baran, P.C. | K.C. Baran
    In addition to paying your attorney fees, fines, & court costs you may have to pay for court ordered classes or counseling, supervision fees for probation, alcohol screening or drug screening tests and there may be other costs depending on your jurisdiction. You can also expect to pay a drivers license restoration fee to the Secretary of State to get your license back after its suspension and you can also expect to pay drivers license responsibility fees to the Secretary of State for a period of years after your conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    If you retain an attorney and then plead guilty, without an expert to testify about blood alcohol or field sobriety testing, then the only costs should be: fine (between $600 and $ 1000), attorney's fees (about $ 2500), probation supervision fees ($ 38/month for about 12 months), alcohol evaluation fee, DUI defensive driving course, $ 210 reinstatement fee (when you try and get your license back), gas and time associated with community service.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    There are fees attached by statute for various things like alcohol evaluation, 'victim compensation' (even if no victim), etc. (total around $600 or so). Also, the alcohol programs cost $25 or $30 per session and could be anywhere from 6 to 55 sessions. Your insurance might increase if you are convicted of a DUI or DWAI. If ordered to do a MADD Impact Panel I believe the fee is $25. There is a fee to do community service work (for insurance) - often of around $100. If there is the possibility of 'jail time', anything but straight jail has a fee associated with it (ankle monitor is $13 per day, etc.) If you have to do breath testing or urine testing there are fees associated with that (often $2 per breath test and around $20 for a urine test).
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    Technically, court costs are separate from the fine. The total will vary depending upon exactly what happened in your case. If there is a claim for restitution (e.g. property damage, injury expenses, or if the DA makes a claim for restitution), you may have this amount to consider as well.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC
    Fitzpatrick, Mariano, & Santos, PC | Raymond J. Savoy
    The court may order fines, court costs and restitution to any victims. There are also attorney fees.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Increased auto insurance is one and another is a Driver's responsibility fee for the next two years. Also if your license is suspended paying for other people to give you rides.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Law Offices of Christopher Jackson
    Law Offices of Christopher Jackson | Christopher L. Jackson
    There is a DUI service fee that is $375 and court costs There is also a reinstatement fee for your license and if you have to take alcohol classes there is also a fee for those
    Answer Applies to: Kentucky
    Replied: 7/21/2011
    Attorney at Law
    Attorney at Law | Michael J. Kennedy
    Other than fine and attorneys fees, the money is comparatively negligible. There are sliding scale cots for the DUI program, depending on where you take it, and your insurance will spike up. That main costs are the attorneys fees and fines/assessments.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Wallin & Klarich
    Wallin & Klarich | Stephen D. Klarich
    Fines are approximately $1700 Court assessments are about $200 First Offender Alcohol Program- $500 plus Increase in car insurance.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo | Matthew Murillo
    If convicted, yes. Alcohol program fees, insurance rates increase, SR-22 insurance, work release registration fees (if applicable). I suggest you speak with a local attorney to discuss your case.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    If you're convicted, the court fines (the mandatory minimum fine plus penalty assessment) plus various fees total just under $2,000. There is the cost of the alcohol school required by the DMV to get your license back. That can be either a 3, 6 or 9 month program, depending on your blood alcohol level. Then there's the fees to the DMV to reissue your license, the cost of maintaining insurance through an SR-22 filed with the DMV. You may also be required to attend a MADD panel meeting (a small cost at the door to get in) and depending on the facts of your case and the facts, there may be community service to do (again, with a sign-up fee). You can convert the bulk of the fines into community service if the judge allows. The base fine can be converted, but not the court costs. You should be able to convert about 1400-1500 of the fine into 48 or so hours of community service. Discuss all the particulars with your attorney for their analysis and other local customs, as each county is a little different.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    The answer depends on your case and how the defense is approached. Some cases may rely on experts as witnesses to contest test results while others may test the credibility of law enforcement officers alone. If you challenge the license revocation, that is a separate civil proceeding in Minnesota where the filing fee is presently around $320.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law
    Michael Maltby, Attorney at Law | Michael Maltby
    There are minimum fines/costs associated with a DUI conviction starting at $865.50 for a first time DUI with a BAC of less than .15. The fines go up if the BAC (breath or blood alcohol reading is greater than or equal to .15. and if there are prior offenses. Additionally, y ou will normally have to pay for at least ADIS (alcohol drug information school) and VIP (victim's impact panel) and normally a probation fee and also restitution for time spent by law enforcement.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/20/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Christopher Lee
    If there's any injuries or damages, you will have to pay restitution. Also, enrolling in a mandatory alcohol class or MADD panel will require additional fees
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/20/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!